We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hotel at the entrance if Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Ranked #101 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed here for one night for business in the Zuid-Oost area. Quiet hotel with good service, nice bar, comfortable rooms. You always need a taxi to go into town or to the business area as the hotel is a bit isolated. They redoing the dining room but expect this to be only better after they have redone the bar area. Competitive price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFoxies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Sir / Madam,

First of all I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. Your feedback is very important to us as we try to improve our services every day.

It is correct that we are located just in the outskirts of Amsterdam, but in retrospect the public transportation is fairly close by and in walking distance. Next to that we offer our guests the possibility to rent bicycles and even a Vespa scooter. This means of transportation allows you to see more of the city.

Recently we have introduced the boot trip to the city centre. The boat leaves every day at 10:00 and will dock at the Anne Frank house. A nice way to start your day in Amsterdam.

I hope to welcome you soon in our hotel again and again thank you!

With the kindest regards,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

698 - 704 of 2,102 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

I already knew that this hotel was far from the city center but it was still on the water which was nice. The rooms were spacious and we even had a king size bed. The lobby has just been renovated and looks very nice! The staff was great too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmiamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Sir / Madam,

First of all I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. Your feedback is very important to us as we try to improve our services every day.

It is correct that we are located just in the outskirts of Amsterdam, but in retrospect the public transportation is fairly close by and in walking distance. Next to that we offer our guests the possibility to rent bicycles and even a Vespa scooter. This means of transportation allows you to see more of the city.

Recently we have introduced the boot trip to the city centre. The boat leaves every day at 10:00 and will dock at the Anne Frank house. A nice way to start your day in Amsterdam.

I hope to welcome you soon in our hotel again and again thank you!

With the kindest regards,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I stayed here for one night during a business trip -14-04-2014 - 15-04-2014-.
The Mercury Hotel Amstel is a good hotel, rooms are nice and clean. No complaints about that. Service was done in a professional manner.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JorritLevels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Sir / Madam,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Robert van Vliet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The hotel was very good in all aspects. My only complain is that when i reached the hotel on Sunday April 6th at 10.20 am i was told that i had to stay until 2pm to have the room, unless i paid extra Euro 30 to have a room rightaway. another colleague and many others were kept waiting in the lobby untilm 2pm! No other hotel has done this. I will not use this hotel again nor will my colleagues unless you are more attentive to clients who had flown for 10 hrs or more just to sit in your lobby with robotic reception staff. Unbelievable..

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Wil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

I have addressed your issues to our Front Office Manager who will take immediate action on this. Please accept my apologies for all the inconveniences you have encountered during your stay. You did not received the highest quality Mercure stands for.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We started our Trafalgar tour and ended the first night in this hotel. Rooms were clean and modern and the restaurant beneath boasted the same qualities. Being in Amsterdam, we even had a river cruise along the canals which ended by dropping us off a pier that was right next to the hotel. Window views were amazing and of the canals. The breakfast we had was the standard continental buffet and had a range of choices. Staff were friendly and we would definitely return here for our next visit to Amsterdam.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jacky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Sir / Madam,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The staff was especially gracious from the moment we checked in and throughout our stay. The room was small, but comfortable. It takes some getting used to traveling in Europe when you are accustomed to American hotels. We enjoyed the breakfast. Got a great night sleep! Free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PGinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Sir / Madam,

First of all I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. Your feedback is very important to us as we try to improve our services every day.

I was pleased to read that the room was up to your expectations.

As the General Manager of this hotel I am very proud of our breakfast buffet. It is in my believe that we serve one of the best breakfast buffet in Amsterdam. Especially due to the extended range of our breakfast products.

I can recommend you to have a look at our loyalty program Le Club Accorhotels at our website. We offer various deals to our loyal guests throughout the year.

I hope to welcome you soon in our hotel again and again thank you!

With the kindest regards,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel a couple of times now (for business), and I'm a happy returning customer!

Staff is extremely friendly and helpful, one of the reasons I keep coming back :).

Nicely decorated rooms with a lovely shower.

Restaurant serves good food, which is a nice plus too.

The ground floor just had an update, and I must say it is stylish. Nice job!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merluza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Sir / Madam,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Our renovation of the ground floor has been completed. We have introduced a new and unique welcoming concept and a new restaurant concept. I hope to welcome you again in our new restaurant: FLOORrestaurant lounge.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Novotel Amsterdam City
#121 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,839 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#143 of 372 in Amsterdam
5,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
XO Hotels Park West
#62 of 372 in Amsterdam
3,952 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,904 reviews
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#109 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Address: Joan Muyskenweg 10, 1096 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#94 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $87 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City is an entirely non-smoking, modern 4 star hotel. Situated in the south of Amsterdam, close to the Amsterdam RAI Event Centre and just 15 minutes away from the centre of Amsterdam. The hotel is close to the A2 and A10 motorways and just 15 km from Schiphol Airport.The hotel offers modern rooms, free WIFI-access, a breakfast restaurant L"Ambiance,a la carte restaurant La VOC, a bar, 14 meeting rooms and leisure facilities including a modern fitness centre, sauna and steam room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing