We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Ranked #148 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
792 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Outstanding breakfast”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We ate here before heading on a full day on a bus tour and were not disappointed.
Excellent range of cereals, breads and meats. It had the best scrambled eggs in any buffet breakfast I have ever eaten and a bonus was a window seat with a view of Amsterdam as it arose from its slumber.
Free wifi was a bonus.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
We have tried to find a good balance between price and offering as far as breakfast is concerned. We are glad to learn that we did meet your expectations. Most hotels charge more but we think that our breakfast meets the requirements of most of our guests while still offering it against one of the lowest prices amongst the 4 star properties. And the free WiFi is not a bonus but a necessity for nearly everyone nowadays. That's why we are offering more bandwith within some months by investing in optical fibre.
We look forward to welcoming you again

With best regards
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    376
    161
    59
    46
See reviews for
89
457
72
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, situated in the center of Amsterdam, close to all interesting places.
We took a superior room and for European standards, the room is large and very cozy.
A gret place ti stay when you are in Amsterdam.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Annath1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
I was happy to learn that you did enjoy your stay at our property and the central location, only 10 steps from Dam Square.
Hopefully we will see you again in the future
Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Just a short walk down from the station and on Dam Square this hotel is in a great location. It's clean and functional but not luxurious. Despite booking several weeks earlier and requesting a double superior room we were allocated a twin room on arrival that was small and if superior I would hate to see the economy version. We did however get an upgrade for our remaining two nights to a junior suite overlooking the square, which did conform to the superior description that we had booked. Very clean throughout with an excellent bathroom, security is also very good. Overall an enjoyable stay once we had got over the disappointment of having our request for a double room ignored.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Unfortunately it is not always possible for us to give a double bedded room, when this is requested. That's why we always mention that this type is only available according to availability. Unfortunately some bookingsites forget to mention this. Nevertheless, I was happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and that we could fulfill your wishes by upgrading you to a Junior Suite. We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.
With best regards
René Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linds
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

a clean caring hotel right on t e edge of Dam Square but well insulated from the noise of the street below. Friendly staff welcome you to their lovely hotel and look after your comfort. this was our second stay and they welcomed us back and we were so pleased top be back it was like a homecoming.

when i return, as i know i will, i will stay again and feel at home

Room Tip: we had the comfort rooms which were spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsaybrewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
It was nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that a third visit will follow soon.
Yours sincerely
René Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Located on the main street running from Amsterdam Central Station which is a 5 minute walk away, the hotel is perfectly sited for exploring the City. The rooms are reasonably sized with a comfortable bed. The free wi-fi is particularly welcome.

Despite being on the main street, there was no noticeable street noise in the room despite being at the front of the hotel.

The staff were very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johndwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our property. Indeed, our location is the best in town and Amsterdam is a wonderful city.
We hope that you will plan another visit in the future
With best regards
Rene Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Texas
Level Contributor
148 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

This was our second stay at the Hotel Amsterdam--De Roode Leeuw. We had a spotless, superior room with plenty of space, a very nice bathroom, minibar (really cold), comfortable beds and a fabulous breakfast. The hotel staff was always helpful and polite. The hotel has tram passes available for sale (you don't have to hunt around in the shops) and lots of suggestions for things to do. The location is almost at the Dam, which is the center of the old city, and just across the street from the best known department stores in town. We asked for, and received a room near the back which was away from street noise. Close to ATM machines, tram stops, restaurants--what more could you ask for? We would stay here again and hope to have the opportunity to do so soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the back to avoid noise from construction near the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BandBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
We are flattered by your nice comments but are still trying to improve. As from september we shall have our glasfiber network in place allowing our guests to enjoy a still faster internet connection for free. This will allow them to view movies streaming on their mobile devices and a lot more.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again

Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The economy rooms are very small, but nice and clean. Our room was facing the backyard so no street noise from Damrak. The service in the lobby was very good. And the location of the hotel is great, just next to Dam Square!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matkailija1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Many thanks for your review. Indeed the economy rooms are small but that's why those rooms are also the cheapest we are having. Nevertheless, the equipment is the same as you will find in the other rooms with the expception of the coffee machines and make-up mirrors in the superior rooms. We were happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay
Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#56 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#103 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#107 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Property: Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Address: Damrak 93 /94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great central location, affordable rates, clean & comfortable rooms and friendly & attentive hospitality. In an amazing location, just off Dam Square and right in the middle of Amsterdam's city center, you'll find Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. This is where you want to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam. We offer authentic friendliness and true hospitality with rooms that are comfortable, well maintained, and always spotlessly clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing