We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel near the RAI centre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #23 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
526 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel near the RAI centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is probably the best hotel near the RAI centre but it is about 20 minutes by tram from the city centre.
If I was coming to Amsterdam as a tourist, I would probably look for something more central.
If your visit is for bussiness or for a conference at the RAI centre this hotel will be hard to beat. It is a fairly modern hotel and it shows in that everything has been purposefully designed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank md1mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,324
    485
    123
    51
    23
See reviews for
257
771
97
561
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in a suite for three nights in June 2012 while visiting family in Amsterdam. Our room was very comfortable and quiet. Each morning morning we enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Staff was exceptionally polite and concierge was helpful. Location is fairly convenient to both the central area and museum area and just far enough away so that you avoid the big crowds and noise. Trolley is only a few blocks from the hotel and easy to use. A nice selection of restaurants are only a short walk from the hotel.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank gchrist256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
121 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Excellent, personalized service. Room was nicely appointed, and the bathtub winodw gimmick is fun to have. Having read many reviews here, I was in for a nice surprise: while it is true that the breakfast is way overpriced, minibar prices are within reason, at least one of the restaurants is affordable, and there actually is free internet- you just have to click the rigth option, which is not the first one. Phone rates are high. Nice view, quiet nights. We appreciated having a big umbrella in the room, even if we never used it.
Following advice here, we had breakfast at nearby @7. Big mistake we made twice. Surly service, and makes you walk opposite to the city center. There are much better options along the way to the center- including two nice bakeries where you don't have to beg to be served.
I thought the location is actually quite good. We walked almost everywhere: to the Van Gogh Musueum, to the Canal Cruises, restaurants, Flower Market, etc.
Would come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Santiago M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

A great place to stay in Amsterdam.
I am a LHW member and I can say this hotel is one of the best.
I stayed at room 1804 and I really liked, lot of space with a high tech bathroom (amazing shower).
Excellent staff, nice and calm location.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAC-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Outstanding hotel, from the service to the room to the food. Only drawback is the location which is about a 30 minute walk from the main canals. However, very easy to get to the city center via tram or taxi.

Some highlights:
The bed - wow, most comfortable bed I've ever experienced
The room itself was immaculate and the bathroom with the glass wall so that you can watch the telly from the bathtub was also a highlight
The room service breakfast was outstanding, had a steaming hot, delicious omelette as if it was prepared next door.
The service with a smile, had clothes laundered asked for delivery at 7:30am and they were delivered both days on the dot
The sashimi at the sushi bar was outstanding if a little pricey - you get what you pay for though.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bxlcpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Hosted a three day meeting here, which was absolutely perfect.

Picked the Okura through a competitive bidding process with competitors in the Marriott / Moevenpick band. Picked the Okura based on a very enticing bid and best impression upon local visit. I am so darn happy we did!

We had the boardroom as a meeting room - lots of daylight, nice sitting area, functional board table and large, bright flatscreen TV with several audio / video hook ups in the conference table.

All conference staff was super helpful, with plenty of attention to detail. We changed our coffee breaks and lunch breaks around a few times - no problem. Technical assistance was available form putting up posters to helping with IP configuration to use the VPN. The food was tasty and very adequate. Happy meeting participants all around. This was truly Japanese level service delivered by team members who clearly walked the 100% accountable 0 excuses talk. Fantastic!

The basic rooms are again very Japanese, great noise insulation, quite AC, beautiful and functioning bathroom, great rain shower fixtures for separate shower and bathtub. Very comfortable bed and high quality bedding / linens with elaborate pillow menu.

Special feature; boat landing for Grachtentours right outside the hotel and Japanese cooking workshop with Okura Japanese chefs and and traditionally dressed staff. You prepare an elaborate appetizer with plenty of instructions and explanations. Then you sit down with your group and enjoy a wonderful meal with sake tasting and again a lot of explanations and infotainment.

Breakfast; absolutely friendly staff and good but not overwhelming food choices.

Only lapse; the gentleman who checked me in was rough and totally misfit with the rest of the staff. I got the feeling that he was hired for certain language skills, service attitude as expressed toward me, cannot possibly gotten him or kept him in his job....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Finke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Hotel Okura Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. We have your contact details so we will contact you personally about your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,247 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#25 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located in the cozy neighborhood De Pijp and within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates four restaurants of which all have been awarded by Michelin. On the 23rd floor one can find two Michelin star Ciel Bleu Restaurant. On the ground floor, Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka is located, this restaurant has been awarded one Michelin star and here chefs prepare your dishes right in front of you on the hot griddle. Then, Yamazato Restaurant, awarded one Michelin star as well, serves the authentic Japanese kaiseki cuisine. And lastly, Serre Restaurant is inspired by Ciel Bleu and has received a Bib Gourmand by Michelin which awards the great price-quality relation. Furthermore, Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates Nagomi Spa & Health were guests can relax by means of treatments and workouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing