We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a class of its own”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #29 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Hotel Okura offers a level of service unrivaled in the Netherlands, with staff who have an eye for detail and continually strive for perfection one can simply not fault anything about the hotel!

The rooms are very spacious with an impeccable finish, I felt very much at home there.

Room Tip: Suites are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauljansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,259 - 1,265 of 2,598 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a great hotel. It's smart, with fabulous rooms. We were in a suite and the size was generous for the price. The restaurant upstairs is one of the best in Amsterdam and if you just fancy a light bite they do a simple menu downstairs which is great value. If you bother to do research you will know that the hotel is a little way out of the centre, but close to tram stop and the trip to the centre takes around fifteen. Would stay again any day of the week.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My friend and I booked two deluxe double rooms for two nights, and have never regretted a hotel choice more. From the start we were both struck by what my friend described as the "cold efficiency" of the check in. Little did we know then that to call it efficient was very wide of the mark. (Cold was spot on though.)

We'd booked double rooms (and received letters confirming this). Both the rooms we were actually allocated turned out to be twins, something the receptionist had failed to mention at check in. We both requested a change of rooms (as a twin bed was clearly less comfortable than a double). I was fractionally ahead of my friend, so got what turned out to be the last double they had available (although my temporary satisfaction at being moved was slightly undermined by the attitude of the receptionist who seemed to me to be doing her best to make me feel I was a trouble maker for having the effrontery to ask her to honour my booking). My friend was less lucky. In conversations with both the reception staff and duty manager he was told they were fully booked so couldn't move him to a double. There was no recognition that they had let him down and no attempt to make it up to him (not even a free drink at the bar, let alone anything more substantial that might at least have made it clear they were sorry).

I didn't mind settling for a twin quite as much, so offered to change rooms with him, but he wouldn't hear of it (as, typically thoughtful, he wouldn't think of inconveniencing me for something that was clearly the hotel's fault). But he was very upset, cancelling our reservations at the hotel's restaurants, which we'd been looking forward to trying. It wasn't so much that they had made a mistake - promising him a double room and only providing a twin - what was really hard to take was that they clearly didn't care that he felt so let down and had done precisely nothing to make amends.

So I tried to talk to them on my friend's behalf. I didn't want to have to explain the (private) circumstances which made the response he'd received so upsetting (and in a decent hotel with staff who cared about their customers it wouldn't have been necessary). However, the complete lack of any sign of understanding of his complaint or any willingness to do anything positive to address it, led me to tell them that he is very ill and this was the first trip he had been able to make for a year, so it was very important to him and his confidence in travelling again that it went as smoothly as possible. I'm sorry to say that even this made no difference to the reception supervisor or duty manager - even now not a single word of apology or regret was forthcoming and no gesture of compensation was offered. The only "help" I received was a hastily typed note (not even on headed paper) from the reception supervisor, confirming her verbal assurance that the hotel wouldn't charge our credit cards for either night of our stay if we cancelled our reservations on the spot (which we therefore did, hoping that even though they'd broken their (written) word about the rooms we'd booked, they would at least refrain from charging us for the substandard accommodation offered in their place.)

The completely cold and uncaring attitude of the staff we had to deal with at this dreadful place ruined my friend's holiday and has made him decide not to use what limited energy and time he has left doing one of things he most loves, travelling. So if I could award a negative rating instead of the minimum one star to this hotel, to properly reflect the damage they've done, I'd gladly do it, and I would urge anyone giving even passing consideration to staying at the Hotel Okura Amsterdam not to touch it with a ten foot pole.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
19  Thank Adr1an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I spent a good proportion of my life in hotels - some bad and some very good. The Okura definitely falls into the top category. I had a conference at the RAI - the Okura was excellently located for this. The rooms are fantastic - very well arranged, great for working in and whoever designed them had luxury in mind - it is the little things that count and here they counted. The domestic staff also seem to be very well trained - again, the little things added up to a feeling of being looked after. Only two negatives - the internet is a bit slow although it should be said it is free - a high speed version is available if you pay; breakfast starts a little late (7am) if you are here for business

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leaddisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel after being booked in by a colleague, and it was not my first choice as I had not stayed there before. I was interested to try it however as I had already visited the very good Okura Tokyo Hotel. The location was a bit "out of the old town" for me but the experience was superb and I am very very happy I stayed there. Firstly the rooms are superb. very clean, great bathrooms with good showers and baths. All fittings are of highest quality and properly maintained. Small details like bath robes slippers and very personal helpful friendly service make this a great place to stay. The breakfast buffet is superb with the freshest ingredients prepared by very helpful chef. This hotel was a very refreshing experience from check in to check out!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRadi0man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed at the Okura for a lovely weekend this June. It was my 6th stay at this hotel and I enjoyed the wonderful Junior Suite as well as the excellent service and the newly renovated spa and wellness center. The staff is very friendly and helpful and from the 16th floor I had a wonderful view of Amsterdam. The newly renovated room with the ensuite bath made you feel very comfortable. The restaurants are excellent and the rooftop bar is just amazing.
The neighbourhood is safe and it is nice to be away from the hustle of the city center.
The OKURA will always be my first choice in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wollgramm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Okura last summer and was by myself for two days and nights - I had one of their 'standard' rooms which was certainly deluxe by mst descriptions with a beautifully decorated room and ensuite bath (you could raise or lower the shade on the window between the bath and the bedroom for more or less privacy), tv with all the extras and a truly superb breakfast. What I most enjoyed was the neighbourhood the hotel was in - on the outskirts of the city and a fair walk from the train station, but right next to a lovely canal with lots of trees and grassy places and local shops - and about 15 minutes' walk into Amsterdam proper, but through interesting neighbourhoods. Othan walking into the city both days and several picture-perfect sunset walks around the hotel, I ended up frequenting their excellent restaurant on site (Ciel Bleu, one of the best places I've ever eaten) rather than trying some of the local places. The hotel was pricey but I defintiely thought it was worth being away from the city centre noise and hustle, and would stay there again in a flash. They had a beautiful bed - very lush and with the fluffiest pillows I've ever been given - but their was some noise in one of the other rooms and I ended up complaining at 1am. Other than that everything was fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,043 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#33 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,309 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $200 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing