We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms and 5 star service with some nickle and dime-ing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #27 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Beautiful rooms, very friendly and helpful staff (Lex the concierge is great, housekeeping and front desk staff is extremely accommodating). Great fixtures and decor in the rooms, in-room expresso machine. We stayed in the lowest class room - standard, and it was still very luxurious, extremely clean, soothing decor with an excellent pillow menu! They are renovating so we were on the 16th floor and did not hear any construction noise. The location is a bit out of the central area but Amsterdam is so small it's a 15-20 minute walk to the Museum district or you can easily catch a tram to other parts of the city.

Restaurants in the hotel (2 michelin rated rest. 1-2 stars) but we explored some nearby restaurants.

We had a 40% discount rate thru jetsetter.com (160euro/$230USD). but Internet access was 15 euros per day, 6 euros per hour and there was a charge for the gym as well. Breakfast not included. At least by American standards, would have expected free internet and gym use at these rates. Apparently they are thinking about moving to free internet access next year, not sure about gym.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,442 - 1,448 of 2,539 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2012

Really clean & friendly, had a free upgrade, Suite 1909 on the executive floor is amazing, spent 4 nights here but never ate here as the prices are ridiculous, on our first night we had room service and there isn't alot (nothing really) for children but my daughter ordered chicken & pasta when it came it was 6 pasta shells with 6 slices of chicken for 24euros lol.......if they lowered their prices they would keep there customers in the hotel, also breakfast 30 euros per person for continental, we found Le Pain Quotidien a few minutes walk away was perfect and had breakfast there every morning less than 30euros for 3 people!! This hotel is not central, its about 30min walk to the centre, but trams are regular and taxi is about 20 euros, it was nice to get away from all the hustle and bustle and our suite was very large so it was lovely to come back and relax, there is also a supermarket opposite Le Pain Quotidien to buy your own wine and nibbles as you are talking about 40euros for a bottle at the hotel. Gym and pool is also extra and there is no free wii-fi

Room Tip: Suite 1909 was perfect with lovely views too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gucci48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Really clean and friendly. Luxurious hotel. Only gripe is that gym is extra to the price. Tourists need to be aware that it is a good half hour walk to the city. Not really a gripe as trams are plentiful

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank johntaylorEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

This is only my second ever positng of comments on Trip Advisor but feel this is such a special hotel, it deserves to be commended. In retrospect my stay at the Hotel Okura Amsterdam was closer to perfection than any hotel stay I can recall in recent years. A truly grand hotel, it is an expression of European tradition brought to contemporary life by a dedicated team of professionals. Inspired by the best of continental five star hotel tradition, it also offers a sophisticated touch of Japan in the form of Yamazato, a one star Michelin rated Japanese restaurant as well as arguably the best teppanyaki restaurant outside of Japan. Preparing for a dinner date with the 2 star Michelin Ciel Bleu that evening, I noticed from the pool area two chefs plucking berries and harvesting fresh vegetables in the hotel garden and immediately knew Ciel Bleu would not disappoint. Hints of Okura's Japanese roots appear in public areas from the ginko leaf motif on walls to the bizen pottery delicately on display. As I was preparing to leave, another two chefs were setting up an elaborate display of hand crafted Easter eggs in the lobby. Despite no doubt going through a number of refurbishements and additions over the years, the hotel evokes a remarkable sense of tranquility and consistency. My room functioned perfectly in every respect and the hotel staff could not be faulted. To boot, I purchased a pre paid euro 33 taxi voucher to transport me to Schipol, proving it's location definitely is convenient to both downtown and the airport.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AGVTokyoJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights recently. The room (618) was a free upgrade and I loved it! The tv screen in the bathroom with bbc1&2 as well as other English speaking channels made the trip!!
The work being done on the 12th (?) floor was a bit noisy on the Monday morning- but we were warned and offered a different room.
The breakfasts were good- champagne was a treat although I have had better cooked breakfasts. The poached eggs (requested) were super but the bacon was very overlooked.
The location is a little out of town but the 25 tram was straight to city centre. The walk along the canal to the Van Gough museum was a pleasant 15 min stroll

Service was excellent- even better then you'd expect in a 5 star hotel.
Coffee machine in the room was the only disappointment- didn't seem to make the coffee hot!
I really recommend this hotel. Especially as we had a 500+ euros a night room for just over £100!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milesandmilesaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

we booked a secret hotel on trip advisor not cheap 200 pounds sterling per night for a double room , what a dissapointment , rooms very average dated and a bit run down stains oin carpets and small.
Foyer clincal and the hotel is for conferences/ buisness and not suitable for anything only work /meetings in my opinion.
Location poor we spent 70 euro per day on taxis in and out of town. It is close to nothing. 23 floors in a remote suburban area I do not recommend this hotel.
Breakfast 29 euro and poor quality after breakfast we wanted to sit out in garden, not allowed unless you buy another drink or food ( we had just had breakfast in hotel in a dark awful dinning room) No fresh air allowed at this hotel .
We tired to cancel our booking when we realised the poor location manager at hotel refused to let us although last minute . com were happy to allow no wonder the hotle had seemd very empty not many folls like us prepared to pay the price .,

He said we were upgarded but our room was poor for that price , we looked a prices for other 5 star hotels in city centre and they were less or similar however their location is far superior and standard higheras we have stayed in some before also and you have no taxi fares to pay as you can walk. We did not eat in restaurant at hotel as we were told by another resident it had no atmosphere and again was very expensive starters 30 euro .

Overall if you are on a leisure, sightseeing, romatic, family trip avoid this hotel at all costs you will be dissapointed .

Room Tip: dont bother with execuitve room very average and a poor lounge .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bubba91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Hotel Okura Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We regret that we did not meet your expectations. The experience you had unfortunately does not reflect the service and luxury we are known for. We will contact you shortly about this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Stayed at the Okura for a long weekend trip and really enjoyed the hotel.
We booked the excecutive category as it was on offer. Thew lounge is on the top floor and gives you a fantastic view over Amsterdam.

The Sazanka restaurant in the hotel was amazing and i highly recommend it.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelguide08186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,976 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#17 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,338 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $199 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing