We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Although out of town, easy access by metro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Ranked #110 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Queensland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Although out of town, easy access by metro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

A quiet area but with easy access to all of Amsterdam via the metro. Room was clean and toiletries provided better than most hotels. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious with so much variety to choose from.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twmbafm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    818
    266
    59
    46
See reviews for
187
639
89
358
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

If you are ok with a 10 minute metro to the city, you want some piece and quite, and you want great service, then this could be the hotel for you. We had tacked on 4 nights in Amsterdam and this hotel fit our budget perfectly. Out of business peak they do great deals and the service from the team is excellent. The breakfast is well worth it (we got a 2 for 1 deal - 22€ for two). Really big breakfast and if you've been craving western food then this was great. The metro is only a 6 minute walk away and really cheap and convenient. If you're here over New Years though be aware the metro closes on New Year's Eve to avoid hitting drunk/stoned idiots wandering across tram lines etc. Recommended.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

First of all I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. Your feedback is very important to us as we try to improve our services every day.

It is correct that we are located just in the outskirts of Amsterdam, but in retrospect the public transportation is fairly close by and in walking distance. Next to that we offer our guests the possibility to rent bicycles and even a Vespa scooter. This means of transportation allows you to see more of the city.

Recently we have introduced the boot trip to the city centre. The boat leaves every day at 10:00 and will dock at the Anne Frank house. A nice way to start your day in Amsterdam.

As the General Manager of this hotel I am very proud of our breakfast buffet. It is in my believe that we serve one of the best breakfast buffet in Amsterdam. Especially due to the extended range of our breakfast products.

I can recommend you to have a look at our loyalty program Le Club Accorhotels at our website. We offer various deals to our loyal guests throughout the year.

I hope to welcome you soon in our hotel again and again thank you!

With the kindest regards,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had a pleasant stay but finding the hotel was not easy. At the nearest metro station the hotel has put up small signs but we arrived in pouring rain and did not see them.
Once in the hotel it was pleasant and we ate in the hotel the first night. The food was not cheap but we had a discount card and so it was not too bad.
We had booked a privilege room but those rooms are small and so we opted for a standard room with some add-ons we negotiated.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thesurreytiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
121 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

My family and I stayed one night at this hotel during our Trafalgar tour. We don't really have a good impression of the hotel because they had misplaced my daughter's luggage. Apparently the porter had put it in another room and it was not found until we had all left the country and reached Germany causing us a lot of inconvenience and distress! Unless you are in a tour group with easy access to transport, the location of the hotel is far from ideal. It is way off the city centre, located along the expressway. My room on the 14th floor has a good view but the bathroom/toilet had an unpleasant urine stench. Housekeeping apparently did not do a good job cleaning it. I called to complain and they did offer to wash it but as it was already past 10pm, I told them to instead spray some fragrance to mask the smell. Also, the bath towels are not only thin but rough to the skin. Toiletries are provided though. There is no safe in the room. Free wifi is a plus, so too is the complimentary coffee/tea-making facilities. This is a non-smoking hotel (something which I appreciate) with a 24hours - small gym (which I, unfortunately, had no time to check it out). Adequate selection at the buffet breakfast. Too bad we were so upset with the lost baggage that we had no appetite to eat anything.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlicePng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

It was very unfortunate that your luggage was lost during your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. I can understand your frustration by losing your luggage.

However, I was pleased to hear from my housekeeping manager that your luggage was found the next day. Although you already left the hotel and traveled to Germany our Assistant Housekeeping Manager offered to personally drive to Germany so he can deliver your luggage in your next hotel.

Again my sincerest apologies for losing your luggage!

It is correct that we are located just in the outskirts of Amsterdam, but in retrospect the public transportation is fairly close by and in walking distance. Next to that we offer our guests the possibility to rent bicycles and even a Vespa scooter. This means of transportation allows you to see more of the city.

Recently we have introduced the boot trip to the city centre. The boat leaves every day at 10:00 and will dock at the Anne Frank house. A nice way to start your day in Amsterdam.

Our rooms are very well equipped. Varying from a flat screen tv, coffee and tea making facilities to a safe in our room. The safe of the room can be found in the closet.

As the General Manager of this hotel I am very proud of our breakfast buffet. It is in my believe that we serve one of the best breakfast buffet in Amsterdam. Especially due to the extended range of our breakfast products.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I was really impressed with the size and quality of the room. I was a single traveler and I had a nicely appointed room with a double bed. The layout of the room is nice with a sliding door between the bathroom and closet, a large shower and a nice vanity and sink. The decor is also very modern. I didn't get to experience much of the hotel as far as amenities go, but from what I could tell there was a very nice breakfast area (but an expensive one, about 23 Euro a day). All the staff I encountered was very friendly as well. The only recommendation I have is to include the free coffee maker in the lobby to work past 9 AM.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RvanVliet, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.0 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam City
Novotel Amsterdam City
#92 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,269 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mercure Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
2.0 mi away
Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#113 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,106 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ibis Amsterdam City West
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#111 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,292 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Property: Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Address: Joan Muyskenweg 10, 1096 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#96 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City is an entirely non-smoking, modern 4 star hotel. Situated in the south of Amsterdam, close to the Amsterdam RAI Event Centre and just 15 minutes away from the centre of Amsterdam. The hotel is close to the A2 and A10 motorways and just 15 km from Schiphol Airport.The hotel offers modern rooms, free WIFI-access, a breakfast restaurant L"Ambiance,a la carte restaurant La VOC, a bar, 14 meeting rooms and leisure facilities including a modern fitness centre, sauna and steam room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing