We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“OK to Okura” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #22 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“OK to Okura”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Spent a saturday night at this elegant hotel, stopping over in Amsterdam to meet some family. Pre-paid around €160 for a superior room, good deal for the experience as it turned out. Room was impeccable, attention to details shown in different ways, liked the Nespresso machine in the room. Elegant materials used in the room. Good breakfast possibilities. Efficient check in and check out. Friendly, professional staff. Locationwise it is a bit off though. Had a lovely dinner in the excellent japanese restaurant in the hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaaskop61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,378
    508
    127
    51
    24
See reviews for
274
804
98
571
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The service on arrival for a business trip was first rate - the lady on check-in was very helpful and friendly. I was upgraded and had a massive room which was great. The room is all gadgets and gizmos in terms of electric curtains etc. The next morning, then there was no hot water in the shower which was a massive let down during what was a busy week. This was fixed over breakfast. The breakfast is the usual buffet - good quality and reasonable selection. I had reason to be in the hotel room at various points during the day (attending conference there) and there was lots of noise from repairs from the floor below which were distracting.
Overall a fair stay but not exceptional.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven8915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a two day conference. From arrival to departure the service from the staff is second to none. All staff members I came into contact with where extremely polite and helpful. Check in was very speedy. The hotel itself is exceptional quality and the furnishings of the most excellent quality. The food was very good. The bedrooms are extremely spacious and the bathrooms are very large and comfortable. I have no hestitation in recommeding this hotel for any event.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Very pleasant place to stay. The room was presented to a very high standard; with a very comfortable bed, and exceptionally quiet. The service from every member of staff was very friendly and could not be faulted. The breakfast was good, as you would would expect at a hotel of this price bracket; I was at a conference in the attached centre, and the food standard and general service continued to the same standard throughout. I had a massage in the Spa Centre - 60 Euros for 45 minutes, good value for a very high quality experience - though it would appear to be a spa club used by the general public so your chance of getting a massage on the same day as you ask is pretty slim. My colleague was unimpressed to be charged to use the gym in the morning then again when he wanted to go back again in the afternoon (they eventually waived the second charge). The main downside for me is that the hotel is situated in a suburb without anything around to recommend it if you want a walk around (though there are a dozen restaurants within 200 metres - go out the entrance and walk to the left). Only 10-15 minutes to the town centre by taxi however, and 20 minutes to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, DE
Level Contributor
197 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

At 7:30 AM, after an overnight flight, you are greeted by a friendly staff that is genuinely eager to please. The hotel had rooms available for us at that early hour and the breakfast buffet was outstandingl!!!! Quality and selection was huge.
I had not been at the Okura since 1985 and it was great at the time and it has gotten better. The layout is sparkling with several great restaurants. Space abounds and even when crowded, there are not people milling around. The rooms are well furnished, spotlessly clean and very comfortable with every conceivable amenity. Service is superb! Although we booked this hotel because it was in close proximity to our Dutch counsel, we needed a conference area which was provided within 15 minutes by the desk clerk, fully serviced with coffee and soft drinks.
Although we put in heavy hours and did not have a chance to sample Dutch retaurants; the hotel restaurants were very good, but could be pricey.
One note to tourists, this hotel is a little remote from the center of Amsterdam but it is a short tram ride away. Given a choice, I would scarifice proximity to stay at a great place like this. I only wish other hotels would learn to conduct bisuness like this one!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bankruptcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

As soon as I walked into the hotel I was greeted by the friendliest of stuff, who were always happy to help, always smiling! The reception desk was very helpful offering maps of the city, willing to recommend restaurants, bars and other attractions in the area.
The room was immaculate. Based on the 15th floor, great views and it included any person would ever need to enjoy a nice stay. OK, maybe apart from a bottle of water from a mini bar - €6!
The breakfast selection was delicious and check out speedy.
I am going to recommend this hotel to any colleagues and friends I know are planning a trip to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: The gher the floor, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ER_205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I visited the Okura last month and I thought that a nice place like that deserves a few words.
The hotel is gorgeous. It is sparkling new and clean.
I have not stayed over, so I can make no comments on the rooms, but the property itself is fantastic. It has a huge and a little intimidating lobby, the personal is very polite. Everything in this hotel is big and polished: from the elevators to the toilets.
I visited the Panoramic bar on the 23rd floor and I can safely say that this is probably the best place in Amsterdam. It is so different from everything that we are used to in this old-fashioned town. It is very luxurious and with amazing views. I would recommend visiting it in the evenings, because you can see the lights of the entire city. But be aware: the place is quite pricey - around 15 euro per cocktail.
Last but very important: for those coming to explore Amsterdam: the hotel is a little outside the center of the city. There is public transportation nearby but it involves walking and exchanging 2 different trams. Also the area is a little quite in the evenings, unlike the central locations, which are full of people all the time

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dess I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#25 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,037 reviews
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#18 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 981 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Hilton Amsterdam
#46 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,386 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ctrip TA, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing