We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #27 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Luxurious and comfortable hotel”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Lovely clean, bright and modern hotel. Spacious and comfortabke rooms, beautiful bathrooms, nice spa. Good service. Great bar on 23 floor with amazing views. Definitely a 5 star hotel - with prices to match. Location not ideal for centre.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carla0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,583
    564
    145
    56
    30
See reviews for
312
924
108
646
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here while travelling for tourism and had a lovely time. The service was really impeccable and I felt that the management was really what you'd expect from a top quality Japanese hotel. Very professional, very consistent. That said, it's cut and dry. Don't expect funk or trendy design. The restaurant recommendations at the concierge, for instance, were fairly uninspired. It's also very out of the way. Its about a half hour walk to the city center, albeit a very nice walk along the canals. The hotel is also a few hundred meters away from a tram stop, if you are so inclined. At the end of the day, though, this is the bullet train of hotels: sharp service, but ultimately, not the centerpiece of your trip in any regard.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DozenthHamartia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights over the weekend and really enjoyed my stay. The room was nicely laid out, and the decor in the room and around the hotel was beautiful. The hotel may not be in the "heart of the city" but is close to tram stops, and there is plenty to see and do in walking distance.
I think this is a fantastic four star hotel- I am not really seeing why it is ranked 5 stars given a lot of amenities (gym, fast wifi, breakfast) are not included. It is probably ranked with 5 stars due to the restaurants. Food is great, but on the expensive side for what it is. Nice for a weekend stay, but I think next time I would stay some place more central to the city and a bit cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Passionfruit23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed in Okura Amsterdam in the summer of 2012. It is one of the best hotels in Europe I ever stayed in. Of course, going to Asia, you experience this service level most of the time but in Europe it is rare. Staff was very polite and helpful. The hotel lobby and room was just great and together with level of personal it for sure makes a difference with most hotels. We booked a standard room but as the overnight stay was because of a celebration for us, we got a royal upgrade. And so we stayed in a room (or let's say appartment) with a triple view to Amsterdam. Room was very spa-ci-ous (!!), luxury, clean and full of extra's. Also a TV in the bathoom. Not the most important thing in life but the extra luxury of a holiday. Breakfast was offered in a big room, so enough private space to enjoy first meal in the morning. Lots of different tastings and dishes, from sweet to sour.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Hotel Okura is located 15min walking distance from central Amsterdam, yet it is situated in a calm and relaxed neighborhood, making it an ideal place to stay. The service is truly remarkable from the moment you walk in. The check-in process took a while because I arrived early, but the receptionist (Pander) was very efficient, let alone welcoming and helpful. The service is great, the room is clean and made up properly every day. I tried the Sazanka teppanyaki restaurant, and the food was absolutely sensational. The bar on the 23rd is great with a cozy atmosphere, and provides a magnificient view of Amsterdam. My only negative comment is about the free internet service, which was relatively slow, but I think this is the case across most European hotels, that is if they provide free internet access at all. In summary, Hotel Okura is a great place to stay, and I will definitely stay there the next time I am in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nizarsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have stayed here twice, once back in 2008 and in 2012. I always felt it was more 4/5* before in 2008, now it definitely feels 5* although not as luxurious as other hotels such as the Amstel.

Location wise it isn't central at all so you have to be prepared to travel if you wanted Amsterdam. It is in a nice residential area though, so can go for nice walks and some nearby attractions like the Heineken Museum.

I was working here and was upgraded to a suite. The room was very nice, though the view not great as it looked over a large roof which was part of the hotel and really ugly! They had some branded fancy toiletries which is always nice. Big tv and coffee facilities, I did have to get them to bring a kettle for making tea but they did so quickly.

I had room service one day and it was very disappointing. I just wanted something remotely healthy, so I ordered a blue cheese walnut salad, it was pretty expensive at about €18 but I figured room service always is. I was so disappointed, the contents of it would have pretty much filled an eggcup, there was just nothing, and the "blue cheese" was just some small purée which was there for decoration more than anything.

I ate in the Japanese sushi restaurant, it is pricy but not extortionate and considering they have a Michelin star its good value (was about €120 for 3 of us at lunch and we had a LOT of food!). I would definitely recommend that one.

The bar at the top is nice, has great views and good service, quite small though so if its busy its crowded.

Overall a nice place to stay and the rooms are good value. Service is good and staff friendly and helpful. If you don't need to be central and want somewhere special without paying ridiculous price this is a great option.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rarchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a family room (which was two rooms adjoined). We were on the 16th floor and the views were great. The service was amazing. We were welcomed by candies for the family in our room. Several times we used room service and they came within 10 minutes! In Europe it is very difficult to find a true 5 star but I believe this one is.

We also used the pool. It is very big - not super warm but is good for exercise. The hot tub is also very nice.

Breakfast was included in our rate and was above average.

The hotel is close to a tram line and also has a taxi stand which makes getting to the center very easy.

Would stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divachitown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#32 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#12 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing