We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Luxury and convenience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #23 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Luxury and convenience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed at The Okura on the weekend of Amsterdam's worst weather for several years, and it was difficult to drag ourselves outside! The choice of four restaurants and two bars, the excellent pool/sauna/gym complex, and the beautifully furnished, luxurious room were almost too good to leave. Although it is located on the outskirts of the city, there is a convenient tram line just outside which gets to Centraal Station in 15 mins. I can't think of anything about this hotel which wasn't subtle or beautifully designed to help guests relax. Despite being a large 'business' hotel, service was attentive without being oppressive, and the executive room we had was equipped to the highest standard. The breakfast buffet was excellent, and our meal in La Serre restaurant was reasonably priced for an expensive city.
We stayed on a last-minute deal, paying less than half price, and it's worth looking out for these as the hotel is not busy at wekends. Our deal included free access to the gym/pool/sauna.
A couple of minor niggles which I hope the hotel can address - there are usually charges for the gym/pool/sauna and if I had been paying full price I would expect this to have been included. I also felt that they could have been more generous with the in-room coffee supplies; there were only six 'pods' for the coffee maker each day, and no milk or complimentary botled water. And why a charge for the wi-fi at this end of the market?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smferguson678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,378
    508
    127
    51
    24
See reviews for
274
804
98
571
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

A beautifully designed hotel with excellent, friendly, and attentive service. Large rooms are well equipped with everything you might need. Some way from the centre, but easy to reach by tram. Good restaurants within walking distance. Well equipped fitness centre with large pool. A large hotel, but service is personal. Nothing to criticise!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Really high quality hotel, great attentive staff and service. My only gripes would be that the location is not central enough, but that's ok really as theres a regular tram stop right outside. But the really annoying part is that they charge for in-room wi-fi. These days I don't think that's acceptable! We pay enough for the rooms not to be charged this on top.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattwint2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

I don't generally like business focused hotels, but I make an exception for the Okura. Like it's sister hotel in Tokyo (one of the world's great business hotel) the Okura offers great comfort, excellent service and, above all else, terrific restaurants. The Japanese restaurant on the ground floor is partnered by an equally good French restaurant on the top floor. Both seem to do good trade not only from residents at the hotel but also from Amsterdam residents. The rooms at the Okura are spacious and extremely comfortable, with excellent bathrooms and good sound insulation. The only drawbacks are that this is a high rise away from the City Centre, which may not be convenient for those looking for the buzz of central Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

My husband had a conference to attend in Amsterdam last Sept and we were put up at the Okura and we had a wonderful experience. Our room was fantastic with a lovely view and the staff were so friendly especially the bar staff. The cocktail bar had beautiful view at night and day and we ate pretty well averyday at Serres Restaurant at some stage or at least had a drink there. Don't miss Hinekin Factory and Ann Frank house. All very getable by tram stop near Hotel, and the bicycles are a must see. Also did a country side tour and the town of Edam is just beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Great hotel! Friendly staff, great rooms, close train station...

I highly recommend you to get the executive suite. Great view, fantastic room and the bathroom is perfect!

The restaurants are worth visiting!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arsy, France
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 night when visiting teh RAI

The location was great, easy walking distance to the RAI and into Amsterdam centre - the latter was a bit far if tired so the tram was easy to find and get to and from the centre to the hotel and back

I had a corner excutive room that was huge - the desk was as big as a bed! The room was very spacious, clean and plush - the bed was high up with loads of pillows - the room came with slippers, robe and lots of lovely things in the bathroom - the bathroom was amazing - huge bath with a tv, double sink and a seperate loo and shower that were like little rooms off the bathroom - the view from the room was not all that but I didnt care!

My first night I was woken up at about 5am with the lights coming on and the curtains opening, obviously someone had set some sort of wake up but it had not be cancelled, this did shock me awake but once I have worked out what had gone on I got back to sleep quickly

I did not have any meals in the hotel apart from room service on one occassion and it was amazing, the service and food was second to none - it was basically well posh!

whilst I didnt spend much time at the hotel due to attending the RAI it was a great relief to get back to the hotel after a long day at the RAI

I have no idea how much it cost as it was all paid for but I loved it there, whilst it may not be the most attractive hotel from the outside, it certainly is lovely inside and if you want to be spoilt then this is the place to do it

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poe.tuesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#25 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,039 reviews
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#19 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 982 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Hilton Amsterdam
#45 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,390 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing