We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Extraordinarily high quality hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #21 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extraordinarily high quality hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

The hotel is located in an optimal location for work at the RAI convention center. Since amsterdam is a relatively small city (in area), it's also reasonable to walk or take trams for sight-seeing as well, though this probably wouldn't be your first choice.

The quality of the rooms and the service at this hotel is top rate. I had an executive room. It had remote control lights, curtains, and (of course) television. Great desk with comfortable chair for work. Nespresso machine. Well-designed and beautiful bathroom with two sinks, tub, and separate shower. Rooms were well-built and sufficiently soundproofed that, while in my room, i never heard another guest during the week i was there.

Hotel staff couldn't have been more friendly at every encounter.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GREG44NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,356
    496
    124
    51
    24
See reviews for
268
787
98
565
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

The hotel was really nice, with spacious rooms and five star service. The only thing that we did not like was the fact that the hotel was really far from the city center. We always like to do the sightseeing by foot and also go out in the evening. We had to walk to the city center for 30 to 45 minutes. The museums are a little bit closer (20 minutes walk). i would not chose this hotel for sightseeing, except if you use a tram or a car.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maja05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed here for a conference. Very happy with this hotel, though a bit pricey. Room was very clean, nice linens, turndown service. The bathtub was wonderful- nice and deep! Amenities were nice- fancy coffee maker, tea, etc was complimentary. They gave me a corner room on the 9th floor and the view was wonderful- It's an easy walk to the convention center with lots of cafes along the way. I felt very safe walking alone here, even at night. Staff are very nice and helpful, the bar at the top is great. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ccmacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed in the Okura for three nights 16th - 19th July. We booked a standard room at 153 euros per night and at check-in without asking we were given an upgraded superior room, which had been newly refurbished. The room was fantastic, very comfortable and clean and we really enjoyed our stay.

The staff were friendly and very helpful at every level.

The extras were however expensive - perhaps no different to other 5 star hotels but they were expensive nevertheless. WiFi in the room (or wired, for that matter) was 6 euros per hour or there was a daily rate.

We did make use of our mini bar but after the second day it wasn't restocked, and when we checked out they asked us what we had as there were "charges showing on our bill" but they weren't itemised. They then called to ask someone to check our room to see exactly what we had while we waited a few minutes at reception. The items were placed on our invoice as "mini-bar" or something like that but with no breakdown so it was qute difficult for us to clarify whether this was correct or not so I just agreed it, although in hindsight I do think we were possibly charged 30 euros + incorrectly.

I would certainly stay again, we very much enjoyed our stay and I definitely recommend this hotel provided you watch what you're paying! (if you need to, that is....)

Room Tip: Superior rooms seem to be newly refurbished and very very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samgees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Stayed beginning of the month in the hotel for a business meeting.
It was a quick drive from the airport to the hotel. Upon arrival I felt directly very welcome, staff was smiling, friendly and always ready to help. My room was spacious, great bathroom as well! and nice views over the city. I tried two different restaurants and had twice a great experience. The lunch boxes in the Serre restaurant are a real surprise and very delicious! I would definitely recommend anyone to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaAlida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We had a really lovely stay at the Okura Amsterdam. We had a junior suite on a high floor so we had very expansive views, but there wasn't anything all that spectacular to see. The room was very big and spacious with lots of nice touches. We loved that we could control the room lighting, temperature and other things from the bedside remotes. The bathroom was very nice and had the best bathroom storage I've ever experienced in a hotel of any class; it was more like a vanity you would have at home with two sinks, a huge mirror and several drawers. The tub and shower were separate. The toilet has a washlet system with a heated seat and the built in bidet.
The check in and out was smooth with pleasant hotel staff. The concierge was very helpful giving us lots of advice about using the trams, where to go and how to get there. The breakfast buffet was great and included in our room rate. It had lots and lots of choices and had both hot and cold items, was pretty typical of what you would expect at a nice European hotel with a few added extras.
The location might seem a little far out of the center of the city, however, there is a tram stop very near the hotel that can take you quickly to the city. However, we also walked there several times and it probably took about 20 - 30 minutes.
We had dinner at Yamazato, a traditional Japanese restaurant, one of the nights of our stay and it was OUTSTANDING. We had the tasting menu which was just an incredible experience and I would highly recommend it to anyone that loves Japanese food or wants to try it for the first time.
I would definitely recommend the hotel to friends and will stay there again on our next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMPeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVERLY HILLS
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

In the past five years whenever we we went to Amsterdam we stay in this hotel for several reasons:
It is very clean,it's been remodeled recently, the staff is wonderful and they have very good breakfasts.
There is one issue with this hotel and that's the location. For us it's been a bonus since we are very active people and we walked every day to Dam square which is the city's main attraction, and we wanted to be away from noisy streets around the Dam. But if you want to be on Dam square then this is not for you. I also have to mention that the tram#25 takes you from Okura straight to Dam in 10-15 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FAY1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#25 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Hilton Amsterdam
#46 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 963 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located in the cozy neighborhood De Pijp and within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates four restaurants of which all have been awarded by Michelin. On the 23rd floor one can find two Michelin star Ciel Bleu Restaurant. On the ground floor, Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka is located, this restaurant has been awarded one Michelin star and here chefs prepare your dishes right in front of you on the hot griddle. Then, Yamazato Restaurant, awarded one Michelin star as well, serves the authentic Japanese kaiseki cuisine. And lastly, Serre Restaurant is inspired by Ciel Bleu and has received a Bib Gourmand by Michelin which awards the great price-quality relation. Furthermore, Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates Nagomi Spa & Health were guests can relax by means of treatments and workouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing