We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we like it, but we don't come back....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #27 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed in Okura two weeks ago. The Hotel is located very far (15-20 euros of taxi to Leidseplein) from downtown, and take the bus -2,60 euros for a ticket- weren't less expensive for us. (we are five)
A day, we walked to Leidseplein, and we arrived there in 45 minutes.
The Hotel is a very good hotel, all the people worked there were extremely kind and helpful with us.
The rooms are large and spacious, with good furniture and excellent beds, but the bathroom furniture were a little old...and in the rooms Nescafè machine were out of work, and the fitness room and the pool were an extra cost.
A good hotel but too far from downtown to come back another time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petunia17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,510)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Okura Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,485 - 1,491 of 2,511 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2011

Complaint about the hotel - really annoyed!!

We have made a hotel booking through booking.com at Hotel Okura in Amsterdam. This booking was made along with many other bookings for my recent Europe trip. Because of change in my visa dates, I had to cancel this booking and I replaced it with another hotel because Hotel Okura was not available on those dates. To my surprise, while I was in Amsterdam, I got a mail that I have been charged by Hotel Okura for one night for Euro 167, which is towards no show. When I called booking.com, they simply took no responsibility and just forwarded me the hotel details to speak with. They told me that I have rebooked this hotel on the same dates again, which I never did and booking.com or the hotel Okura management staff has not been able to provide me any proof of the booking also. Well even if they provide, I have no mail so far and I am 100% sure that I have not made any rebooking on the same hotel for the same dates, because my date of travel to Amsterdam were already changed.No one in the hotel is bothered to reply or ideally send us the reservation confirmation they are claiming or else simply return our money back !

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JIgyasaBajaj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Hotel Okura Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2011

Dear Ms. Bajaj,

We regret that you have experienced such inconvenience with your reservation and cancellation at ----. We have your contact details so we will contact you about this matter. ~ Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Just had my stay with this nice hotel. The standard room was clean and nicely decorated. The service in general very friendly and helpful. The location is great for those who need a calm night away from the noise of the city center. The hotel is nevertheless very well conected with places such as the Museums and main touristic places near the Dam.

The food in the restaurants is also very good and is cute to see the japanese waitresses in traditional clothes.

The only inconvenient for me is that the breakfast does not have the choice for low fat products which I did find in other 5 star hotels. Therefore, of the two nights I stayed there, I took the breakfast only once.

Otherwise it is worth trying this Japanese experience in Amsterdam ... and don't forget to try the chinese massage in the streets. Very good.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSMEXBOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We had an executive room in the 19th floor with wonderful view over Amsterdam and the canal besides the hotel. Beautiful japanese design, including a japanese park and pond with carps. Easy to take the tram to the center and the museum areas.
The outdoor restaurant was besides the canal, but the serving of food was unfortunately very slow. The reception / counsiliere was very helpful getting informasjon and tickets.

Room Tip: A room above 10th floor with view to the canal is quiet
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WencheOslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

the rooms were clean and well appointed and the staff were immensly helpful and knowledgeable. The food was excellent. No complaints only praise for this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We got an excellent room, on the 16th floor, overlooking the canal. Nice bathroom with a glass wall that separates it from the bedroom. Great shower and very good bed. It's not cheap but it's a very decent hotel. (avg price was approx 160 eur/night) This excludes parking (35 EUR/day). Parking is expensive everywhere in Amsterdam. Location was fabulous, taxi's are around 24/24, public transport is only 200 meters "far". Even walking to the city (through the nice neighbourhoods) is not a problem. (15-20 min. walk)
Great hotel, good service and very friendly people. Negatives? Yes, no free wifi.. (not in room and not in the public areas) The restaurant and cocktail bar on the 23rd floor was closed (until somewhere near the end of august), too bad this is not mentioned on the website.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kenk10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

15 - 20 min walk from downtown, but modern and classy hotel. Nice room. We booked ours through Hotels.com and were asked the (inevitable) question on check-in if we wanted to pay a surcharge and "upgrade" to a recently refurbished room. We did and it was very nice. A cool feature was the glass partition wall between the bathroom and bedroom that gave unobstructed views from the tub. Fantastic breakfast, not included (expensive).

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claesson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#39 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,937 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 371 in Amsterdam
751 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#18 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $208 - $529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing