We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Sebastian's(Amsterdam)
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $245/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$291
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$244
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $270/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$214
$171
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $240/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $241/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

NH City Centre Amsterdam(Amsterdam)
$181
$177
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $297/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$210
$200
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $239/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$467
$316
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $401/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$271
$249
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of $365/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,030)
Filter reviews
1,030 results
Traveler rating
328
402
177
68
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
328
402
177
68
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdam squaregreat locationsuperior roomcentral locationred light districtfirst floortrain stationrooms are smalldamrakeuropedutchtwinminibarwardrobe
Filter
Updating list...
703 - 708 of 1,030 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2007

about 10 minutes walk from the station, which is the best way to get from the airport and much much cheaper, go out of the station and its straight down the damrak on your right hand side, u can check in your bags but not check in till 3pm, check out is 11am. quite freindly staff, the rooms are small, ours had a good back street veiw, but our freinds got a wall and their room was double booked and were walked in on whilst in bed, no apology was given by staff! we had a good shower, but very small bathroom with no bath, but our freinds did have a bath. we got a double bed with 2 single mattresses! who likes to slip down the gap??? not me. there was a mini bar, but we dare not touch it for fear of crazy prices. breakfast was 8-10 not worth the bother, scrammbled egg, bacon, make your own toast, ceral, croissants, bannana, apple or yogurt , not imprerssive at all ...slow service for tea and coffee and wanted to charge me for decaff coffee 2 euro. i must say the luggage was well cared for before and after check out. theres a free safe in your room, but the wardrobe space is redicoulously small. the aircon/heating is either too hot or too cold too. tv was mostly english but expensive for adult channels. now about amsterdam : its large with impressive buildings, lots of bikes, trams and ppl. u must go to the rembrant museum its excellent at 10 euro each, near to vondel park which is worth a walk through. a round of 4 drinks can cost u between 15 to 25 euro so beware, nearer to damm square or redlight district u are the more expensive they are. it was really quite chilly and rained for half the time we were there ....u really do need good walking legs and comfy shoes i cant stress this enough. we went on a canal trip, its ok but not much exciting info given on it, oh what lovely gable ends! LOL
the red light area is ok on the main streets but very seedy on the side streets, its whatever u prefer to be honest. many sex clubs at 25 euro each but they are hard core and apprentley look like they are bored doing the deed, so i hear. the sex shops are excellent and not at all embarrissing, theres lots of bars cafes etc, but the mcdonalds have bad service. most toilets are down steep staricases, be careful after having a skinful, and u gotta pay between 20 to 50 cents for the priveldge, even in mcdonalds.
get to the airport early as its very big and the gates are quite a good walking distance......btw : i never saw a windmill ...
coffee shops dont sell coffee, they sell dope, if u want coffee u need a tea shop ...the smell is very off putting as u walk by .....all in all a good weekend but exepnsive, the hotel was ok, excellent location!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miss Mansfield M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw for 3 nights in February and although it was perhaps the smallest room we have stayed, the location made up for it.

Situated at the very bottom of the Damrak on the edge of Dam Sqaure, it is perfect for getting to every tourist spot easily on foot or by tram (a stop is just outside the hotel). Fast food joints are just a few shops away if needed but there are plenty of restaurants nearby as well as a convenience store more or less next door but one for any drinks and snacks to take up to the room.

Getting to the hotel is reasonably simple, the best way from the airport is to take the train to Centraal Station. Its cheap (3.75 Euro's I believe it was for a single journey) and very quick. The hotel can arrange a car or shuttle bus but its far more expensive. From the station its just a straight 5-10 minute walk down the Damrak.

We arrived around 12:30pm and unfortunately our room was not ready but the hotel were kind enough to take our bags so we could explore the city while we wait. By 14:00 the room was ready. The staff are very friendly and speak good English (in fact the whole city speaks good English). One small lift operates up to the 4th floor which you need your room pass to call and if you are on the 5th you need to take the stairs from there.

We were up on the 4th floor so away from any noise coming from street level (cannot complain about this at all even though its a busy part of town) and looked into a small inner courtyard. Initial impressions of the room were slightly disappointing mainly down to the en suite. Although the room could easily fit a double bed there was not a lot of space left as a large chair took most it But the en suite is a joke and can only think it was designed by someone with a dodgy sense of humour. Although the shower cubicle is quite roomy, not tight and cramped like some we have stayed in and the shower is nice and powerful, the sink cuts into the remaining space so much that it blocks almost half the doorway from the shower and is right in front of the toilet leaving any movement very difficult. And to top it off the door is a frosted glass one with no lock so any possibility of doing anything most private of all is gone, especially as the sink almost forces your position to be right in front of the door. There is no window or natural light so you have to put the light on and as the room is fairly small in itself there is no escaping. This may be fine if you are a couple but I would not want to have that if staying with anyone else.

The TV was a nice flat screen one with multiple English speaking channels (even BBC1 and 2!!!) as well as being the screen for internet access. Unfortunately the price is a little steep, I only wanted to check into the return flight with BA but cost me 7.50 Euro's for an hours access. Tea and coffee facilities are present along with a mini bar and free safe.

Breakfast was included with the room and consisted of mainly cold meats and rolls of bread but there is bacon and scrambled eggs if its a hot breakfast you are after. This is in the main restaurant area which occupies the majority of the front of the ground floor and has a large glass front on to the street. We also had a meal in the evening there on the first night and found the cost to be quite reasonable given the location but the food was excellent.

We paid a total of £270 for the 3 nights using a combination of money plus AirMiles which I think may have been a bit more than what I would like to have paid given the room size. If back in Amsterdam I would consider staying again only if it was a single room, I would not stay if I was with someone, not if that style en suite is in every room.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank colinrchorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2007

Just returned with friends and we could not check into this hotel as it was fully booked. They were not impressed at all and think we had a lucky escape when we saw their rooms! Not good value for money at all - not a 4* hotel. More like a 2/3*. Only thing going for it was the central location.

Stayed: February 2007
Thank Sez2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2007

The hotel is in a good location at the Dam Square. Internet service is available in the rooms but is very expensive at €25 per day. However, the hotel has a package where you can get Internet and unlimted in-room movies for €27.50 per day.

My room was very tiny. Literally 7 feet by 13 feet. It was fine for one person but definitely the smallest room I have ever stayed in. Housekeeping service was excellent and the room was clean and functional.

One of the nice things about this hotel is its no-marijuana policy so you do not smell the smoke like in other Amsterdam hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2007

Booked this hotel via the Internet as we had already won the free flights. I had never been to Amsterdam before so wasn't really sure location wise what I was booking.

As it happened, this hotel couldn't be in a better location, right on the corner of Dam Square and Damrak, the main road to the station and for restaurants. It was fantastic. We had a room on the 4th floor with juliet balconies on the windows overlooking Dam Square, couldn't have asked for better. The staff were very, very helpful and even when we requested a late check out, they sorted it no problem with no charge, even though it stated in the hotel guide an extra charge would be made.

The rooms were quite small but more than adequate for a long weekend. The air-con was somewhat efficient, but as the weather was boiling outside, was quite welcome! The beds were very comfy and the bathroom was more than good enough. The hotel didn't have a bar, although there was a public restaurant downstairs, the food looked quite expensive. We used the minibar for any drinks/snacks we wanted, wasn't too expensive like the rest of Amsterdam, 3eur for a beer for example.

Amsterdam itself is a fantastic place, with more than enough to see and do. We took a trip round the canals and went to various odd museums you won't find anywhere else. The red light district is also a must see!!

There are 300 'coffee shops' around, so the place has a very distinct smell wherever go!!! The best place we found was The Grasshopper and 2 min walk from the hotel with a bar upstairs and a coffee shop downstairs and had a wonderful outside terrace where you could drink or smoke or do both if required!!!!

I can't wait to go back and would definately stay at the same hotel again and would recommend it to anyone.

Everyone is so friendly

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank horseybreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews