We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Weekend away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Ranked #124 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

The hotel de rode Leeuw is a lovely place to stop in amsterdam it is local to dams square right in the heart of the life , one mile from the central train station walking distance and although it is in dams square u get a lovely night sleep no noise at all . I would defiantly stay there again

Room Tip: Lovely place to stop
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kat t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    359
    154
    53
    41
See reviews for
83
436
71
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vaduz
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

I have been staying at many Hotels in the world, but have never seen a 4 star Hotel which was so bad. For a youth hostel, i would agree with the rooms, but bever for a 4 star Hotel.

Positive: Location

Negative: Very small room, extremely small bathroom, shower was dirty when we arrived (mold in the gaps), air con was extremly noisy and smelled greasy during work, dirty mattress.

When we came back from visiting Amsterdam at around 16.00 o clock, our room was not tidied up. I went down to the reception, to make a complaint. The guy at the reception assertet that we had the "do not disturb" card at the room door the whole day (how can a guy at the reception know every room by heart?!? He told me also he worked here 20 years so he can never be wrong)) Actually he also said that I am wrong and assumed that I am a liar. That is not what I expect to be 4 star guest care.
After the discussion, our room was made in 10 minutes (garbage bin was not emptied, bathroom not cleaned,...)

This Hotel is never worth the price. The only positive Thing I can say is that the Location is great, the rest will leave you in dissapointment, especially the extremly unfriendly reception manager.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Flexmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
I sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations at all and that your complaint was not handled as it should have been. You did not speak to our Front Office Manager, who is a lady, but to a Front-Office clerk but this is irrelevant . However, the clerk is also the person who checks the minibars and he confirmed the statement of Housekeeping that the do-not-disturb light was on during the day. Confusion between the "Make up the room" and "Do not disturb"
lights can happen as both are of the same colour.
I hope that despite the bad experience with our property you still enjoyed Amsterdam as a city.
Yours sincerely
René Wildmean, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed here twice. They are so friendly, informative and helpful. There was one minor mishap with a forgotten wakeup call, but luckily, I had not tours planned that day. The first time we had a typical TINy dutch room with a squgee in the shower, not a -typical of what the locals deal with. Great location, right on Dam Square. Quiet at night. The second time, we were given an awesome room, with a great big tub. The food at the hotel is great too with a 10% discount too!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smurfytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
First of all let me apologize for the fact that your wake-up call was forgotten. This should not have happened and I was happy to learn that did have no further consequences.
As you mention it, our rooms come in all sizes which is the charm but also the handicap of a building of over 100 years old.
I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit
Yours sincerely
Rene Wildeman, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrinton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

The room was extremely small just room to walk around the bed and struggled too pent the shower room door as the bed was about a foot away from it. The hotel itself was clean,the staff polite and a great location. Stayed on the fourth floor, sounded like a few children running back and forth on the roof above.
Air con smelt musty when it was put on. Powdered milk for tea was not very nice. All in all a reasonable stay, but would have been better if the room was a big bigger.

Room Tip: The room was not as shown online, much smaller than expected, not much room to unpack clothes, no dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
We regret that the size of your room somewhat contributed to your stay being not as perect as it should be. May we suggest that you book a room of another type we are offering in the future. The difference in rate is not that big and if you need more space we are able to provide it and if you prefer liquid milk with the coffee maker in your room instead of powder there is no problem. Just call our front-office and they will be happy to bring you some milk cups or even fresh milk from the restaurant.
We hope to see you again
Yours sincerely
Rene Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights for my 21st birthday. Great location for our first visit, within walking distance from the train station to the red light district, coffee shops, shopping centres and fast food chains as it's right by Dam square but no noise complaints. The room was spacious and clean, overall a good hotel and the central location of Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw gave us more time to see the city and made a great base for in between all the touristy stuff. ***

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RAWright_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
It is true that the location of our property is unbeatable right on the spot where Amsterdam was founded centuries ago. It is with pleasure that we learned that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back on the occacion of another birthday in the future

Yours sincerely
René Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw for 4 nights in early May. This hotel had an excellent location off of Dam Square, within close walking distance to the train station, the Anne Frank Museum, and the Red Light District. The room was on the small side (as most rooms in Europe) but was clean and comfortable and fine for our stay. Wi-fi was complimentary. Breakfast was not included in our room rate, which disappointed us at first, but ultimately worked in our favor since there were some amazing breakfast places nearby. We would stay here again, no question, for its location and value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ckstar16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, breakfast is not included in all rates but , like you mentioned it, there are plenty of possibilities within some steps, from Starbucks to Delifrance.
We look forward top welcoming you soon again nd thank you for this review.
Yours sincerely
Rene Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
165 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

This was my second time staying here and was a little anxious when i noticed the building works taking place outside my room window... however, no noise and no disruption.

The room i had, was clearly upgraded in comparison to my last visit. The bedroom was warm and quiet, though smaller than the last one i had. The bathroom had been modernized and was superb.

The staff as per last time, were great and friendly.

All i can really say past this is, the location is simply superb with being so close to the train station (4mins walk), pubs & restuarants and general entertainment in the area and as such is great value for money as a result.

Room Tip: pay just a little bit more for a higher level room, it makes a big difference in space and comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
All our rooms have double windows so even during the works which took place, you could be assured of a good sleep at night without noise.. The upgrade of our street is finished in front of our hotel so there are no works anymore.
I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again
Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#51 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#90 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#110 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Property: Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Address: Damrak 93 /94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great central location, affordable rates, clean & comfortable rooms and friendly & attentive hospitality. In an amazing location, just off Dam Square and right in the middle of Amsterdam's city center, you'll find Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. This is where you want to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam. Sure, you can find fancier 4 star hotels in Amsterdam, but what we may lack in glitz we more than make up for in authentic friendliness and true hospitality. All of our bathrooms are all new, and our rooms are comfortable, well maintained, and always spotlessly clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing