We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good hotel near RAI” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Ranked #119 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    884
    293
    71
    50
See reviews for
207
711
90
394
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

We had a wonderful stay. the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and welcoming. The food in the restaurant was fabulous. There was a mix up with a meal and they gave it too us at no charge. Very good customer relations.
We would highly recommend the hotel to anyone.
We arrived for Queens day, not know what it was or what to do. The staff were very informative and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarkepam15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

On the internet it says that it has AC (air Con) but in reality the rooms are boiling hot and to my surprise they didn't even had a Fan when i asked them. The staffs were very rude and was not willing to help at all. I didn't like that hotel at all and if they could have refund me i would appreciate. Will never advice anyone to go there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBvO, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor.
As my assistant already mailed you, I would like to inform you as well. First of all my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience it may have caused you.
Please allow me to say that we do have AC (airco) in our hotel. Unfortunately it was not clear to us that the airco was not working. After your feedback, we checked the room and we saw that this was due to a technical failure.
If you do have more questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kindest regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

Hotel is excellent, location is poor for access to Amsterdam and nothing is in the vicinity.
Ideal for arrival by car. Room service efficient, restaurant good for Holland. Car parking expensive but free spaces available over night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riihimaki, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

Service in the hotel was poor. Employeers are too young and green. They are irresponsibles. The rooms at the lower side are small and the beds ar narrow. Better side is the new one. The hotel situation are at the storage area. Never go there again!
Eveyone must paid some Amsterdam taxes when you are leaving from the hotel..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mertsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBvO, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. Please allow me to respond on your review.
We do have young professionals at service in our hotel. We are sure this is very important for the community and their learning process. At the other hand we also have personnel who have the experience to guide them to ensure the best service to our guests.
It is indeed a fact that the hotel is located just outside the city centre of Amsterdam. At this stage the city of Amsterdam is redeveloping the area into a residential and commercial quarter. Nevertheless, the view on the Amstel is unique for an hotel in Amsterdam.
Due to government regulations every hotel in Amsterdam charges guests city tax. This tax is a small amount which needs to be paid at check out. This is mentionned when you book your room on accorhotels.com or any other website.
Thank you again for being our guest and it is our hope we can welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
3.8 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#117 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
4.9 mi away
Mercure Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Ibis Amsterdam City West
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#127 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
2.0 mi away
Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Property: Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Address: Joan Muyskenweg 10, 1096 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#94 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City is an entirely non-smoking, modern 4 star hotel. Situated in the south of Amsterdam, close to the Amsterdam RAI Event Centre and just 15 minutes away from the centre of Amsterdam. The hotel is close to the A2 and A10 motorways and just 15 km from Schiphol Airport.The hotel offers modern rooms, free WIFI-access, a breakfast restaurant L"Ambiance,a la carte restaurant La VOC, a bar, 14 meeting rooms and leisure facilities including a modern fitness centre, sauna and steam room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing