We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Ranked #159 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed September 9, 2009

My cousin and I stayed here for a week in Aug. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly as well. While the room was a bit small, it was no smaller than some hotel rooms in NYC that I've stayed in. We had no issues during our week stay.

Our room had a balcony with french doors that did open up and faced the street. Even though we had a street view room, it was surprisingly quiet during the day. The bathrooms are a bit different than those in the U.S. in that the shower area is smaller and there is no shower curtain so the entire bathroom tends to get wet. However, the cleaning crew did a very nice job cleaning and wiping down the bathroom on a daily basis. While many people from the States may not be used to this, I was as this is done in countries in Asia as well. Keep in mind that you're in another country and not everything is the same as it is at home.

I would definintely recommend staying here to anyone and everyone! It is centrally located and smack in the middle of the heart of Amsterdam. Also, while there is a tram stop right in front of the hotel, you can save yourself a few euros and just walk to the hotel from Amsterdam Centraal. It's only about a 10 min walk.

I'm not really sure why some people have left such negative comments such as "MefoandMeho's." If you want all the bells and whisles in a hotel room then suck it up and pay the extra $200 /night up front on a room at a luxury hotel rather than trying to be a cheap skate and complaining about it after the fact then blaming it on the establishment not meeting your wants/expectations.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diana10314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2009

We appreciate that you took the time to post a review. Especially comments from clients who stayed several days, such as you, are valued because they have a good idea of the hotel, our good things and our shortcomings. Every individual has a different perception and expectation so we also respect comments of guests not happy with their experience at our property and try to improve. We hope to see you back in the future
Rene R.F. Wildeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (983)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

616 - 622 of 984 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2009

my husband and i stayed in the amsterdam de roode de leeuw the end of aug for 4 nights,and i have to say i am really fussy where i stay. it HAS to be clean for a start,and it helps if the staff are friendly,and i like a comfy bed. the amsterdam came out tops on all fronts,the hotel may be an older property,(but then again you are in amsterdam and the whole city is full of older properties!)but it was fine,you never get complete home from home in any hotel,unless you pay for it,but we had everthing we needed,the rooms were cleaned every day,nice fresh towels,everyday,and ok the room was on the small side,but HELLO! its amsterdam,everywhere is small!! we stayed here about 7 yrs ago,and it has had a refurb,it might not be everyones taste,but its clean,comfy and quiet. we had a smoking room,which was requested and paid for,and it didnt stink like everyone says,ok we both smoke,bit not heavily,so think i would notice if it was smelly.cannot comment on the breakfast/restaurant,because we didnt use it,but the menu and restaurant look nice and cosy.and you can sit in the window and watch the world go by,literally!! the ONLY problem we had was when we checked out we were charged for using the mini bar,adding about 30€ to our bill.(we never use the mini bar,in any hotel because its too expensive,and just 5 mins away there is a shop) we couldnt prove we didnt have it,but after saying we didnt have it,a few times,the receptionist apologised for the mistake and removed it from our bill,no questions asked. all in all we had a fantastic time at the amsterdam,and in amsterdam,and we will definately be staying here again,in the very near future,depending on how nice i am to my husband!!!! lol!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayney456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2009

We thank you for your comment and are happy that you enjoyed your stay. The title of your review suggests that everybody is complaining but fortunately many customers are happy to stay with us and we do our utmost to make them happy. The last 2 "negative" comments were made by guests who did not stay overnight at our property for different reasons. We sincerely apologize for the wrong minibar charge. Due to illness of 2 porters, the minibars were not filled on a daily basis causing some wrong charges. We hope you will not wait 7 years to come back so advise you to be very nice to your husband.
Looking forward to welcoming you again
Rene R.F. Wildeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

This hotel is one of the best I have stayed in. Great location, clean friendly and helpfull staff.

This is not a large hotel like say a Marriott, but you get a more personal touch, unlike the big corporate hotels.

This hotel is a short walk from the train station Amsterdam CS. And has a tram stop right outside.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blueclavius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2009

Many thanks for having taken the time for your comments. Yes, we are not a large chain hotel.
We have nothing against chain hotels and they have made a great contribution to the hotel industry but we have choosen to operate as a fully independent , privately owned hotel with all the pros and cons.
A pro is that we can act quickly and work with state of the art technology behind the scene while looking very traditional in the front of the house. We invest large sums to train our staff in order to make them customer driven. But as we are all human beings we do not succeed in all cases so a continuous effort is required. We are happy that we were able to make your stay an enjoyable one and hope to have the pleasure of your visit again in the future
Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

They overbook the rooms, don't let you know until you arrive, then send you to another Hotel without even an apology or complimentary drink. very Very rude!!!

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Stinton1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2009

I regret that we were in an overbooked situation and had to accommodate you in another hotel around the corner.
If this happens we use to accompany the guests and assist with the luggage but I know that on the evening of your arrival no porter was available due to illness.
I sincerely apologize for the fact that this was not handled well and hope that you had a pleasant stay in Amsterdam despite this unfortunate incident.
Rene R.F. Wildeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

We booked this hotel with expedia for a 10 wedding anniversary weekend trip basing our choice on the pictures on the website which looked really nice. The lobby of the hotel was small, efficient and the hotel staff courteous, friendly and helpful. Our room 114, was quiet possibly the worst I have ever seen.
Although advertised as 4 star hotel our room was dark, poorly decorated, with stained walls and carpet and a view of next doors air conditioning units. The bathroom looked like it was built over 10 years ago, was not very clean but we didn't stay to find out. We asked for a different room but none was available until the next day. We dumped our bags, searched the immediate area and booked into the crown plaza a few streets away. We checked out of the Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw within 2 hours and were told that we would be refunded for one of our two night booking. If all you want is a room to rest your head then its probably fine but absolutely not a 4 star experience.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrandMrsRoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2009

We sincerely regret that the room we offered did not meet your expectations. It is true that this room has not much of a view but being an inside room it offers the possibility to sleep right in the middle of the city without hearing any noise. This room was refurbished 9 years ago and this floor is scheduled for renovation in 2011. Unfortunately no hotel can refurbish their rooms every 2 or 3 years. Yes, the bathroom will be done at the same time and is not the same standard as the 75% of our bathrooms which were renovated in the past 2 years. We were pleased to learn that you found a room meeting your expectations in the Crowne Plaza but note that their rooms were only recently renovated after more than 15 years of use.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

We stayed here for over a week, and were very impressed with this hotel. The location cannot be beat - very convenient, just off Dam Square and right by a tram stop. The front desk and housekeeping staff were helpful and friendly. Shopping, dining, nightlife and everything else are just steps away. Although our interior room lacked an impressive view, we found it to be very quiet and peaceful, even with the window open. (This is not always the case with Amsterdam hotels). Also, the bed was the most comfortable hotel bed we have ever slept on. The all-you-can-eat breakfast was very good, although we ended up sampling different nearby options to save money throughout our stay.

Our room was smaller than the typical American hotel room we are used to. This was not a problem for us, but might be for some folks. I would not recommend trying to cram more than 2 people to a room. Also, the bathroom was a bit odd to us, as the door was see-through. In my experience, this is not unusual for a European hotel, but could be awkward if you're not used to it.

We greatly enjoyed our stay and found ourselves looking forward to returning after each day of sightseeing. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiskyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2009

We were very pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay at our property. Yes, we know that not everybody appreciates the opaque glass doors in some of the bathrooms and shall certainly correct this upon a next renovation. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future

Rene Wildeman and his team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

Arrived at the hotel which is ideally situated just off Dam Square. Intially in a smoking Room however the hotel staff were very accommodating when we requested to be moved to a non smoking room and told us we could change rooms the next morning when one would be available. Nice clean room with walk in shower. Ideal location to explore on foot or to catch a tram with a stop directly outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Horace121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2009

We thank you for your review and were happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay. We apologize for the fact that you could not have a non smoking room from the start and that you had to change room after the first night. In fact we are one of the few hotels having a floor for smokers while the rest of the hotel and the public premises are strictly non-smoking.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again

René R.F. Wildeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#88 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,929 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#62 of 373 in Amsterdam
712 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#117 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,244 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#93 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Address: Damrak 93 /94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $155 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great central location, affordable rates, clean & comfortable rooms and friendly & attentive hospitality. In an amazing location, just off Dam Square and right in the middle of Amsterdam's city center, you'll find Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. This is where you want to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam. We offer authentic friendliness and true hospitality with rooms that are comfortable, well maintained, and always spotlessly clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing