We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Mercure Amstel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Ranked #120 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
A TripAdvisor Member
“Mercure Amstel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

Good business hotel, staff very good hotel is clean and tidy and not far from transport to the city.
Food in bar is very good, however, the buffet breakfast is a bit of a shambles.....hot food.....every dish was either cold or luke warm even the food brought from the kitchen was only just warm....not good when you consider how much breakfast is, the staff seemed oblivious when asked the question why the food was cold or just warm....other issue is of course is heath, when food should be ho it should be hot not cold, this is asking for problems, my advice stick to the cold food that is supposed to be cold and steer away from the hot meals as i ended having to do.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    885
    293
    71
    50
See reviews for
207
713
90
394
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Chose the hotel for location and proximity to trams. Realised that there would be a charge for the car park but found 20E/night + extra hours extreme. Staff very efficient and pleasant, teenage children had an excellent twin room. We had a not-as-good privilege room - smaller - no air conditioning. If we hadn't seen the other room, wouldn't have objected! Hotel info doesn't mention that some rooms don't have air conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBvO, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for the possitive comment on Tripadvisor.
We are happy you chose our hotel for the close location to the public transport. Parking on our property costs less than parking in the city centre. There it costs more than double.
I am very surprised to hear that you think we have no airconditioning in our privilege rooms. We do have airco in all hotel rooms. I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences during your stay. Next time, I would like to suggest to ask the reception to check your airco system in the room.
Thank you again for your comments, and we hope we can welcome you again as guest in our hotel.

Warmest regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Very comfortable mattress, Basic toiletries but not the best quality and the shampoo totally dried my hair out- no conditioner either! Tea and coffee in the room with kettle. Great breakfast- anything you want was there and I really enjoyed it. Really comfortable stay and overall I was very pleased with it. The only thing I would mention is the location- it is a 5 min walk to the tram station, and importantly, it is not signposted from the train station. We walked up the road only to find that the canal had no crossing and so we had to walk all the way back to the train station, to cross the canal and then make our way up to the hotel again. It would be nice if there was a shuttle service from the main local train station, not only from schipol station.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara5612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethania, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

An excellent business-class hotel and considering the fact that Amsterdam is a VERY expensive place, not too bad price-wise.

Located in the more 'industrial' outskirts of Amsterdam at the junction of the A4 and A10 so convenient for commuting around Holland. Ten minutes drive into the City, but walk 500 metres up the road and hop a tram if you want to get around cheaply and quickly.

My colleague and I paid a little extra (€30) to upgrade to the Premium rooms and also made use of the excellent business lounge/cafe area. €7.50 and hour which includes desk-space with cabled internet (although the free wifi is also excellent) and complimentary tea, coffee, cakes and juices included in the hourly charge. We spend four hours in the lounge after checking out, which they added to our bill before we paid so we didn't need to mess about with separate bills. They also only charged us for two hours instead of the four as we were guests.

Room quality was first class. Well appointed, nicely stocked bathroom with all the 'goodies' and Premier guests get slippers, a fluffy bathrobe and a litre of mineral water on top of the usual room facilities.

If the weather is nice, as it was on our trip, its worth dragging the laptop out to the terrace behind the business lounge and enjoy the fresh air by the side of the canal. Wifi signal is excellent in the terrace area.

Breakfast in the restaurant was very good, with a huge selection of Continental items as well as cooked food. Service generally was very good, and the staff on the front desk and in the lounge areas were very polite, friendly and helpful.

Yes, you can get a B&B or pension in Amsterdam for a lot less money if you are travelling 'on your own dime', but if you are looking for a quality 'business class' hotel, you won't go far wrong with the Mercure.

Room Tip: Pay the extra €30 and get the Premium upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retrotecchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBvO, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear Traveler,

I would like to thank you for your possitive comments on tripadvisor. It is a pleasure to hear that you had a pleasant stay and our hotel is your first choice in Amsterdam.
I am also pleased that you experienced different services in our hotel, such as our business point Mercure, our terrace, our free wifi, etc.
Thank you again for your feedback and I hope we can welcome you again in our hotel.

Warmest regards from Amsterdam,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

Hotel was very good, nice, clean modern rooms. Close to tram and train station. Easy to get into Amsterdam city centre.

21 euro for breakfast and 20 euros car parking per day is rather expensive.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBvO, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to hear you had a pleasant stay and you enjoyed our rooms. Please allow me to comment on your feedback about the price of breakfast and parking.
Our breakfast price is in line with other 4 star hotels in Amsterdam, however the price we think that the quality and variaty of choice of our breakfast buffet is far above our competition. As for the parking, we think we also are in line with other hotels in Amsterdam. If you know you pay for parking about 50 euro a day in the city centre of Amsterdam. The charge for parking in our hotel is much lower than that because we are just outside the city centre.
Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
3.8 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#117 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
4.9 mi away
Mercure Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Ibis Amsterdam City West
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#126 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
2.0 mi away
Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Property: Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Address: Joan Muyskenweg 10, 1096 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#94 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City is an entirely non-smoking, modern 4 star hotel. Situated in the south of Amsterdam, close to the Amsterdam RAI Event Centre and just 15 minutes away from the centre of Amsterdam. The hotel is close to the A2 and A10 motorways and just 15 km from Schiphol Airport.The hotel offers modern rooms, free WIFI-access, a breakfast restaurant L"Ambiance,a la carte restaurant La VOC, a bar, 14 meeting rooms and leisure facilities including a modern fitness centre, sauna and steam room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing