We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“One of the Best 5star Hotels!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #21 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Mashhad, Iran
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the Best 5star Hotels!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Actually This hotel is a really nice 5star hotel in Amsterdam. Everything in this hotel is well designed and accommodated. You have all the facilities of a 5star hotel in Okura Amsterdam.
They claim that they have the best fitness center in whole Amsterdam and if you check the swimming pool and the fitness facilities you will really confess this.
Nice full Breakfast, very comfortable beds in rooms, Nice 3 Elevators, very helpful and polite staff(include some Japanese staff with Kimono!!) and lots of other positive points.
The only problem with this hotel is its location which is far from Amsterdam city center "Dam Square" that takes at least 10 minutes by taxi and you have to pay 12-15 Euros or if you want to use the Tram, that the station is very close, you have to pay about 3-4 Euros. I can not say that its a negative point because most of the nice hotels of Amsterdam are a bit far from city center but If you want to feel the climate of staying in city center you can not!
However, in this location you have the nice view of a canal from your room, the quietness of the location and fresh weather of the suburb.
There are some important things that we have to consider before booking,
One is that the breakfast and fitness club and swimming pool is not included in the total price, and they will charge you if you did not mention it before for example you have to pay 15euros each time you want to use swimming pool. So be careful!
The other thing is that the free Internet in the hotel is low speed and for high speed internet you have to pay 12euros for 24 hours and wow, it is a really high speed one!!!
So discuss about these items and the room location and other things before confirmation.
You will have tea-coffee maker in your room for free but the water is not complimentary like other 5star hotels.

Room Tip: Try to book rooms which have the canal view. Ofcourse the higher floors the better. the corner roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmirLeader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,358
    496
    124
    51
    24
See reviews for
268
789
98
565
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Took my wife away as a surprise for her birthday and we were not disappointed. The Okura is modern and tastfully decorated with a good selection of bars & resturants, the rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The only minor criticism, for some, may be its location to the city centre, but with a very efficiant tram service about 150 metres from the hotel door it takes about 15 mins to get to Dam Square, so it is not really an issue. However what makes the Okura stand out from other 5 star hotel's is it's staff, they were very pleasant and extremley helpful. A big thankyou to the doormen and security guys that helped us when we discovered that we had car trouble, I'm sorry we did'nt catch your names but thanks to you we did manage to catch our boat home !!! We will definatley be paying a visit next time we are in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil19741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was a very pleasant restful experience in an executive room in what seems to be mainly a business hotel. We stayed for 5 nights as tourists with breakfast and pool and spa included.. The staff were friendly well trained and professional both at reception, in the dining room and restaurants and elsewhere. The concierge obtained tickets for a memorable concert at Concertgbou and we followed this with a tour of the concert Hall. The centre of Amsterdam was easy to reach by tram and the airport was 36 euros by taxi.Unusually light refreshments were provided free in the Executive lounge.
We would stay again in this 5 star hotel, if in Amsterdam.
Very good size bathroom and bedroom and very comfortable.

Room Tip: Pay for an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice location, nice staff..But car parking is over priced..35 euros daily! The entrance is awkward with narrow space for cars to move. Sometimes, when there is an event, it gets really nasty. the corner rooms and suites are panoramic, especially when stay in the higher floors.

Room Tip: It's a little far from Amsterdam centre!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdulaziz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I recently went here with my husband to celebrate my birthday weekend. Right when you walk in the door, you are greeted with people ready to help you with your bag. When checking in, I told them it was my birthday and put me up in a fabulous room with amazing views of Amsterdam. A pleasant Happy Birthday card also awaited me in the room. We stayed in the Deluxe room which was a good size for a couple. The bathroom was big enough to fit a nice sized bathtub and shower. I was impressed by the high end faucets upgraded technological amenities in the room. We wanted to listen to the radio while taking a bath but couldn't figure out how it worked. The location was slightly removed from the city center which I guess they consider "Dam." But it was easy to take the tram number 25 to the hotel. The neighborhood itself is very trendy and walking distance to many cute cafes and restaurants. The use of the gym and pool (15 euros/person) I thought was a little over-priced as well as the breakfast buffet (29 euros/person). We unfortunately did not get a chance to eat at their restaurants but will the next time we go.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hurricayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

First class in every aspect from greeting at reception, through condition of room and service levels throughout my stay.

probably the cleanest and quitest hotel I have ever stayed in worldwide in the last twenty years.

Room Tip: Any room on North East side has geat canal views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have been staying in Okura Amsterdam as a family for many times. Always the service and the quality of the establishment impress us. This is a luxury hotel in Amsterdam, public areas and rooms are decorated with a modern yet classy taste and future the latest technology. We have, always, taken the Junior Executive Suite, which is quite spacious and very nicely decorated. The bathroom is a great marble bathroom with a bathtub and a nice shower. A nice coach, two armchairs and a great desk. From the executive floors you have great views of Amsterdam. On the other hand, the executive lounge is tiny and dull. The hotel has a nice gym and a good size indoor swimming pool. They are now building a SPA. The location is not the greatest as you need to get a taxi to most of the tourist attraction. However, the restaurants of the hotel are simply great. Try all of them but our favorite is the traditional Japanese restaurant, Yamazato. I have eaten in many great Japanese restaurants in London, NY, etc., but for me the best sushi and the best Japanese restaurant in the world is Yamazato.

Room Tip: I recommend, an executive floor Junior Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HA1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#24 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,009 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Hilton Amsterdam
#46 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 964 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located in the cozy neighborhood De Pijp and within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates four restaurants of which all have been awarded by Michelin. On the 23rd floor one can find two Michelin star Ciel Bleu Restaurant. On the ground floor, Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka is located, this restaurant has been awarded one Michelin star and here chefs prepare your dishes right in front of you on the hot griddle. Then, Yamazato Restaurant, awarded one Michelin star as well, serves the authentic Japanese kaiseki cuisine. And lastly, Serre Restaurant is inspired by Ciel Bleu and has received a Bib Gourmand by Michelin which awards the great price-quality relation. Furthermore, Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates Nagomi Spa & Health were guests can relax by means of treatments and workouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing