We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Be prepared for a long check-in” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Ranked #120 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Northwich, Cheshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Be prepared for a long check-in”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

I had an enjoyable one night stop for business but my experience started terribly, waiting 20 minutes to check-in. The old adage 'you never get a second chance to make a first impression' rang true, and from then on the hotel was playing catch up. Yet, there is a lot that is good about The Mercure, Amsterdam City. It's easy to get to the centre of Amsterdam - a five minute walk to the metro stop and a direct metro (no. 51) to Central station. The bar was friendly if a tad expensive, and the breakfast was enjoyable. The rooms were fine for a business trip, with all the amenities that you might expect. So, get the check-in sorted, and I'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank idontwanttogo2work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Robert van Vliet - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    885
    293
    71
    50
See reviews for
207
713
90
394
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed at this hotel at the end of our bus tour in May 2014.
The hotel is fairly new with an open and sharing lobby and a comfortable seating area. The rooms were simple but clean. The buffet breakfast was average with a fairly good variety of food. The expreso machine served good coffee.
The front desk staff was friendly and helpful,specially Ulysses, who spoke several languages and assisted us with maps of the city and information about transport to the airport. He suggested for us to buy the hotel voucher to pay the taxi for 37 euros which we found to be a bargain.
We could stay here again in our return trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Cubanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Robert van Vliet General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

The hotel is everything you expect from a Mercure expect for the air conditioning: in the summer the room gets really hot and air conditioning does not work properly! Should be ok in winter. The location could be closer but it's not a problem.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Pedro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. I am sorry to hear thaty the airconditioning was not working as it should have. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Robert van Vliet General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed here while at congress - good location. CAn walk to RAI (20 mins) and good connection to airport.taxis outisde all of the time. Rooms are clean and large. Bar and restaurant are both good - and great breakfast. had meeting here for 2 days before congress - nice rooms and good food etc. However - then had an important meeting after congress in hotel - they forgot booking! Lesson learned - check before - the number of staff around in the day seems v low so it was hard to find someone who could help.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drpeterr23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Robert van Vliet General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Myself, my husband and our adult daughter stayed in a family room. We were aware the hotel was a metro ride to the centre but it was convenient for the Amstel Arena where we attended a football match. The hotel is a ten minute walk from the Metro, trains are frequent and it takes about 15 minutes to get to the centre. The room had 3 extremely comfortable beds, a fridge for guests to use, television and free WiFi. We eat in the bar one night and although it was expensive ( it is a four star hotel) it was very nice. There are vending machines with beer, soft drinks and chocolate available. There are a couple of computers available free of charge, we printed off our boarding cards for the flight home. We would use this hotel again if we returned to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Robert van Vliet General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Nice clean room, but had to haggle as the first offering was a bit disappointing. Restaurants and bar very overpriced. Nothing else in area but close to Metro. Also, a residential area across the river has bars, restaurants and shops. Trams here as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottW0792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Robert van Vliet - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
3.8 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#117 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
4.9 mi away
Mercure Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Ibis Amsterdam City West
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#126 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
2.0 mi away
Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Property: Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Address: Joan Muyskenweg 10, 1096 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#94 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City is an entirely non-smoking, modern 4 star hotel. Situated in the south of Amsterdam, close to the Amsterdam RAI Event Centre and just 15 minutes away from the centre of Amsterdam. The hotel is close to the A2 and A10 motorways and just 15 km from Schiphol Airport.The hotel offers modern rooms, free WIFI-access, a breakfast restaurant L"Ambiance,a la carte restaurant La VOC, a bar, 14 meeting rooms and leisure facilities including a modern fitness centre, sauna and steam room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing