We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So FABULOUS!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #99 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2009

My husband and I, along with another couple stayed at the Golden Tulip in Amsterdam in mid September. This was our last stop on a 3 city European adventure. The Golden Tulip was AMAZING!!! The hotel was very modern with all of the hotel amenities that you find in the USA. They had king size beds, super clean and energy efficient rooms. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone. The hotel is located on a perfect pedestrian mall with lots of shops and restaurants just steps away. If you go to Amsterdam, you should stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunflowerSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,256 - 2,262 of 3,529 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2009

Clean comfortable rooms, bathroom was great, has a shower clothesline for those doing a bit of travel laundry. Easy walk from Amsterdam Central Station. Check in / out was easy and professional. Noticed other reviewers complained about the city tax, but this was spelled out in the booking terms for me through Hotels.nl. Wi-fi was free but quite slow (husband was trying to watch NFL football streaming online -no luck) perfectly adequate for email and web surfing though. Overall a pleasant place to stay, location is very convienent. A bit pricey, but in line with other European hotels with the same type of amenities. We did not purchase the breakfast, but in hindsight, it may be worth it if you like an early breakfast, nothing much open in walking distance in the morning (before 10).

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aforma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

If this hotel had been classified as a 3-star hotel (with related prices, of course) I would have been happy. Cracking location (I'm serious, really spot on), 3 minute walk from the train station, 1 min walk from the main shopping street, 7min walk from the red light district. Max 10min tram ride (2.6 euro for an hour!!! and they say London has the most expensive transport system??) to the main Museums area. What more would you want from a location? Ah yes, close to good restaurants... well you can tick that box too (10mins walk).
However, for the price paid for a double room (450 euro for 3 nights without breakfast and excludint he 5% city tax, and the exchange rate is not very favourable right now!), this hotel does not feel like a steal anymore. Room and bathroom, despite being clean, are cramped. If you think 4-star hotels you think of good spaces, huge fluffy towels, nice complimentary toiletries and good fitting throughout. Well, you won't find any of these here. Ladies, bring your own shampoo, conditioner and body lotion if you have sensitive skin - I had to go and buy some emergency ones in the shops after coming out of the shower with a dry wig instead of my usual hair. And if you normally need/want to blowdry your hair, don't be tempted to rely on the hotel's drier: it's an 800W one. Attached to the wall. Like in public swimming pools. (I rest my case).

However, as I said, the location is fantastic and yes, I would come back here ona another trip to Amsterdam, because it's really convenient. Personally, if I had been advised about the shortcomings of the room, I still would have booked it - I just felt cheated because I was expecting a 4-star hotel and I found a 3-star one with 4-star prices.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VCUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

avoid this one at all costs,worst hotel ive ever stayed in,staff are absolutely horrible horrible people,cleaning staff burst in on top of you even if you have the do not disturb sign up,they tried to fine me €150 three times in 7 days for smoking,im a non smoker,my card wouldnt work for the lift,infront of 8 people the said i was smoking in my room and the duty manager wanted to talk to me,i checked out of the room at 6am as i was rushing for a flight and they charged €250 for the mini bar,i brought my own goods,didnt go near the minibar!!!!! and they were non responsive when i complained,rooms are over-rated and over priced,i tried to check out after 3 days and they wouldnt let me,said id made my booking through another company and they would be charging me the full amout regardless unless i checked out through my booking company.please for the love of god stay away from this horrid horrid place.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gerrard008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Excellent hotel, the staff is very friendly and nice. The staff at the lobby are knowledgeable and tell you all the directions. It takes only 5 minutes from Centraal Station and it is possible to drag your luggage to the hotel. It is also located 5 minutes from Dam Square and in the very heart of the shopping district. There is a Beer bar in the same lane that goes by the name Wild Man and it serves 200 different varieties of Beer including 18 on tap. Would definitely recommend this.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malhotra007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

I've just arrived back from an excellent 4 day break in Amsterdam. I stayed at the Golden Tulip Amsterdam Centre and was very pleased with the room and location. The rooms were spotless, a nice size and the bathrooms were lovely (great 'rain' shower!). The location was excellent, right in the hub of it all and only a 4/5 min walk from Central station so no need for expensive cabs. The service was excellent and very tentative. I would definitely stay there again and I think the hotel contributed to making my holiday fabulous. Couple of tips: Try to avoid buying water from the tourist areas, extremely expensive at 3 euros (basically £3!!) Go out a bit or shop at 'Ah to Go' for cheap water and eats. Also, don't buy a travel card if you like walking. You don't really need to use the trams at all. Do it by foot and really get to see the city properly. It's not that large and you can practically see it all in a day or two. Saying that, go for a few days to allow yourself some time to just sit and relax around many of the beautiful canals or just laze about in one of the parks. I highly recommend Amsterdam and this hotel for a short break holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pinksqb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2009

It's soulless, corporate, and expensive. The staff are rude and unhelpful. And whilst I was quoted 500 Euros for a three-night stay, the charge on my card was 700. Avoid. Like the plague.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicoloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn, Management representative at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2009

Dear Nicoloo,

thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel. We always strive to let our guests enjoy the best possible service, and are disappointed and sorry you did not experience it that way.

You mention you may have experienced fraudulent actions. I would like to ensure you that we always honour reservations as they have been confirmed, and would like to stress that fraude is something we as a company do not tolerate, and we therefore take your remarks very seriously.

I would like to cordially invite you to contact us so we can examine the accusation of fraud together with you. If it turns out we have made any mistakes, we will gladly correct them!

Looking forward to your reply,

Merijn Veken
Management representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,244 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#88 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,929 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#19 of 374 in Amsterdam
363 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#62 of 374 in Amsterdam
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre

Address: Nieuwezijdskolk 19, 1012 PV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $144 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting Amsterdam is a true experience. Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre is the ideal starting point for exploring the city. Located in the heart of Amsterdam at a traffic-free square between Central Station and the Dam, the hotel is within walking distance to the canals and all city highlights. Our 4 star hotel featuring stylish rooms and suites, provides free WiFi internet throughout the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Golden Tulip Hotel Amsterdam
Golden Tulip Amsterdam Centre
Amsterdam Golden Tulip
Hotel Tulip Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing