We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nearing Perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #24 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
tokyo japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nearing Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

This is only my second ever positng of comments on Trip Advisor but feel this is such a special hotel, it deserves to be commended. In retrospect my stay at the Hotel Okura Amsterdam was closer to perfection than any hotel stay I can recall in recent years. A truly grand hotel, it is an expression of European tradition brought to contemporary life by a dedicated team of professionals. Inspired by the best of continental five star hotel tradition, it also offers a sophisticated touch of Japan in the form of Yamazato, a one star Michelin rated Japanese restaurant as well as arguably the best teppanyaki restaurant outside of Japan. Preparing for a dinner date with the 2 star Michelin Ciel Bleu that evening, I noticed from the pool area two chefs plucking berries and harvesting fresh vegetables in the hotel garden and immediately knew Ciel Bleu would not disappoint. Hints of Okura's Japanese roots appear in public areas from the ginko leaf motif on walls to the bizen pottery delicately on display. As I was preparing to leave, another two chefs were setting up an elaborate display of hand crafted Easter eggs in the lobby. Despite no doubt going through a number of refurbishements and additions over the years, the hotel evokes a remarkable sense of tranquility and consistency. My room functioned perfectly in every respect and the hotel staff could not be faulted. To boot, I purchased a pre paid euro 33 taxi voucher to transport me to Schipol, proving it's location definitely is convenient to both downtown and the airport.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGVTokyoJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,436
    524
    136
    51
    27
See reviews for
284
833
100
598
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights recently. The room (618) was a free upgrade and I loved it! The tv screen in the bathroom with bbc1&2 as well as other English speaking channels made the trip!!
The work being done on the 12th (?) floor was a bit noisy on the Monday morning- but we were warned and offered a different room.
The breakfasts were good- champagne was a treat although I have had better cooked breakfasts. The poached eggs (requested) were super but the bacon was very overlooked.
The location is a little out of town but the 25 tram was straight to city centre. The walk along the canal to the Van Gough museum was a pleasant 15 min stroll

Service was excellent- even better then you'd expect in a 5 star hotel.
Coffee machine in the room was the only disappointment- didn't seem to make the coffee hot!
I really recommend this hotel. Especially as we had a 500+ euros a night room for just over £100!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milesandmilesaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fionnualadelap@btinternet.com
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

we booked a secret hotel on trip advisor not cheap 200 pounds sterling per night for a double room , what a dissapointment , rooms very average dated and a bit run down stains oin carpets and small.
Foyer clincal and the hotel is for conferences/ buisness and not suitable for anything only work /meetings in my opinion.
Location poor we spent 70 euro per day on taxis in and out of town. It is close to nothing. 23 floors in a remote suburban area I do not recommend this hotel.
Breakfast 29 euro and poor quality after breakfast we wanted to sit out in garden, not allowed unless you buy another drink or food ( we had just had breakfast in hotel in a dark awful dinning room) No fresh air allowed at this hotel .
We tired to cancel our booking when we realised the poor location manager at hotel refused to let us although last minute . com were happy to allow no wonder the hotle had seemd very empty not many folls like us prepared to pay the price .,

He said we were upgarded but our room was poor for that price , we looked a prices for other 5 star hotels in city centre and they were less or similar however their location is far superior and standard higheras we have stayed in some before also and you have no taxi fares to pay as you can walk. We did not eat in restaurant at hotel as we were told by another resident it had no atmosphere and again was very expensive starters 30 euro .

Overall if you are on a leisure, sightseeing, romatic, family trip avoid this hotel at all costs you will be dissapointed .

Room Tip: dont bother with execuitve room very average and a poor lounge .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bubba91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Hotel Okura Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We regret that we did not meet your expectations. The experience you had unfortunately does not reflect the service and luxury we are known for. We will contact you shortly about this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Stayed at the Okura for a long weekend trip and really enjoyed the hotel.
We booked the excecutive category as it was on offer. Thew lounge is on the top floor and gives you a fantastic view over Amsterdam.

The Sazanka restaurant in the hotel was amazing and i highly recommend it.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelguide08186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Very very nice hotel - makes your stay a rea lholiday! Highly recommendable!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Erich1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

Stayed at the Okura for 5 nights while attending a conference at the RAI. The hotel is a short walk away. We had a large corener room on the 19th floor with excellent views. And my favorite- the windows open! Hotel is quiet, except I kept hearing a bleating noise. I thought ducks in the canal don't do this--sure enough, a school nearby had sheep and goats in their yard--very charming. Back to the room--good bed, excellent lighting. Large desk with chairs on either side so that two people could work simultaneously. Bathroom was amazing. Huge with double sink, seperate tub and shower, seperate WC with of course, Japanese heated toilet seat. Very fast internet (bust pricey). Did not use gym or pool but heard the facilities are excellent.

The lobby is lovely- very serence. Fabulous lighting fixtures in the public areas-- each a workk of art.

Restaurants amazing. We did not eat at the Japanese. The cafe on ground floor was excellent. Had a great 3 course meu for 35 euros- a bargain. Not only did the food taste good, but presentation beautiful

Ciel Blu was amazing--deserving of its Michelin stars.

The executive lounge was a disappointment- very little to offer. Coffee all day. Wine & a few canapes in the evening. Certainly not like Asian hotels.

That being said, go and enjoy.

The restauruants

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renaissancewendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

booked through expedia last minute for 3 days. Much needed R+R. All good, lovely room, quiet, staff excellent. Very clean. Until.... the last morning, awoken at 8 am Damn! ( i never sleep in due to work)knock on the door daughter answered. Told her to put do not disturb sign. Awoken again at 9am maid. Did she not know how to read? First disruption was a note about window cleaning taking place that day!!!!!!!. Coudln't they have left the note the day before???? Second was the maid, the floor housekeeper supervisor was there outside the room with the maid when I went down for a smoke (who can sleep after being bothered by pounding on the door??) I asked her why we were disturbed when there was a do not disturb sign the poor maid chimed in to the supervisor 'you told me the room was empty'. This may sound petty but when you are paying over £100 at a supposedly 5 star hotel WHY!!!!!!!!also they did not refill coffee but told us to call room service 5 star uhh? No. 4 and a half maybe. beds are not very comfortable. but quiet neighborhood good security. Far away from the maddening crowds on a canal. easy acesss to town center on the 12 or 25 tram. Staff very polite excellent breakfast but not inexpensive or even reasonable but all in all 5 star food! I just wanted some sleep!!!!! Not my first time at this hotel good value for money. And they have a smoking room in the lobby so u dont have to brave the elements. Nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mayfair74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#49 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,492 reviews
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#31 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#9 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing