We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A typical Mercure with some to be improved” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Ranked #120 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    835
    273
    62
    48
See reviews for
197
655
89
361
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed here for a visit to Amsterdam. It is only ten minutes on the Train from the city centre and you can also get a night bus. The hotel itself is lovely, newly refubished and very clean and modern. The reception guy upgraded us and we were thrilled. Will stay here again and would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
126 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed here for one night for business in the Zuid-Oost area. Quiet hotel with good service, nice bar, comfortable rooms. You always need a taxi to go into town or to the business area as the hotel is a bit isolated. They redoing the dining room but expect this to be only better after they have redone the bar area. Competitive price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFoxies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

First of all I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. Your feedback is very important to us as we try to improve our services every day.

It is correct that we are located just in the outskirts of Amsterdam, but in retrospect the public transportation is fairly close by and in walking distance. Next to that we offer our guests the possibility to rent bicycles and even a Vespa scooter. This means of transportation allows you to see more of the city.

Recently we have introduced the boot trip to the city centre. The boat leaves every day at 10:00 and will dock at the Anne Frank house. A nice way to start your day in Amsterdam.

I hope to welcome you soon in our hotel again and again thank you!

With the kindest regards,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

It's not in the city but near the Zuidas, the businesspart of Amsterdam on the south of Amsterdam. Big Mercure hotel. I liked it . Coffee and tea facilities on the room. In 20 minutes by underground in the city center. The only minor things were the renovation so the reception was somewhere else and there was a long queue. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martinfromnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Our renovation of the ground floor has been completed. We have introduced a new and unique welcoming concept and a new restaurant concept. I hope to welcome you again in our new restaurant: FLOORrestaurant lounge.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
146 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I already knew that this hotel was far from the city center but it was still on the water which was nice. The rooms were spacious and we even had a king size bed. The lobby has just been renovated and looks very nice! The staff was great too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmiamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

First of all I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. Your feedback is very important to us as we try to improve our services every day.

It is correct that we are located just in the outskirts of Amsterdam, but in retrospect the public transportation is fairly close by and in walking distance. Next to that we offer our guests the possibility to rent bicycles and even a Vespa scooter. This means of transportation allows you to see more of the city.

Recently we have introduced the boot trip to the city centre. The boat leaves every day at 10:00 and will dock at the Anne Frank house. A nice way to start your day in Amsterdam.

I hope to welcome you soon in our hotel again and again thank you!

With the kindest regards,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reuver, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I stayed here for one night during a business trip -14-04-2014 - 15-04-2014-.
The Mercury Hotel Amstel is a good hotel, rooms are nice and clean. No complaints about that. Service was done in a professional manner.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JorritLevels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

The hotel was very good in all aspects. My only complain is that when i reached the hotel on Sunday April 6th at 10.20 am i was told that i had to stay until 2pm to have the room, unless i paid extra Euro 30 to have a room rightaway. another colleague and many others were kept waiting in the lobby untilm 2pm! No other hotel has done this. I will not use this hotel again nor will my colleagues unless you are more attentive to clients who had flown for 10 hrs or more just to sit in your lobby with robotic reception staff. Unbelievable..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Wil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

I have addressed your issues to our Front Office Manager who will take immediate action on this. Please accept my apologies for all the inconveniences you have encountered during your stay. You did not received the highest quality Mercure stands for.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.0 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam City
Novotel Amsterdam City
#100 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,324 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District
3.8 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#112 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Mercure Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
4.7 mi away
Ibis Amsterdam City West
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#115 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,322 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Property: Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Address: Joan Muyskenweg 10, 1096 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#96 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City is an entirely non-smoking, modern 4 star hotel. Situated in the south of Amsterdam, close to the Amsterdam RAI Event Centre and just 15 minutes away from the centre of Amsterdam. The hotel is close to the A2 and A10 motorways and just 15 km from Schiphol Airport.The hotel offers modern rooms, free WIFI-access, a breakfast restaurant L"Ambiance,a la carte restaurant La VOC, a bar, 14 meeting rooms and leisure facilities including a modern fitness centre, sauna and steam room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing