We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet away from the Action”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Ranked #103 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We spent 1 night due to a flight change over. Hotel is close to Airport and about 15 euros to downtown. Subway is about a 10 min walk and this is the way to get around. Hotel is newer and very clean. Lots of tour companies use this Hotel so check in and out can be a hassle if you are at prime times. Breakfast 2 for 1 price is very good as is the selection. Rooms are on the small size even if you upgrade they are small. Very quiet location and the quest load using the lounge is very low. Service in Lounge area is spotty. For the price and what you get including distant location from downtown this hotel is still a great deal. Rooms were well equipped, clean, but small. Front desk people were very helpful and were not in a hurry to take the time to explain on how to get around. Overall for a first time to Amsterdam I would use this Hotel as a starting point until you get orientated with the city. good value for the dollar.

Room Tip: try to upgrade to the biggest room they have, I think it is a suite especially if staying for more t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Sir / Madam, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Robert van Vliet General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

662 - 668 of 2,132 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

My sister and I took the airport shuttle to and from Mercure which was quick and easy. Most of the staff were helpful with directions as it is situated slightly away from the centre. The metro station is only a short 7-10 minute walk away and then ten minutes on a train to Centrum. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The television was large and the bathroom was good. Our only slight issue was location - just be aware that it is not in Centrum, the main area of the city. In addition to this, I called reception a few times requesting basic things like new mugs and cutlery which were essentially ignored. Other than this we were happy with the cleanliness of the hotel and we had a comfortable four night stay.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Dear sir/madame,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Robert van Vliet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank BoyceKoh
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Our room was nice and big, nice view of the river.

Nothing nearby to walk to, went for drinks in the hotel restaurant/bar. Service took forever they kept walking by us...someone finally came after 30 minutes and it took another 30 minutes to get the 2 drinks we ordered.

We should've took a taxi into town instead.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nikechik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Just spent a weekend at this hotel and cannot fault the hotel, its staff and the food. The Hotel is very clean, comfortable and modern. It has a beautiful terrace overlooking the canal which was lovely and relaxing to sit out on in the evening. The food, albeit, some a little expensive was fantastic. Would definitely recommend the Mercure Burger. We didn't have the breakfast. at €22.50 pp we thought was too expensive so ate when got into town, and there is so much to choose from.
The Hotel is a little out the way of the City Centre but does provide a very relaible shuttle service at €5pp its well worth it. They also do return journeys. The hotel also offer a canal boat into the City, we didn't use this facility as it only leaves once at 10am and doesn't return until 8.30pm, so unless stay out all day or make your own way back. If you have the money, we would recommend to get a taxi to the hotel from the airport. The journey wasn't as easy as advised by use of trains and metro, especially as the Metro wasn't running on our arrival, so took 2 hours to get to hotel. The hotel provide a service to take you to the airport. At €37, it was worth the comfort and no stress. Be prepared to do lots of walking unless your confident on a push bike, mind those trams those.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MariaKWarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Dominic L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

First time been there was great! Meet few staff that really friendly and helpfull. Located near schipol, 15-20 min cycling to Ajax arena. Close to RAI, free bike provided, boat transport to amsterdam central everyday at 10am cost 5€ only. What else i need?!
Room also clean there is a smoking floor also. Cant wait to back again. Cheers!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Nagatimur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Sir / Madam, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Robert van Vliet General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Novotel Amsterdam City
#120 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,876 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 374 in Amsterdam
5,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,939 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,976 reviews
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#108 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Address: Joan Muyskenweg 10, 1096 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#94 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $88 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City is an entirely non-smoking, modern 4 star hotel. Situated in the south of Amsterdam, close to the Amsterdam RAI Event Centre and just 15 minutes away from the centre of Amsterdam. The hotel is close to the A2 and A10 motorways and just 15 km from Schiphol Airport.The hotel offers modern rooms, free WIFI-access, a breakfast restaurant L"Ambiance,a la carte restaurant La VOC, a bar, 14 meeting rooms and leisure facilities including a modern fitness centre, sauna and steam room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing