We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On tour and a good choice of hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Ranked #113 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
crookwell
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“On tour and a good choice of hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

We are on tour and have no choice. Very happy with the hotel we had a hot breakfast,clean rooms and pleasent staff. Computers available to use and free WI fi that works! We had a large room and bed. Good room service. Excellent bar and outdoor area.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovlee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Dear mister/miss,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Robert van Vliet - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    950
    312
    74
    54
See reviews for
229
795
92
415
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
moscow
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Excellent location, 10 minutes by metro M51 to the station "Overamstel", then follow the signs for 3-5 minutes on foot, next quietly, channel! interesting design, friendly and helpful staff! excellent breakfasts! Optimal ratio price/quality! free Wi-Fi! You can even be reached on foot , walking in 40 minutes!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ru r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Dear mister/miss,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Robert van Vliet - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

My boyfriend and I have just spend 3 nights here. Location was great for it being very quiet and no noise from traffic or anything else. The room we had was on the 3rd floor and we over looked the river behind, The room it's self was nice and the bed was very comfy. Our bathroom only had a shower but it was a very good size. We were a little disappointed that there was nothing close to the hotel as in shops,Bars or Resturants. We were told we could get a travel card from the hotel to get about from the hotel to the city but we choose just to get the Metro No51 which took us straight to Amsterdam Central,The metro line was only a 5min walk away. All 3 days we used the Metro and bought 1hour passes from OverAmstel to Amsterdam for 2.80 euros you were only able to buy them singlely but still worked out cheap. We didn't have the breakfast while we were there but was told we could get 2-4-1, On both nights we choose to eat out rather than the hotel. Overall our stay was good and was able to get a taxi voucher which was paid for at the hotel for the taxi to the airport which was 37Euros. The only thing I do have to say was checking in when we arrived really did take some time, There was only 1 person working the desk and it did take us 25mins to get checked in and up to our room.
Great if you don't mind being away from it all

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph5f2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Dear mister/miss,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Robert van Vliet - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Very nice hotel with all the trimmings.
Room, bathroom and facilities great.
Bit pricey for dinner 90 euro for two and breakfast at 45 euro for two.
We took Metro from main station which took about 10 - 15 mins. However when we got off the train there was little or no directions on how to get there. Murphy's law, we chose the wrong path and ended on the opposite side of the canal. Whilst we were contemplating reversing our footsteps a local Scotsman offered to take us in his car around to the hotel, how nice was that?
Reception was very friendly and helpful, hotel clean and very well appointed. No alternatives for outside meals that we knew of.

Green Features: Good A/C as the heat was oppressive whilst we were there
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear sir/madame,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

I'd loved this hotel based on the views and staff. Staff were so friendly and helpful it makes you appreciate and acknowledge what a beautiful country holland is. Just a short train or shuttle ride from the heart of Amsterdam square I will really recommend this hotel!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Dear mister/miss,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, especially we

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Robert van Vliet - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

My boyfriend and I had an enjoyable stay here for 2 nights at the end of July 2014; the rooms were very spacious and clean, as was the bathroom, which had a bath as well as a shower. The bed was big and quite comfortable, with two extra pillows in the wardrobe which was appreciated.

The room had effective air conditioning, a television, free wi-fi and tea and coffee making facilities. It also had a nice view out over the river Amstel.
We got a very good price for this room, only £58ish per room per night (booked with Expedia). The only drawback is the location - it is some way south of the city centre, and there is nothing nearby in the way of restaurants or shops. To get here, you must get the metro (number 51) which runs from Amsterdam Centraal, and takes just over 10 minutes to Overamstel. From here, it is another 10 minute walk to the hotel, so if you are spending a day sightseeing in Amsterdam it is not the handiest hotel if you need to return during the day. However, the hotel do offer a shuttle service to the city centre for 5 euros, which is useful.

We did not try the breakfast here, as we felt 22.50 euros per person was a little expensive. I also a little taken aback at having to pay 40 euros upfront as a deposit in case of damages to the room - from this sum, the city tax is deducted and any other costs incurred, and I was told that the rest would be transferred back to me after check out, but have yet to confirm if this has been done.

Overall, a very good hotel in a peaceful area, but you must be prepared to travel to get to and from the city centre.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear sir/madame,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

We chose this hotel because it is hot summer and on their web site they say there is a swimming pool. There isn't! They just get more customers with that information on the web site. We felt so cheated! Other thing that made us feel bad: Our flight was very early flight. We were at the hotel at 12 am. We were very tired. We hoped that we could get our hotel room before 14 pm. Receptionist told as that they have rooms available, but it cost us 20 euros if we want to get our room for two hours ahead of schedule. I have never encountered such a procedure previously in any hotel. Room was clean and nice, breakfast was ok. We don't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaisu111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear sir/madame,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#147 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,754 reviews
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#121 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Property: Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Address: Joan Muyskenweg 10, 1096 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#94 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City is an entirely non-smoking, modern 4 star hotel. Situated in the south of Amsterdam, close to the Amsterdam RAI Event Centre and just 15 minutes away from the centre of Amsterdam. The hotel is close to the A2 and A10 motorways and just 15 km from Schiphol Airport.The hotel offers modern rooms, free WIFI-access, a breakfast restaurant L"Ambiance,a la carte restaurant La VOC, a bar, 14 meeting rooms and leisure facilities including a modern fitness centre, sauna and steam room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing