We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Simpy good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Amsterdam Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Amsterdam Airport
Ranked #154 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    408
    191
    48
    27
See reviews for
110
306
91
215
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We booked with ACCOR Club membership, which may offer some advantages.
Getting there: Directions from the airport are good. If travelling by car, note that the entrance is from Oude Haagseweg/Anderletchlaan. I suggest putting the full address into the sat nav and having the driver study the map in Mecure’s confirmation email.
Parking: Free while checking in and unloading the car. Overnight during the week was expensive. There are parking spaces across the road which may be free.
Reception: The high point of the hotel! Five stars plus to the delightful receptionists who checked us in and out, welcomed us, provided us with directions to airport and the city and even reminded me watch my handbag while in the city centre. You are very valuable employees and I hope Mercure will check the roster for pm July 15; am July 16; and am July 17 and reward you.
Location: Situated in a leafy garden but very close to motorway. Our room on the Oude Haagseweg side was quiet even with window open. There are walking tracks close by but we didn’t see any restaurants or street life. It’s a short bus trip to the city centre and airport (free shuttle). Ideal if passing through or overnighting before/after a flight but it’s not my choice for a longer Amsterdam city experience.
Inside: It’s a long walk from reception to the elevator, which has a very heavy door that has to be opened manually. This is likely a fire safety requirement, not a perversion of Mecure.
Room: Bigger than the Mecure in Gronningen: frig, tea/coffee tray, safe, blackout curtains, cakes of soap, shampoos, tissues. Pleasant leafy outlook. The bath towels were so thin it was hard work to dry oneself. Wifi was included, TV was pay only.
Eating: Because of the isolation we opted to eat dinner at the hotel. Food was somewhere between bland and tasteless and service (LOL) was snooty at first, slow to non-existent thereafter. We were one of three tables with one or two people at each, but we waited an hour for our main course. Not a word from the waitstaff, no offer of another drink, no explanation. Another long wait to order coffee and get the bill.
Breakfast on our first morning was as bad. Mainly empty dishes: “Of course more bacon/ eggs/pancakes/fruit/ tomato is coming madam,” was the supervisor’s disdainful reply. Half an hour later I gained the impression that they were always coming and rarely there. A half full tray of croissants was snatched, by the same supervisor, from under my husband’s hand and did not reappear for 30 minutes.
The poor dining service is the reason for a 3-star not 4-star rating.
On the second morning with different staff, breakfast was much better. Dishes were generally available and replenished quickly, as they were at the Mecure in Gronningen. The toaster was the best I experienced in five weeks in Europe.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HDStripad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights after a Viking Rhine River cruise...what a great experience! The staff was wonderful and very helpful, the rooms clean and comfortable. Bus stop (easiest way to go into Amsterdam) a block away. Free shuttle to airport to catch our train to Paris. Best surprise: a fantastic little restaurant in hotel bar area! Great food and great staff! The hotel is also in a lovely setting.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gr8GatorGirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

4 of us stay for 2 nights. The hotel itself is dated but fine. We met some lovely staffs during our stay, UNTIL check-out! The front desk staff on that day (July 19th, around 11am, darker skin, not tall, woman) was very rude! She seems to lack of everybody else's passion for work at all! Other staffs we've met were smiley and greeted us every time. But not her!
When we asked sperated bills for the 2 rooms (can we have separated bills, pls?) she didn't reply in anyway, no words, no nod or shake of head, but kept doing her thing. So I asked again, and she relied :" I'm doing it right now!" impatient and very rude. In the mean time, other dutch guests approached her and she became very friendly. Because our friends and us had a misunderstanding (they thought we will pay, we thought they already paid), so it took sometime to figure out how to pay the bills. She said something like "they already check-out, but i'm telling you they didn't pay!" with her eyes rolling at us.
We are Asian who go to the netherlands almost every month, we were never treated that way, certainly not in a so-called 4 star hotel. So we begin to wonder if she is a "racist" or just only serve caucasians or locals.
I feel so angry about her behaviour and decide to write this bad review. I don't think I'll ever stay in this hotel. (too bad other staffs are so nice)
Oh, did I mention at the end she said "thank you for staying with us and have a nice day" while she is busy doing other work, looking down to her files and without a slight of smile or actually mean it? We felt she meant "go away and don't come back".

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Genger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAir, Front Office Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Amsterdam Airport. I am sorry about your experience at our front desk; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

At short notice I needed an hotel at the airport for an overnight stay before flying back to London. The staff on reception were so friendly, more than you might normally expect from an Airport location. Room was clean and comfortable. I decided to have dinner in the hotel restaurant which based on the menu should have been good. Sadly the service let the whole thing down. The wait to have your order taken was reasonable and the waiter took the time to explain the different fish dishes (Cod and Salmon). Then the wait.....it was so long! Nothing happened for probably thirty or forty minutes and when it did arrive having ordered the Cod I got the Salmon. They weren't sure how to tell the difference even though the Salmon had Salmon Eggs on the top and was showing pink on the flesh. Another long wait. They promised 6 minutes it took fifteen to twenty. It was good by the time I got my supper but to be honest I was just wanting to go to bed and forget all about my dinner. Oh well it was an airport!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brobecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Close to the airport with free airport shuttle and only 20 minutes from downtown Amsterdam by public bus and in a quiet area is a clear choice for anyone. Excellent walking area through the forest next to the lake.
Very helpful staff and excellent service. Truly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boban S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

After travelling from England we needed a hotel close to the airport for our departure the next day.It was a bit hard to find even with instructions from the hotel and having to go through customs with our luggage (as we could not check in until the following day). We were pleasantly surprised by our room - quiet, well appointed and there were several airport places to eat that evening. The staff was so helpful,helping us book our seats on our flight home, as we had been on a cruise and the wi-fi was not adequate to do so. We were to check out by 9 am and not realizing how tired we were we booked the room for another 1/2 day.
For business travelers and for those who want convenience it is a great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duck7200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAir, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind feedback! We hope to welcome you soon in our hotel again! Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amsterdam
2.3 mi away
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#115 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,695 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#113 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,102 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ibis Amsterdam City West
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#111 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#109 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,590 reviews
7.7 mi away
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#209 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 572 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel ibis Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Amsterdam Airport

Property: Mercure Amsterdam Airport
Address: Oude Haagseweg 20, 1066 BW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#86 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#97 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Amsterdam Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 152 non smoking rooms, situated 10km from Schiphol Airport,between the highway A4, A9 & A10,Mercure Amsterdam Airport is the ideal hotel for business and leisure purposes.We have 6 suites, 16 recently renovated conference rooms, a Business Point M., a restaurant and a cozy bar with terrace over-looking the lake "Nieuwe Meer".The Rai Congress Center and the city center are easy to reach by car,taxi or public transportation.We offer you a complimentary shuttle service to and from Schiphol Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam Airport Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing