We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, no working AC, no working Wi-Fi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #26 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, no working AC, no working Wi-Fi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Good location, Clean hotel. Very helpful concierge staff. Rental bikes on-site.
Several issues ......

Booked thru booking.com initially for 3 nights. Plans changed and wanted to add an additional night. Called the hotel and got as a response that "the reservation staff is in a meeting" and the front desk staff is too busy to take your call so if I could call back in 15 minutes (?!?!?!?). Booked the additional night again. Upon check in I advised the staff that we had 2 separate reservations and they told me "no problem, I have made a note in the computer". At the end of the 3rd day we found ourselves locked out of the room. The front desk staff told me that we were to check out that day. He realized the mistake and re-activated our keys, but the room wasn't cleaned (5pm) so we had to leave for another hour or so they could clean the room. No problem.

The air conditioning in the room did not work (yes, the window was closed, yes, the key was inserted in the slot, and yes we kept the curtains closed). We complained on 3 occasions and only got the standard "we are so sorry" and "we will advise our colleagues" and finally a "my colleague went to the room and finds the temperature to be ok". The room was HOT. Not accepting this response and demanding another room, we got transferred at 10 pm to a huge suite the size of at least 5 or 6 rooms. Too bad we had an early plane and had to check out at 6 am. Even the AC in the suite was barely working. Clearly the AC systems in the rooms are not up to dealing with 26C outside temperatures.

The Wi-Fi is non-functional. You log in, and get kicked out after less than 15 seconds on all our devices (iPhone, iPad), complained to the staff (got the typical "we are so sorry"), and was referred to the provider ibahn, logged on and was told that everything was fine and to call back if we had further problems, only to be kicked out of the system 15 seconds later. This went on for 4 days.

Can't say anything about the breakfast because we preferred to consume that in one of the many street cafes a few blocks away from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk-26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,561
    555
    142
    54
    30
See reviews for
310
909
106
636
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Hotel Okura with its boxy exterior and clean, minimalistic interior design presents something different in the old-world city of Amsterdam. The service and amenities here cater more for business people (considering its proximity to RAI conference centre), but the location may not be so convenient if your main objective is to explore the touristy parts of Amsterdam.

That said, I (who was not there for business) had a satisfying stay in this hotel. As an LHW (Leading Hotels of the World) member, the room rate I paid was very reasonable. It included access to the Executive Lounge (with PC stations, complimentary snacks and drinks) and breakfast buffet. A minor quibble is that during check-in, the reception asked me repeatedly if I really booked through the LHW site, as if it was difficult to believe. Most of the staff were young and international (and a few seemed less experienced).

My room was quite large, but also business-oriented, with a significant space dedicated to a large working desk and swivel chair. Interesting touches include the Japanese toilet (with all the fancy buttons) and Fragonard toiletries. The room also had a nice view of a canal and rows of brick houses across the hotel.

Unfortunately I didn't have the chance to try any of the Michelin-starred restaurants on-site. I also didn't try the fitness centre/pool, which I think was a bit disappointing. The health facilities are connected to the hotel through an annex, but when you arrive there, the area is quite small (particularly the pool) and rather bare. Even if it cannot be expanded, I think the place should be made more inviting for guests.

I would not count out the possibility of my next stay at Okura, although I'd be more interested to try the restaurants if I have the opportunity to visit Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpiceNSpruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Okura Amsterdam for a week in June. The room was spacious, clean with a lovely view of the canal and city. The hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood that was a lovely respit from the active city. The indoor pool and spa were lovely. The breakfast buffet was opulent and offered everything one could wish for. The Serena restaurant offered great cuisine with a lovely outside patio area. The highlight of the stay was dinner at the Chef's Table at Ciel Bleu. It was an amazing experience! The interaction with the server, sommalier and Chef Onno Kokmeijer was awesome. The meal was superb! Each course was more amazing than the last. My personal favorite was a crab and caviar dish that was mouthwatering. Did you know that the chef even makes his own beer? Every dish was paired with an appropriate beverage by the sommalier who clearly enjoyed his job and was excellent.
We loved our stay and hope to return again.

Room Tip: Make reservations in the restaurants. They are among the best in Amsterdam
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkoGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was on a week conference and chose this hotel. The rooms were big. The bathroom was excellent. The staff was very serviceminded and I always felt like a popstar! The breakfast was quite expensive and I therefore ate somewhere else. The rooms even had its own pillow-menu!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knut Andre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a Japanese hotel, staffed with Japanese and Dutch. Although it is not in the class of the most extraordinary hotels in the world, it is a true five star hotel: contemporary, sophisticated and seemingly very well run. We had a junior suite which was nicely decorated, perfectly clean and surprisingly large. The hotel is a ten minute walk to the RAI, the large convention complex in Amsterdam on the south side of the city. Although this hotel is not in the center of the city, it is on Tram lines 12 and 25; 12 goes to the museum area while 25 goes into the center of the city to the Central Train station. This hotel is on the southern edge of De Pijps, an interesting area of the city. The hotel includes a number of restaurants, all expensive. Two of them are Michelin-starred! There are no inexpensive places for a snack or a light lunch, although within several blocks of the hotel are a number of informal restaurants and cafes. Breakfast in the hotel is an outstanding buffet, but be aware that the cost is 32.50 euros. Internet access for email and routine use is free. High speed bandwidth is available for a price for those who need to download large documents or watch movies. In all, our experience at this hotel while attending the RAI was flawless.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BFBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pauljansen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Hotel Okura offers a level of service unrivaled in the Netherlands, with staff who have an eye for detail and continually strive for perfection one can simply not fault anything about the hotel!

The rooms are very spacious with an impeccable finish, I felt very much at home there.

Room Tip: Suites are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauljansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a great hotel. It's smart, with fabulous rooms. We were in a suite and the size was generous for the price. The restaurant upstairs is one of the best in Amsterdam and if you just fancy a light bite they do a simple menu downstairs which is great value. If you bother to do research you will know that the hotel is a little way out of the centre, but close to tram stop and the trip to the centre takes around fifteen. Would stay again any day of the week.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#31 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#9 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing