We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent, particularly for a business trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #21 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow
Level Contributor
266 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Excellent, particularly for a business trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Okura for three nights for a business conference. I would prefer a different location if I come to Amsterdam for leisure, but for that occasion hotel’s closeness to the airport was a plus. Hotel’s huge modern building dominates the neighborhood, and guests do not miss local spirit, as one of the city’s canals is right behind the hotel. From the very first minutes upon arrival I started noticing some very well thought-through details at Okura. For example, there are several small benches by the reception desk, allowing guests to place their bags/coats on. Then, a receptionist proactively offers a city map during check-in. Lifts are equipped with screens, which inform you about main amenities on each floor and show direction to rooms. The room was also very hi-tech, as everything (including curtains) was managed by remote controls, located by the bed. I had a corner room and enjoyed great view in two directions. The room was stylish and functional, equipped with an iron and an ironing board. The breakfast was great and the service – reasonably good. I understood that they have special Japanese/Asian breakfast menu as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikolay07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,358
    496
    124
    51
    24
See reviews for
268
789
98
565
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

stayed for one night
staff very professional
rooms good
ate in the Japanese restaurant which was exceptional when one is eating alone when on business seven small courses pass the time and send the taste buds to heaven.
breakfast was exceptional.
slightly out from the main shopping but only a ten minute tram ride
booked on trivago two days prior and got fantastic deal for a leading hotel of the world

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Middlesfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
208 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I will cover the amazing Ciel Bleu (the hotel's restaurant) in a separate review. The hotel itself we booked into for one night (Christmas day), and we chose this hotel because we wanted to eat in the Ciel Bleu. The hotel itself was easy to find and parking, which is usually 35 euros, was free because it was Christmas. We were in room 1609 and had a view of Amsterdam. The room itself wasn't too bad apart from a few things:

- the ONLY shelf in the bathroom was level with the top of my knee, which would have been ideal if I was 6 years old or in a wheelchair, but gives you backache otherwise

- there was no 'lip' on the shower so when you have a shower you get water all over the floor which is annoying. The bathmat didn't stop this

- the information on the TV is out of date, we were told about things which were 'going to be completed in 2008' and a lot of the facts are incorrect and/or outdated. Also the remote control was fiddly to use and it took about 3 seconds between pressing a button and anything happening.

- the shower wasn't hot enough. This is a big problem in a supposedly 5 star hotel. It was 'quite warm' but I like my shower water hot and it didn't get that high.

- the wi-fi was horrendously slow

The bed was comfortable. The heating/air-con was easy to control. We got a complimentary chocolate cake. There was a minibar (no price list though) which we did not use.

We had 2 drinks in the lobby downstairs. 31 euros is a bit much for a gin and tonic and a glass of wine and the server didn't know what time the other bars opened and couldn't make us a cocktail or tell us which brand of gin they stocked.

The breakfast was awful. We ordered a tea and a coffee but it look over 20 minutes to come and then my fiance's coffee came in a huge thermos (about 8 servings!) and it was too strong to drink. The food itself wasn't very impressive. The fresh fruit was OK, then there was Stollen (actually the person before me grabbed the last piece and there was no more), plastic cheese/ham, overcooked bacon, undercooked scrambled eggs, baked beans with a skin on top and a few other things which weren't that good. Breakfast was 30 euros p.p. so a poor deal.

Overall the hotel was OK and I'd probably say equivalent to a 3 star but no more. I wouldn't recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the higher floors if you want a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Hotel Okura Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Victel,
Thank you very much for your feedback. Your comments are shared with the involved departments. We regret to hear we did not meet your expectations. Could you please send us your contact details via feedback@okura.nl so we can contact you about this matter? Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

True 5 * hotel and service. Rooms are nice. I stayed in 703, a corner room, with some extra square meters and a great bathroom. Lobby area has a great welcoming area and a very good restaurant. Staff, starting with the doormen go the extra mile. I enjoyed the Pool & Spa together with my young son which was no problem, again great reception by Gymstaff. Hotel has renowned restaurants, french (Ciel Bleu) and japanese. There is good (valet) parking. Great value for money, beats most other 5* hotels.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank H08H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

What a fabulous place. Take friends and book the dining under ground with a chef. The food is really the pull here, I want to say I feel privileged to have experienced this great hotel. I am so impressed with the views, the beautiful beds and pillow selections. I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielScheffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwitte, Germany
Level Contributor
204 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed at the Okura for two nights end of November after arriving late due to a train odyssee that went from a four hour trip to a nightmarish 10 hour trip (cancelled trains due to football fans on the tracks!)
While it may seem that the Okura is off the beaten path for "tourists" when looking at the map, the tram ride from the Central train station is an easy one and the route stops all along the old town, I recommend a tram pass for jump on, jump off all day. If you there for business, the RAI convention center is an easy walk around the corner.
The neighborhood is nicer and quieter than being in the town center with wonderful diverse local restaurants nearby.
The staff is exceptional and friendly, we were upgraded to an executive room which was very spacious with comfortable larger than twin beds, a wonderful bath with separate whirlpool bath and rain shower, double sink and Toto toilet with heating and the works. The Nespresso machine in the room is a wonderful touch for we espresso drinkers !
A full desk for those wanting to work and wonderful views over Amsterdam from the 20th floor.
We had breakfast included in the rate and found it fresh and diverse, with buffet style items as well as fresh cooked items. The personell here also very friendly and accomodating.
The concierge team were very informative and helpful - even getting us tickets to the Van Gogh exhibit at the Hermitage.
All in all a wonderful hotel which we would recommend and visit again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Spent a saturday night at this elegant hotel, stopping over in Amsterdam to meet some family. Pre-paid around €160 for a superior room, good deal for the experience as it turned out. Room was impeccable, attention to details shown in different ways, liked the Nespresso machine in the room. Elegant materials used in the room. Good breakfast possibilities. Efficient check in and check out. Friendly, professional staff. Locationwise it is a bit off though. Had a lovely dinner in the excellent japanese restaurant in the hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaaskop61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#24 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,009 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Hilton Amsterdam
#46 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 964 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located in the cozy neighborhood De Pijp and within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates four restaurants of which all have been awarded by Michelin. On the 23rd floor one can find two Michelin star Ciel Bleu Restaurant. On the ground floor, Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka is located, this restaurant has been awarded one Michelin star and here chefs prepare your dishes right in front of you on the hot griddle. Then, Yamazato Restaurant, awarded one Michelin star as well, serves the authentic Japanese kaiseki cuisine. And lastly, Serre Restaurant is inspired by Ciel Bleu and has received a Bib Gourmand by Michelin which awards the great price-quality relation. Furthermore, Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates Nagomi Spa & Health were guests can relax by means of treatments and workouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing