We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable but service could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Ranked #110 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Montpezat de Quercy, France
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Comfortable but service could be better”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed her on business recently and was given a twin room. The beds were very light and on wheels, moving around at the slightest change in weight, which was annoying. The beds were also quite uncomfortable for what you would expect from this hotel.
Food was okay, could be better. The breakfast was excellent - great variety and fresh.
This hotel has a good location, but the service was quite random. I was unwell whilst staying at the hotel and needed a doctor's attention. It took far too long to get any response to my request by reception and I ended up taking a taxi to the hospital. Not once did the staff behind reception seem at all concerned or move from behind their desk - all 4 of them pointing to the doors and road when I asked how to get to the hospital and how to get a taxi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CillaChilds344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert v, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is important for us in order to improve our services towards our guest. It was unfortunate to read that your stay was not up to your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apologies for that.

The team members should have had a more open and hospitable attitude towards you as our guest. I will address your comments to my staff in order to prevent future occurrence.

As the General Manager of this hotel I am very proud of our breakfast buffet. It is in my believe that we serve one of the best breakfast buffet in Amsterdam. Especially due to the extended range of our breakfast products and fresh orange juice.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

With the kindest regards,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    963
    314
    74
    55
See reviews for
230
805
93
421
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
194 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Although the hotel as such is OK, with very friendly service.
But when checking out it reminded me of the way cheap airlines liked to pimp their invoices before there was a law against that.
Standard room about 100 euro (fair enough), but breakfast for two was 48 euro, and parking for the overnight stay another 21 euro.
Granted, I did not check the rates, but I did not choose the hotel, and where else are you going to park/have breakfast in the area?
Breakfast is ok, but the only thing outstanding was the fresh orange juice and a good coffee machine. I was not impressed about the food enough to find 24 euro pp justifiable. Parking rate is outrageous.
We went to the Ziggo dome. The public transportation station is about 6 (boring) minutes walking from the hotel, and is not cheap either. We spend ca.12 euro for 4 people, while the taxi we took at night costed 15. If the weather is bad, a taxi is a good alternative.
Room was ok, but showed some wear and tear. Shower tap did not work properly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DVG59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert v, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We are getting a lot of positive feedback about the breakfast, especially about our freshly squeezed orange juice. Our breakfast price is according to the market prices.

Our engineering department is looking into the shower tap of your room.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meerbeke
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Purpose of my trips to Amsterdam are business. Trendy but small rooms in one tower, bigger but less trendy rooms in the other tower. Free WIFI is very convenient. Over the many years I am frequenting this hotel, staff has been friendly in general. (of course everywhere some exceptions occur) Breakfast buffet is good but quite expensive. The hotel is very well located to visit Amsterdam City. Also to enter the city with public transportation. Small SPA. Restaurant offers good food.

Room Tip: In the tower with the small, trendy rooms: ask for room 2001, 3001, 4001, etc... htose are located i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonja p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert v, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I booked a night in Casa 400 hotel but we arrived late and they didnt have a room for us so they sent us to this Mercure hotel. We got upgraded room which was really nice. I stayed in many accor hotels around the world and this one is my favourite. Staff wwasnt very friendly, rather cold but still everything was ok, room was very clean and modern. Location is not great really, because we had to walk a bit to the nearest tram to get to city center.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Przemek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert v, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is important to us in order to improve our services towards our guests.

It is correct that we are located just in the outskirts of Amsterdam, but in retrospect the public transportation is fairly close by and in walking distance. Next to that we offer our guests the possibility to rent bicycles and even a Vespa scooter.

I was pleased to read that the room was up to your expectations.

I hope to welcome you again in the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City.

With the kindest regards,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three days and enjoyed our trip. Small, but lovely room with a great bathroom and a hughe shower. Very quite but quite central, 4 Min walk to public Service, highly frequented. Good breakfast with coffee to go :-) We will go there next time again

Helpful?
2 Thank hippie666
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Robert v, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

This place is great for getting to rai exhibitions and there was a free shuttle bus to the conference directly from the door. The rooms were comfortable but I heard quite a lot of noise from other rooms. I was also struggling to get warm in bed. There was also little pressure in the water in the shower.

Overall the staff are very friendly and helpful although the food is fairly average.

I would imagine they take advantage of business travellers and exhibition goers as the prices were very high for what it was. Don't mean to sound negative, it was good it many ways.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowqueen75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert v, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is important for us in order to improve our services towards our guest.

We have placed many sound proofing materials in our rooms but unfortunately this was not up to your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apologies for that.

I was pleased to read that the level of service was up to your expectations.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

With the kindest regards,

Robert van Vliet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#147 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,824 reviews
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#116 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Property: Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Address: Joan Muyskenweg 10, 1096 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#94 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City is an entirely non-smoking, modern 4 star hotel. Situated in the south of Amsterdam, close to the Amsterdam RAI Event Centre and just 15 minutes away from the centre of Amsterdam. The hotel is close to the A2 and A10 motorways and just 15 km from Schiphol Airport.The hotel offers modern rooms, free WIFI-access, a breakfast restaurant L"Ambiance,a la carte restaurant La VOC, a bar, 14 meeting rooms and leisure facilities including a modern fitness centre, sauna and steam room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing