We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinarily high quality hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #27 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The hotel is located in an optimal location for work at the RAI convention center. Since amsterdam is a relatively small city (in area), it's also reasonable to walk or take trams for sight-seeing as well, though this probably wouldn't be your first choice.

The quality of the rooms and the service at this hotel is top rate. I had an executive room. It had remote control lights, curtains, and (of course) television. Great desk with comfortable chair for work. Nespresso machine. Well-designed and beautiful bathroom with two sinks, tub, and separate shower. Rooms were well-built and sufficiently soundproofed that, while in my room, i never heard another guest during the week i was there.

Hotel staff couldn't have been more friendly at every encounter.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GREG44NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,511 - 1,517 of 2,533 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2011

The hotel was really nice, with spacious rooms and five star service. The only thing that we did not like was the fact that the hotel was really far from the city center. We always like to do the sightseeing by foot and also go out in the evening. We had to walk to the city center for 30 to 45 minutes. The museums are a little bit closer (20 minutes walk). i would not chose this hotel for sightseeing, except if you use a tram or a car.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maja05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed here for a conference. Very happy with this hotel, though a bit pricey. Room was very clean, nice linens, turndown service. The bathtub was wonderful- nice and deep! Amenities were nice- fancy coffee maker, tea, etc was complimentary. They gave me a corner room on the 9th floor and the view was wonderful- It's an easy walk to the convention center with lots of cafes along the way. I felt very safe walking alone here, even at night. Staff are very nice and helpful, the bar at the top is great. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccmacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed in the Okura for three nights 16th - 19th July. We booked a standard room at 153 euros per night and at check-in without asking we were given an upgraded superior room, which had been newly refurbished. The room was fantastic, very comfortable and clean and we really enjoyed our stay.

The staff were friendly and very helpful at every level.

The extras were however expensive - perhaps no different to other 5 star hotels but they were expensive nevertheless. WiFi in the room (or wired, for that matter) was 6 euros per hour or there was a daily rate.

We did make use of our mini bar but after the second day it wasn't restocked, and when we checked out they asked us what we had as there were "charges showing on our bill" but they weren't itemised. They then called to ask someone to check our room to see exactly what we had while we waited a few minutes at reception. The items were placed on our invoice as "mini-bar" or something like that but with no breakdown so it was qute difficult for us to clarify whether this was correct or not so I just agreed it, although in hindsight I do think we were possibly charged 30 euros + incorrectly.

I would certainly stay again, we very much enjoyed our stay and I definitely recommend this hotel provided you watch what you're paying! (if you need to, that is....)

Room Tip: Superior rooms seem to be newly refurbished and very very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samgees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Stayed beginning of the month in the hotel for a business meeting.
It was a quick drive from the airport to the hotel. Upon arrival I felt directly very welcome, staff was smiling, friendly and always ready to help. My room was spacious, great bathroom as well! and nice views over the city. I tried two different restaurants and had twice a great experience. The lunch boxes in the Serre restaurant are a real surprise and very delicious! I would definitely recommend anyone to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaAlida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We had a really lovely stay at the Okura Amsterdam. We had a junior suite on a high floor so we had very expansive views, but there wasn't anything all that spectacular to see. The room was very big and spacious with lots of nice touches. We loved that we could control the room lighting, temperature and other things from the bedside remotes. The bathroom was very nice and had the best bathroom storage I've ever experienced in a hotel of any class; it was more like a vanity you would have at home with two sinks, a huge mirror and several drawers. The tub and shower were separate. The toilet has a washlet system with a heated seat and the built in bidet.
The check in and out was smooth with pleasant hotel staff. The concierge was very helpful giving us lots of advice about using the trams, where to go and how to get there. The breakfast buffet was great and included in our room rate. It had lots and lots of choices and had both hot and cold items, was pretty typical of what you would expect at a nice European hotel with a few added extras.
The location might seem a little far out of the center of the city, however, there is a tram stop very near the hotel that can take you quickly to the city. However, we also walked there several times and it probably took about 20 - 30 minutes.
We had dinner at Yamazato, a traditional Japanese restaurant, one of the nights of our stay and it was OUTSTANDING. We had the tasting menu which was just an incredible experience and I would highly recommend it to anyone that loves Japanese food or wants to try it for the first time.
I would definitely recommend the hotel to friends and will stay there again on our next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMPeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

In the past five years whenever we we went to Amsterdam we stay in this hotel for several reasons:
It is very clean,it's been remodeled recently, the staff is wonderful and they have very good breakfasts.
There is one issue with this hotel and that's the location. For us it's been a bonus since we are very active people and we walked every day to Dam square which is the city's main attraction, and we wanted to be away from noisy streets around the Dam. But if you want to be on Dam square then this is not for you. I also have to mention that the tram#25 takes you from Okura straight to Dam in 10-15 minutes.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FAY1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,970 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#17 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,336 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $206 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing