We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,849)
Filter reviews
3,849 results
Traveler rating
1,251
1,817
574
121
86
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,251
1,817
574
121
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dam square great location central station golden tulip business room the red light district amsterdam centre minute walk within walking distance mini bar superior room decent size restaurants and bars anne frank house quiet room tram stop city tax
Filter
Updating list...
1,730 - 1,735 of 3,849 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2013

You wake up ready to take on the day. Who wants to have to grab a taxi or a bus from the outskirts of the city before your adventure begins? At Inntel Amsterdam Centre, your adventure begins with your first step outside the lobby. The front entrance is situated on a pedestrian and bicycle only street (there are bicycles everywhere) but only a few steps away you can catch a taxi. You can walk to the train station in roughly 15 minutes but you'll experience roughly 3 lifetimes worth of adventure in that time. Amsterdam is not for the faint of heart. This is not genteel Vienna, it's not even merrymaking Brussels, this is raucous, brash and in-your-face Amsterdam. Although it's really hard to say what strange alchemy created this furor on steroids, the locals or the tourists, one thing for sure is that you need to dive in head first to get a real feel for this place, and when you finally scream the inevitable "RETREAT" the Inntel Amsterdam Centre Hotel is never too far away.

This is an unusual structure in the best possible sense. Some rooms require taking the elevator to the second floor, walk down the hallway which is really an enclosed walkway to an entirely different building, then taking another elevator to your designated floor. While it sounds complicated and is initially intimidating (I really might spend the rest of my life in this hotel) you actually become accustomed to the "up one, exit, turn left and go over the street, reenter elevator, punch floor number, exit and find my room" GPS system.

The concierge and staff are always attentive and eager to serve in any way however they can do nothing to expedite the inevitable lineups at the check-in desk. Be patient, your turn will come and if you're traveling with a party some can wait in the comfortable lounge while another waits in the queue. The lounge offers free high-speed wifi which was some of the fastest we experienced in Europe.

For those who's idea of a good time is NOT waiting in a hotel lobby surfing on their iPad, step out the door and take your choice of half a dozen restaurants who've set up tables right outside the door and order some food. If food is not what you had in mind, a coffee shop can be found about 15 steps across the small piazza. Trust me, it's so close that even after partaking in a Bubble Trouble, Lemon Haze and a Sour Diesel, you still couldn't get lost.

The rooms are large and comfortable and out of the four rooms we reserved, ours was the only one without a working air conditioner. They sent up a guy to jiggle the controls and tell us that there was nothing he could do which was followed a few minutes later by a call from the hotel manager offering us free coffee. We managed to upgrade our free coffee to a free late checkout however the weather was hot and some cool air would have been a welcome relief.

The reviews we read prior to our trip warned us of the overpriced breakfast buffet which we managed to avoid until the very last day when we conceded, blaming it on our over stimulated senses outside the hotel. While the price was steep but the price eludes me now (you can blame that on the Sour Diesel) but it was hot and delicious and the staff was engaging.

We had prescheduled a pickup time with our taxi driver when he arrived and when he didn't show, the concierge staff took care of us by calling another taxi before we even asked. If you choose to go to Amsterdam, and at some point in your life you should, I would strongly encourage you to stay here and enjoy all that Amsterdam has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the second building if you was to have a room that is far from the street noise.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob C, Sales Coordinator at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Don W,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. It is very nice to read that you have enjoyed everything Amsterdam has to offer with your friends.

We hope that we can welcome you again in our hotel.

With best regards,

Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We took our 2 grandchildren (12 and 9 years) to Amsterdam for 2 nights. It was the 1st time they had ever stayed in a hotel.

The rooms were quite small but perfectly formed - clean, comfortable, modern and airy. Staff were very helpful.

We could walk to many attractions and really enjoyed Anne Franks house, the trams and the canal cruise. Many restaurants nearby covering all tastes.

Our biggest gripe was the cost of the breakfast. We were under the impressions that the deal was a bed and breakfast price and were very surprised to receive a rather large bill for breakfast as extras. Keep an eye on the deal you receive is my advice. Having said that, the breakfast was amazing with multiple choices of many hot and cold dishes and even freshly squeezed orange juice done by yourself. (You could eat breakfast for a 1/3 of the price just down the road - probably not so good though!).

A very respectable introduction to hotel living for our grand children!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grannee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob C, Sales Coordinator at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear grannee,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor, this is very much appreciated. And how nice te read that you have brought your grandchildren to our hotel. When you would like to visit Amsterdam again we hope that we can welcome you again.

With best regards,

Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, really good location. Breakfast was good and staff helpful. Drinks in the bar not too dear as compared to bars in Amsterdam itself. Some nice restaurants nearby for dinner. Mini bar prices very expensive!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maddy87uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob C, Sales Coordinator at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Maddy87uk,

Thank you very much or your revieuw on Tripadvisor. We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

With best regards,

Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here with my husband for a few days vacation in July. The location was very convenient, we walked practically everywhere (except one day when we rented bikes from the next door rental). The hotel is on a small pedestrian street and there are lots of restaurants nearby, and the main shopping street is just around the corner.

Our room had a view to the inner yard (and breakfast room), so it was very quiet. The double bed was comfortable and the room was light and very clean. We had a problem with the television, but that was fixed efficiently. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable, and breakfast was great (you could even squeeze your own fresh orange juice!). The price-quality ratio was excellent and I'll definetely stay here again on my next visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reissaaja100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob C, Sales Coordinator at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear reissaaja100,

Thank you very much for your nice review on Tripadvisor, this is very much appreciated. We are glad the read that you enjoyed your stay at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre, we hope to see you again in the near future.

With best regards,

Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hotel is just a short walk from Central station and we walked everywhere, no need to get on a tram or hire a bike. We went for our silver anniversary and received a free upgrade, decorated room and bottle of plonk...totally unexpected and greatly appreciated. We arrived early and asked to drop our bags off, as the room was ready we checked in before lunch. We could also leave our bags after we checked out which was an added benefit as we didn't fly back until the evening. The hotel staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay again on our return trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank trishhaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob C, Sales coordinator at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear trishhaze,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback on Tripadvisor. Once again we congratulate you with your silver anniversary and we are happy to read that we have surprised you with our present on the room. We hope to welcome you back in one of our Inntel Hotels.

With best regards,

Sales coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews