We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel for exhibitions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #27 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Okura is a bit far from tourist sites, but it is quite near the Amsterdam exhibition center. The road from the hotel to the center is filled with lots of restaurants and bars so quite convenient if you are there for a show/conference.

The room itself is nothing to write home about. Standard business set up with rationed coffee and tea. Nice bathroom. The only downside of using glass to separate the bathroom from the bedroom is that if you got up in the middle of the night, you will wake up whoever is sharing the room as the light will shine through the shades.

The truly outstanding thing with the hotel are the restaurants. The breakfast is quite disappointing but that does not reflect on the Japanese and the two French restaurants in the hotel - they are incredible (and you pay for it). Skip the bar on the top floor - there is no noteworthy skyline to justify the prices.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cosmic_dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,221 - 1,227 of 2,535 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

We just got back from a trip that included a two day stay at the Hotel Okura, Amsterdam. We had two adjoining rooms for our family of four. It was a lovely stay. The people were very nice and helpful. The rooms are comfortable, good size, modern, and clean with very good bathrooms. The kids loved the pool. The buffet breakfast that was included in our rate was fantastic. Fresh and extensive. Mohammed took care of us both mornings and he was really great. We had a beer one evening on the outside patio and it was a great way to end the day overlooking a quiet part of the canals. The one drawback is that it really is a few miles from city center. It's a tram ride to get anywhere. Knowing this, we still chose it because we've been very happy with the Okura brand and it was half the cost of a similar stay in city center. It was a little further out than I expected it to be, but we'll stay there again if we head back to Amsterdam. Would definitely recommend it, but only if you don't mind a tram or taxi ride to get anywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobandShanandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and came away feeling generally satisfied but not thrilled with our stay. Overall, it was very nice, tasteful and luxurious, but it was sort of lacking in any real personality. I wouldn't really have known it was a Japanese hotel if not for the name/restaurants - the hotel/room was more upscale business/luxury and didn't really have a particular style. The real issue is the classic size/location tradeoff - it's located a bit outside of the central city area, not really inconvenient using the trams but not really in an area with much in the way of restaurants/bars/anything in the immediate vicinity. Not a bad area by any means, just quiet. The nice part of this location is that it's 20-some stories tall and plenty spacious - our standard room was quite large, with a nice big bathtub and separate shower in the very nice bathroom.
The staff was generally friendly, although they definitely seemed more responsive to business travelers than to younger vacationers such as ourselves - we weren't able to get reservations at Ciel Bleu, although when we asked it was mostly empty, and we were given a really poor recommendation to a local restaurant. Overall, if going to a conference at the nearby convention center or just staying for business, I'd imagine it would be a great hotel. For a fun sightseeing vacation in Amsterdam, though, it makes for a very comfortable but ultimately largely forgettable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms are all large. We had a view of downtown Amsterdam that was nice from the 10th floor but the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was my first time an Okura Hotel, and lets just say that I'll be back. I had a fantastic stay. Upon check in, I was informed that the room type I had reserved had been sold out and was asked to stay in a smaller room and that I would be upgraded the next day. I said yes and had a great time. Even the small room was impeccable including a comfortable bed and duvet, a flat screen TV, and a nespresso machine. My upgrade was even better! The room was large and everything, including the curtains, was operated by a touch-screen monitor on the night stand. Though the real gem of the Okura was the staff. They were so friendly and professional. Truly, a 5-star team for a 5-star hotel! Should my travels take me back to Amsterdam, I will definitely be staying at the Okura!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kidic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Good location, Clean hotel. Very helpful concierge staff. Rental bikes on-site.
Several issues ......

Booked thru booking.com initially for 3 nights. Plans changed and wanted to add an additional night. Called the hotel and got as a response that "the reservation staff is in a meeting" and the front desk staff is too busy to take your call so if I could call back in 15 minutes (?!?!?!?). Booked the additional night again. Upon check in I advised the staff that we had 2 separate reservations and they told me "no problem, I have made a note in the computer". At the end of the 3rd day we found ourselves locked out of the room. The front desk staff told me that we were to check out that day. He realized the mistake and re-activated our keys, but the room wasn't cleaned (5pm) so we had to leave for another hour or so they could clean the room. No problem.

The air conditioning in the room did not work (yes, the window was closed, yes, the key was inserted in the slot, and yes we kept the curtains closed). We complained on 3 occasions and only got the standard "we are so sorry" and "we will advise our colleagues" and finally a "my colleague went to the room and finds the temperature to be ok". The room was HOT. Not accepting this response and demanding another room, we got transferred at 10 pm to a huge suite the size of at least 5 or 6 rooms. Too bad we had an early plane and had to check out at 6 am. Even the AC in the suite was barely working. Clearly the AC systems in the rooms are not up to dealing with 26C outside temperatures.

The Wi-Fi is non-functional. You log in, and get kicked out after less than 15 seconds on all our devices (iPhone, iPad), complained to the staff (got the typical "we are so sorry"), and was referred to the provider ibahn, logged on and was told that everything was fine and to call back if we had further problems, only to be kicked out of the system 15 seconds later. This went on for 4 days.

Can't say anything about the breakfast because we preferred to consume that in one of the many street cafes a few blocks away from the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirk-26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Hotel Okura with its boxy exterior and clean, minimalistic interior design presents something different in the old-world city of Amsterdam. The service and amenities here cater more for business people (considering its proximity to RAI conference centre), but the location may not be so convenient if your main objective is to explore the touristy parts of Amsterdam.

That said, I (who was not there for business) had a satisfying stay in this hotel. As an LHW (Leading Hotels of the World) member, the room rate I paid was very reasonable. It included access to the Executive Lounge (with PC stations, complimentary snacks and drinks) and breakfast buffet. A minor quibble is that during check-in, the reception asked me repeatedly if I really booked through the LHW site, as if it was difficult to believe. Most of the staff were young and international (and a few seemed less experienced).

My room was quite large, but also business-oriented, with a significant space dedicated to a large working desk and swivel chair. Interesting touches include the Japanese toilet (with all the fancy buttons) and Fragonard toiletries. The room also had a nice view of a canal and rows of brick houses across the hotel.

Unfortunately I didn't have the chance to try any of the Michelin-starred restaurants on-site. I also didn't try the fitness centre/pool, which I think was a bit disappointing. The health facilities are connected to the hotel through an annex, but when you arrive there, the area is quite small (particularly the pool) and rather bare. Even if it cannot be expanded, I think the place should be made more inviting for guests.

I would not count out the possibility of my next stay at Okura, although I'd be more interested to try the restaurants if I have the opportunity to visit Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpiceNSpruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Okura Amsterdam for a week in June. The room was spacious, clean with a lovely view of the canal and city. The hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood that was a lovely respit from the active city. The indoor pool and spa were lovely. The breakfast buffet was opulent and offered everything one could wish for. The Serena restaurant offered great cuisine with a lovely outside patio area. The highlight of the stay was dinner at the Chef's Table at Ciel Bleu. It was an amazing experience! The interaction with the server, sommalier and Chef Onno Kokmeijer was awesome. The meal was superb! Each course was more amazing than the last. My personal favorite was a crab and caviar dish that was mouthwatering. Did you know that the chef even makes his own beer? Every dish was paired with an appropriate beverage by the sommalier who clearly enjoyed his job and was excellent.
We loved our stay and hope to return again.

Room Tip: Make reservations in the restaurants. They are among the best in Amsterdam
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,974 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#17 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,337 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $201 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing