We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #25 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Although two tram-rides away from the city center, Hotel Okura would be my choice should I return to Amsterdam. The hotel was NICE, clean and modern. The bar on the 23rd floor was awesome--not only an unmatched view of the city, but some very comfortable lounging couches to sit and enjoy the view and a (small) beer. The area around the hotel had a lot of choices for food and drink.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elgseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,553
    549
    142
    54
    30
See reviews for
306
903
106
633
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the Okura for one night, what a lovely experience. First of all, I love the location. It is not in the center but still walking distance/tram accessible to all the points of interest. The rooms are large and roomy, beds amazingly comfortable, and the bathroom is spacious and airy. We had a room on the 16th floor with a lovely view of the city. The staff was very friendly and took care of every detail. We loved the modern decor of the lobby and the rooms as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDiningTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed here during the month of december. The location is a bit out of the usual city centre, but it makes it up with great rooms and restaurants inside the hotel.
The rooms are quite big, certainly to big city standards. Very spacious, with good amenities, very nice bed with a very good mattrass, hig quality linen. The bathroom is equally spacious with good quality products.
Although the staff at reception is very efficient as a good 5 star hotel should be, certainly in the morning there was a lot of people, so you were standing in line for 15 minutes before I was able to check out. This could be a problem for some people trying to catch a train or flight.
The restaurants were outstanding. We tried the Japanese, which was just wonderful. A bit steep in price, but that is to be expected in this 5 star hotel. The bar at the top floor was also quite enjoyable, with a nice high view of the city, and just great service, finding it no problem to bring our drinks to the restaurant, because we hadn't finished the bottle yet. That is service that is out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liteworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Where do we start....

The restaurants. The Japanese restaurant (sushi) is superb. Great food, great wine list, great service. If you cannot fly to Tokyo, come here. The other restaurants are very good and Le Ciel will be good for those who like French cuisine, but really...in a Japanese hotel. Bar on top floor is superb.

Rooms: spacious, light, well furnished. The suites are simply devine. The bath / shower features (oh and the Japanese toilets) are great.

I like other hotels in Amsterdam but this is close to the law firms etc that are located towards Schiphol. At the same time it is easy to get into Amsterdam whether by foot, cycle or taxi.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nilsvhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are beautiful and large with very comfortable beds. The hotel staff is very helpful and accommodations were enjoyable. A little further out from the city but easy to get about and gives you more of a flavor how the people live.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie1813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Okura was absolutely amazing! My husband and I shared the basic room, which was pretty large, had a great view of the canal, and a really comfy bed. The hotel designers had thought of everything, from mood lighting based on the time of day, to a bathroom mirror that can't fog, and even a light switch by the headboard that turns on a nightlight in the bathroom. Prior to our trip, we had read reviews that the staff at the hotel were known for being impersonal; however, we found the exact opposite. The doorman smiled and asked my husband how his morning run was, and a member of the front desk went out of his way to make sure my husband got a piece of cake on his birthday. We also loved the champagne bar on the top floor, great views and delicious drinks.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any room in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Absolutely amazing hotel. the hotel found out it was our 10th anniversary and when we got to the room the staff had left us a card , strawberries and a little bottle is Sake. The staff were amazing the room with a fab view was beautiful. It is a bit further out but this is actually nice being away from the mania of the main town. You can get a tram ,number 25 to central Amsterdam ,we hired bikes from the hotel an this is the best way to get around. There are some lovely bars and restaurants in the area around the hotel so really no need to venture further if you don't want to. Definitely deserving of 5stars. Make sure to visit Bar23 for at least 1 cocktail,about Euro 15 but worth splashing out for for the view.
.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michellekblondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#32 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,236 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 364 in Amsterdam
2,715 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#9 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing