We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,042)
Filter reviews
1,042 results
Traveler rating
329
406
180
70
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
329
406
180
70
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdam squaregreat locationsuperior roomcentral locationred light districtfirst floortrain stationrooms are smalldamrakeuropedutchtwinminibarwardrobe
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 1,042 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2017 via mobile

First, there is no parking as advertised. They give you 2 options at check in but give the wrong price on both. They are both public garages in Amsterdam and not convenient at all. They cheaper garage is the Double Tree Hilton garage about a 2km walk. That was 20 euro and you can not come and go. Every hotel can advertise parking if they count public garages with in 20 minute walks......

Not friendly service and the lobby is under construcrion so it is currently a tiny space with one elevator for all to use which was a problem getting luggage down in the AM.

The construction noise is awful and the walls are thin.

Room was ok. We booked a king /double and were given a room with 2 beds.

Rooms just ok.

I travel 25 to 30 times a year for work. This was one of my most unpleasant hotel stays.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 4, 2017

Thank you for your review. We regret that you were displeased about the parking. On our website it is stated where the off-site garages are located and what the associated costs are. Unfortunately, I cannot trace back where you found the advertising claiming it as our own. We invite you to please inform us, so we can request to have this corrected. Our sincere apologies for any misunderstanding.

Kind regards,
the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I visited this hotel on the 29th of April for two nights. The hotel is in a great location, a short walk from Central Station and the red light district. On arrival, the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We got a free upgrade into one of the superior rooms - it was faultless. Not only this but we had a member off staff bring our suitcases up to the room for us.
The room itself was spacious, modern and very clean. The minibar was reasonably priced and there was free tea/coffee.

The bathroom was also big with a shower and a bath. Clean towels and bath robes were provided and if you requested for the room not to be cleaned, fresh towels are left on the room door. There was free toiletries provided: hand soap and shampoo.

I couldn't recommend this hotel enough!!The location is perfect - short distance from the busy red light district, shops and restaurants. The hotel is secure, you use your key card to gain access to the lift, doors and room. While on a night the front doors are locked and you have to ring a door bell to gain access into the reception area. We heard no noise during the night and the staff are highly welcoming.

Unfortunately, when we visited the hotel restaurant was being refurbished, so when we return to stay, we are looking forward to trying the food.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone! It really was an enjoyable stay.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 4, 2017

Thank you for your very kind review. We are delighted to hear that you had such an amazing stay. We will be sure to share your compliments with our staff, as they too will be pleased that you enjoyed their services. Do come back when our restaurant re-opens, we will be happy to welcome you once again!

Kind regards,
the General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2017

We arrived Saturday 8th April 2017 as part of anniversary trip we'd planned for ourselves. The room was cramped but clean and with a good view over Damrak. We had booked a double room but were given a twin room instead, with the two single beds pushed together and two single duvets on top. This was not what we had requested at the time of booking as we had requested a double room. The following day we asked at reception if the twin beds could be replaced with a double bed or if we could be moved to a double room. One of the two receptionists told us this was not possible as they had no further rooms available and that it was our fault as we must have failed to further confirm our request for a double room. This was a very disappointing response.
The following morning, Monday 10th April, we were woken at around 8.00 am by noise coming from construction work below us on renovation work to the hotel, although this was annoying we accepted it as something that could not be helped. Before leaving for the day, we asked again at reception for a double room, the receptionist kindly apologised for this and told us that he would find a room for us with a double bed and that we should pack our cases in preparation and leave them in our room for removal. When we returned later that day we had been moved from room 304 to room 322. Our new room was clean and slightly larger than before but our "double bed" was again two twin beds pushed together with a large, rather thin mattress placed on top. It was an uncomfortable bed and neither of us slept well. This was all very shoddy. This was not the solution we had expected, also it seemed a bit odd, as the hotel could have done this without moving us to another room.
The following morning (Tuesday 11th April) we were again woken up with drilling noise below us, from the construction work on the hotel's renovation. Had we been informed about the renovation work taking place prior to our arrival, we would have cancelled our booking and found alternative accommodation elsewhere.
I have visited Amsterdam may times over the last 22 years and have always had excellent service and standards of accommodation from the many hotels that I have stayed in. Sadly for us, this hotel is the one and only exception. This is not a cheap hotel but standards of service and accommodation for us were well below expectations and very poor indeed. I would certainly not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Philip Burke.

Room Tip: Choose an alternative hotel,
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 13, 2017

Dear Mr. Burke,
We have written a full response to your personal email in reply to yours.
If we may summarize here, a double bed is never a guarantuee but always a preference. One that we could unfortunately not meet on the day of your arrival, although we always strive to do so. We regret that our explanation was not satisfactory and that you therefore felt that you were not met with a helpful approach, for which we apologise.

Concerning the construction works, we are making a conscious effort to be transparant about this. We have posted notifications on both our own website and external sites, such as Expedia and Booking.com. To ensure that the information reaches all of our future guests, we also mention the construction works in our pre-arrival email sent to you three days prior to your arrival.
Please also note that all construction are only on working days and do not start before 09.00AM earliest as to minimize disturbance for our guests.

We invite you to read our full email, in hopes that you will re-visit both us and your opinion of us.

Kind regards,
the General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2017

Location - Can't ask for better: On main street, 10 minute walk from Centraal, and a block from the Dam!

Rooms - CLEAN, nice. Are they smaller than many big hotels? Yes. BUT HEY! I needed the room to sleep, and not walk miles in the room. I was walking miles outside, in the city. For the purpose of spending most of the time outside of the hotel and coming there to sleep, this hotel delivers.

Shower - good. But temperature seems to pulsate between hot and boiling...

Team - the folks working there are very helpful and professional.

Liked the hotel a lot.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ordubadli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 13, 2017

Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased you had such an enjoyable stay.
We appreciate your comment on the shower and are looking into improving this.

Kind regards,
the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2017 via mobile

I had a single room without breakfast with company rate for about €160. The room was very small, the bad just 90cm and the bathroom just allowed to turn around. At the same time the restaurant was closed and we had a construction zone right infront of the hotel.

The hotel might be close to some spots but I wouldn't recommend to stay there.

Stayed: March 2017, traveled on business
Thank Carsten V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews