We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple with a modern touch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Ranked #100 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed at this hotel at the end of our bus tour in May 2014.
The hotel is fairly new with an open and sharing lobby and a comfortable seating area. The rooms were simple but clean. The buffet breakfast was average with a fairly good variety of food. The expreso machine served good coffee.
The front desk staff was friendly and helpful,specially Ulysses, who spoke several languages and assisted us with maps of the city and information about transport to the airport. He suggested for us to buy the hotel voucher to pay the taxi for 37 euros which we found to be a bargain.
We could stay here again in our return trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Cubanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Sir / Madam, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Robert van Vliet General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

666 - 672 of 2,103 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2014

The hotel is everything you expect from a Mercure expect for the air conditioning: in the summer the room gets really hot and air conditioning does not work properly! Should be ok in winter. The location could be closer but it's not a problem.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
Thank Pedro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Sir / Madam, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. I am sorry to hear thaty the airconditioning was not working as it should have. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Robert van Vliet General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed here while at congress - good location. CAn walk to RAI (20 mins) and good connection to airport.taxis outisde all of the time. Rooms are clean and large. Bar and restaurant are both good - and great breakfast. had meeting here for 2 days before congress - nice rooms and good food etc. However - then had an important meeting after congress in hotel - they forgot booking! Lesson learned - check before - the number of staff around in the day seems v low so it was hard to find someone who could help.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drpeterr23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Sir / Madam, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Robert van Vliet General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Myself, my husband and our adult daughter stayed in a family room. We were aware the hotel was a metro ride to the centre but it was convenient for the Amstel Arena where we attended a football match. The hotel is a ten minute walk from the Metro, trains are frequent and it takes about 15 minutes to get to the centre. The room had 3 extremely comfortable beds, a fridge for guests to use, television and free WiFi. We eat in the bar one night and although it was expensive ( it is a four star hotel) it was very nice. There are vending machines with beer, soft drinks and chocolate available. There are a couple of computers available free of charge, we printed off our boarding cards for the flight home. We would use this hotel again if we returned to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welshgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Sir / Madam, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Robert van Vliet General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Nice clean room, but had to haggle as the first offering was a bit disappointing. Restaurants and bar very overpriced. Nothing else in area but close to Metro. Also, a residential area across the river has bars, restaurants and shops. Trams here as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottW0792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Robert van Vliet - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jimmywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Nice, clean and well stocked rooms although quite basic. Although the location isn't the best there is a metro a 10 minute walk away which takes you to the centre. We got a taxi from the airport and paid €45 which we were told is average although be careful as we heard of British tourists being charged €100 - €200 for the same journey. The hotel staff were very helpful and accommodating. I would reccommend as long as you aren't expecting a luxury room which was the only small negative.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Razzle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear sir/miss, we very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Robert van Vliet General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Novotel Amsterdam City
#119 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,839 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
XO Hotels Park West
#62 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,952 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,906 reviews
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#110 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Address: Joan Muyskenweg 10, 1096 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#94 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $88 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City is an entirely non-smoking, modern 4 star hotel. Situated in the south of Amsterdam, close to the Amsterdam RAI Event Centre and just 15 minutes away from the centre of Amsterdam. The hotel is close to the A2 and A10 motorways and just 15 km from Schiphol Airport.The hotel offers modern rooms, free WIFI-access, a breakfast restaurant L"Ambiance,a la carte restaurant La VOC, a bar, 14 meeting rooms and leisure facilities including a modern fitness centre, sauna and steam room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing