We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed experiences” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Ranked #110 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
london
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mixed experiences”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

The best part of this hotel is Franka on the reception desk who is wonderful, efficient and friendly. Had to down grade to get a full bath - which is ridiculous.. Like so many hotels it does not cater for businesswomen, but everything asked for was provided. Basic room was spacious and comfortable. Food limited and restaurant not open in the evening. Also quite far out of city centre.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonThelma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    818
    266
    59
    46
See reviews for
187
639
89
358
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

had to pay additional room when booked online to accomodate for 3 adults + 1 infant in 1 room...too far from city center..no free parking..far from restaurants, store, etc.. be careful booking online, hotel will not change any reservations done online, handled by separate company. you can only cancel with no refund...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBvO, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor.
We are very surprised to hear your feedback. It is most certainly true that some rates are not refundable. We offer you the possibility to choose between several rates, these rates have certain sales conditions. Feel free to read them on our website. For example, on many dates we offer our hot deals, this means that no cancellation or change is possible. A credit card is needed with this booking, as the amount is instantly charged. This rate is our cheaper rate. At the other hand, we offer a more expensive rate with no restrictions. You can easily change or cancel your booking till 6 PM on the day of arrival. Please allow me to say, that it would have been better for you to choose this rate. Our desk clerk did not explain this to you in a good way, please accept my sincerest apologies. The system on our website is certainly our system. It is also a surprise for us to hear that you booked for 3 adults and 1 child, unfortunately it is not possible to book this on our website because the maximum capacity per room is 3 persons (adult or child).
Thank you again for sharing your concerns. It is our hope we can welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

the room was very nice, beds comfortable, all the amenities, clean and well appointes would definitely stay again

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Stayed here for 3 days on a business trip. The hotel was within a 10 min walk of Over Amstel tram station.
Two towers, both very modern the room have all the ecoutrements wireless and cabled internet , free bottled water , robes, full bath accessories with lufa sponges etc. 4 types of lighting in the room, flat screen tvs, good bedding and pillows ample storage and very quiet inside. Excercise room, Full sauna, sun /tan room, steam room , but I could not figure out how to actually use these. and only had a short time to indulge any way. If you need to be out near the RAI this is great choice. pricing between 150 - 170 euros seems reasonable, for a business class hotel. It jumps to 250 euros during events I saw, unless you had some discounts.
You are a 6 euro cab ride to the RAI or one tram stop away if you walk to the station.
They have a fantastic breakfast every morning anything you might ask for except custom prepared omlettes and other to order items. The buffet was fresh and the auto coffee/cappuchino machines worked beautifully along with the fresh squeezed OJ and all the other fixings- probably the best hotel buffet breakfast I have seen. It's a bit steep by US standards but for 21 euros, if you like breakfast it's worth it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbug1155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBvO, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvisor. It is always pleasant to read positive comments.
We are happy that you notice the good quality and the various choice of our breakfast buffet. The last months we have intensively changed our buffet to the demands of our guest. We are extremly happy our changes are well accepted.
Thank you again for your comments. It is our hope we can welcome you again next year for the RAI convention.

Best regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Very bad customer service, problems from the moment we stepped into the hotel. During our two night stay we had to change room three times and this is least of the concern from this hotel from hell. Here are the hightlight

Asked for twin beds and gave us double beds. (Checked and advised by two member of staff)

Hotel staff lied to us that our twin beds would be available after during the evening but in fact they claimed were fully booked and was refusing to to rellocate our rooms when we re-checked during the evening

Made a complaint to the manager and he offered us room with a double bed and a sofa bed instead. For a £100 per night i wasnt impressed at all to sleep on a sofa bed.

No beddings on the sofa bed and and it took 1.5 hours and three phone chasers for the hotel staff to make the bedding. (This was 12am at night and call backs were promised and not fulfilled)

No duvet for the sofa bed because they claimed there were fully booked and gave us bed sheets as a duvet. 'I do not expect to pay £100 per night to sleep on a sofa bed and us bed sheets as duvet in a four star hotel.'

Next morning the duty manager offer us one of the following as a compensating and you can make up your mind whether they were sincere or not

Free Taxi ride to the airport, which is only 20 mins by car, or

free burger and chips lunch, or

another night to stay at the Mecure, but after this bad experience there is no way i would recommend this hotel to anyone

in the end we refused all of the offers because we believe they were not very sincere and the compensation was an insult.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chunl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBvO, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor.

As you have already mailed with my operations manager, I want to express my sincerest apologies as well for the inconveniences suffered during your stay.
In our mail to you, my operations manager explained what happened. It is a surprise for me that you did not like the sofa bed, we have never had complaints about the quality of this particular bed. I assure you that we offer the best beds available on the market. Of course the bed had to be ready and sheets had to be available. We therefor offered you 2 rooms complimentary including breakfast instead of 1 room that you claim.

Again, dear Mister Chun, please accept my sincerest apologies for the incovenience. I can assure you that this was a exceptional incident.
It is my hope we can welcome you again in our hotel, so we can prove our hospitality.

Best regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.0 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam City
Novotel Amsterdam City
#93 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,269 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mercure Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
2.0 mi away
Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#113 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,106 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ibis Amsterdam City West
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#111 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,295 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Property: Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Address: Joan Muyskenweg 10, 1096 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#96 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City is an entirely non-smoking, modern 4 star hotel. Situated in the south of Amsterdam, close to the Amsterdam RAI Event Centre and just 15 minutes away from the centre of Amsterdam. The hotel is close to the A2 and A10 motorways and just 15 km from Schiphol Airport.The hotel offers modern rooms, free WIFI-access, a breakfast restaurant L"Ambiance,a la carte restaurant La VOC, a bar, 14 meeting rooms and leisure facilities including a modern fitness centre, sauna and steam room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing