We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location! Awesome bed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Ranked #167 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The bed was soooo comfy. The location was superb. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially the one young man on the day shift (forgot his name unfortunately). Pricey but probably no more so than other hotels in that area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worktotravel092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

We thank you for your review and were happy that you enjoyed the bed. Good location is one thing but a good nightrest another. I shall forwrd your complients to our staff
Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (990)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 990 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night at this hotel due to having to cancel our original accommodation at the last minute. I have to say that the room we stayed in was quite small. Unfortunately when showering the water also ends up all over the floor. Minor details though. The way we have been treated here, we feel like royalty. The general manager has gone above and beyond the call to make our stay pleasurable including breakfast on the house due to the problems we had with our original accommodation. I am more than happy to recommend a stay at this hotel. A fancy room is one thing but being made to feel that you are the centre of attention is just mind blowing. Thankyou so much to the staff at this wonderful location.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

It was a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that some shortcmings in the building were compensated by the hospitality of our staff. They do like their job and that's why even the younger members of our staff are already working several years with us.
We hope to welcome you again
With best regards
Rene R.F. Wildeman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Good location just off Dam Square in Central Amsterdam and on Tram 4 route so good direct connection to the RAI Conference Centre. Room with double bed had most facilities required BUT while it would have been OK for sole occupancy and one night it was not up to scratch for a couple staying for a week as we were. At the package rate of £130 per night (Plus tax that had to be paid separately) for 'room only' (breakfast extra) it was not particularly good value. I didn't check out the superior rooms (Euro 30 pp pn extra) but suspect they might be somewhat better. On positive side - a classic Amsterdam city hotel with classic restaurant but limited by room size, one lift for all floors etc etc. Amsterdam as a city was a bit disappointing too compared to my last visit - garbage workers were on a 'work to rule' so very 'scruffy' and far too many road works!

Room Tip: Don't book a standard room or a room on the noisy main road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

First of all I would like to thank you for the review. Our comfort rooms may indeed be at the small side for guests staying for a longer period. That's why we offer superior rooms for a minor surcharge. Not only are those rooms more spacious but they also have a bathtub and an espresso machine in addition to the standard equipment. I regret that you were not 100% satisfied due to the size of the acommodation. It is true that Amsterdam did not show its best face during the strike of the garbage collectors and did you had a less positive impression of the town than after a previous visit. It is true that the a lot of road works are going on due to the works in realtion of the new metro line under the city centre but by the end of the year the street in front of our property will look much better than ever before. We hope that during a next visit Amsterdam will show how many improvements have been made in the city during the last decade
Yours sincerley
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

The most ultimate unpolite and non professional behaviour at the hotel by the staff (even the "week end" manager Peter)
I had agreed a late check out 2 days earlier, but I was woken up at 11. and asked to leave the facility immediately. The hotel was fully booked.
No one the staff were not able to handle this kind of mess. The 4 star hotel can not afford to have that poor staff! Maybe in Holland they do...
The facility was average level and the location good.
The breakfast was 2 star level with a price of 16€.
During 4 nights stay, they cleaned just once...

Simply I must forward my deepest sorry to the hotel owners. Look and watch what kind of staff you have in charge of your business!!!

During the second day of my stay there were a strong smell of weed on the first floor corridor... No wonder, it is Amsterdam!

The rooms were small like they are always in AMS. The toilet/shower combination was terrible. I mean a 4 star hotel has a guest room shower which wets all the toilet and the toilet door so the water flows to the room.

Lunch and dinner service was an average tourist class in guite a nice street restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Risto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

It is true that it had been agreed the previous day that you could have a late check-out. By mistake, for which I sincerely apologize, this had not been comminicated to the staff on duty. Nevertheless this can never be a reason to come down to the Front-Office and shout at the staff. We are well educated people and as you can learn from previous reviews, our staff is always praised. Furthermore we can not accept that you publish a picture of our staff without their consent. In our country publishing pictures of persons without their consent is punishable according to legislation about privacy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is a very nice hotel in the centre of Amsterdam. Even if there is a busy street just outside the hotel, you don't get disturbed. It is very near to everything you want to visit. The hotal is just some minutes walk from the Central station. The room is nice with very comfortable beeds. The staff is really helpful and serviceminded. The breakfast is tasty and generous.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

We were pleased that you enjoyed both our location, our hotel and the helpfulness of our staff and look forward to welcoming you again
With best regards
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We ate here before heading on a full day on a bus tour and were not disappointed.
Excellent range of cereals, breads and meats. It had the best scrambled eggs in any buffet breakfast I have ever eaten and a bonus was a window seat with a view of Amsterdam as it arose from its slumber.
Free wifi was a bonus.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Eddie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

We have tried to find a good balance between price and offering as far as breakfast is concerned. We are glad to learn that we did meet your expectations. Most hotels charge more but we think that our breakfast meets the requirements of most of our guests while still offering it against one of the lowest prices amongst the 4 star properties. And the free WiFi is not a bonus but a necessity for nearly everyone nowadays. That's why we are offering more bandwith within some months by investing in optical fibre.
We look forward to welcoming you again

With best regards
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Great hotel, situated in the center of Amsterdam, close to all interesting places.
We took a superior room and for European standards, the room is large and very cozy.
A gret place ti stay when you are in Amsterdam.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Annath1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

I was happy to learn that you did enjoy your stay at our property and the central location, only 10 steps from Dam Square.
Hopefully we will see you again in the future
Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#86 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,942 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#60 of 373 in Amsterdam
727 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#91 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,129 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#117 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Address: Damrak 93 /94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $153 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great central location, clean & comfortable rooms and friendly & attentive hospitality. In an amazing location, just off Dam Square and right in the middle of Amsterdam's city center, you'll find Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. This is where you want to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam. We offer authentic friendliness and true hospitality with rooms that are comfortable, well maintained, and always spotlessly clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing