We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Ranked #162 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The hotel was very nice inside and out. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The room was much smaller than I had expected but being in the center of the city its to be expected. The only thing that we did not like were the beds. Coming from America we are used to box springs and firm mattresses. The mattress was very soft and as it was really two twin beds put together my wife and spent the night rolling into the center of the bed. She had no complaints as she saw it as bringing us closer together. LOL. I on the other hand felt the quality of the bed everyday when we woke in my back. Other than that it was nice and I had no other complaints. Regardless of the bed, I would probably stay here again if I returned as it was conveniently located close to everything you would want to do in Amsterdam.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Edmond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (983)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 983 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014

Location is really the plus for this hotel. Rooms are tiny but has been renovated recently. Id you don't plan to stay in yourroom during your visit, this hotel is for you. Staff is nice and very helpful.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank CBO06880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

We thank you for your review. Indeed, some of our comfort rooms are not very big but for those who want a bigger room we offer our superiors as alternative against a small surcharge.
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to welcome you again
With best regards

René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We spent four nights at this hotel and would highly recommend it. The staff were extremely professional and friendly. We had two meals enjoyable meals during our stay and the wine was very reasonable for a central city hotel. The location is excellent and is only a short walk from central station - there was no need for a taxi.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureenmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our property and its location and look forward to seeing you again in the future
Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw couldn't be easier to find if you go to Amsterdam by train. 10 minute walk from Central station. Just head from the station straight along Damrak. The hotel is 2 minutes from Dam Square and about 15 minutes from Rembrandt Plein where you will find some restaurants. Plenty of places to eat in the city centre. 5 minutes fro the red light district if that's your thing.
The hotel reception staff were welcoming and helpful. The room itself was clean and well kept but you will find a lack of draw space and limited wardrobe room with minimal hangers. Not a problem for a few nights but if staying for a week may be an issue for the other half.
Room cleaned each day with towels changed if required.
We stayed in room 220 with a great view of a brick wall but thankfully no noise could be heard from outside which was a plus, as road works were ongoing over night outside the front of the hotel.
Overall, a decent hotel in a spot for easy access to the city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davethetraveller47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

We thank you for your review which gives a good description of our property. Happily the works at the tramrails have come to an end so our guests are not disturbed by the works anymore.
We hope to have the plewasure of welcoming you again in the future
With best regards
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We arrived at the De Roode Leeuw on a Monday afternoon 10th March 2014 just for a One Night stay.
Check in was fairly easy, but they do ask for a credit or debit card guarantee in our case of £43.06 which I never got back in my account until 19th March.
They seem very concerned about there mini bars.
We were given a room on the second floor with a view of a back street.
The room was small and the bathroom size was a joke.
Two Single beds joined together, about the size of a child's single bed.
We went back to reception to ask why we had been given a room like this and receptionist came up to the room and basically asked, what's wrong with it, and that for another 30 Euros on top of what we paid we could upgrade to a bigger room, she showed me the room, it was exactly the same as our given room but with a little bit more floor space.
Hotel windows are not soundproof and noise of trucks and people shouting was annoying.
Breakfast was terrible, cold scrambled eggs, nearly stale bread and very bad "orange Juice".
I booked this through Avios web site using cash and Avios, what a waste of Avios and cash, it was basically a clean room but reminded me of a youth hostel.
I would never ever go back to this in my opinion dreadful hotel.
I forgot to mention the extensive road and tram works going on at the front of the hotel al along the dam rak.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Djmek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

It was with regret that I learned that we could not meet your expectations. As you have seen , the surface of our superior rooms is bigger but the equipment of all rooms is the same including coffee- and teamaker, safe, free WiFi and hairdryer. You mentioned that the room was not soundproof which makes me wonder if the window was closed well because most guests are astonished by the absence of noise in the rooms although we are in the heart of the city.
The practice of asking a credit card deposit is common in most hotels worldwide and not something we have invented to make the life of our cutomers difficult.
I apologize that we could not make your stay a happy one
Yours isncerely
René R.F Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

On arrival at the hotel the staff were very polite and check in was quick. We arrived at 10.45am and was told our room wasnt ready until 3 but they would keep our bags for us. This was a great help.
When we went to our room it was lovely and clean, modern and bright. It was a good size room, was expecting and smaller room for a city hotel. There was tea and coffee making facilities in the room and also a mini bar.
The bathroom was also very clean. It had a bath with a shower over which was powerful. Plenty of towels.
The room also had free wifi which was great for keeping in contact with home.
There was lots of storage in the room.
We was on the first floor at the back of the hotel overlooking mcdonalds and burger king. We thought we would hear alot of noise but was surprised we hardly heard any.
All of the staff at the hotel where friendly and polite helping with any requests we had.
On check again they said we could leave our bags.
We would go back to this hotel tomorrow hopefully with be returning soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

We appreciate your review and like the comment that you could return tomorrow. We are happy that you do not come to the action tomorrow as we are fully booked :)
Apparently you had one of our superior rooms. All our rooms are soundproof, not only the ones to the front but also overlooking the pedestrian area in front of your room. It can happen that our guests have to wait until check-in time when the rooms are not clean but this is not a policy of our hotel. Most of the time guests can check-in right away upon arrival if rooms are available.
We hope to see you again in a not too distant future.
Yours sincerely
Rene R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

About our 10th stay in this wonderful traditional Hotel- very helpful staff and a special mention to Peter and the staff in the restaurant- especially one waiter who remembered us from last August and was very attentive giving excellent service.
Our visit was to see the recently discovered Van Gogh painting in the Museum- well worth a view - we also experienced the Body Worlds Happiness Exhibition- on the Damrak- very interesting.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we met your expectations again. Beside the apprentices who are only with us for some mon ths, our staff turnover is very low so the chance that staff members remember guests is great. I shall forward your compliments to Peter, our Restaurant Manager. And as you mentioned it, Amsterdam has a lot to offer, from the World of Bodies to Van Goght via the old Dutch Masters like Rembrandt.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again
Yours sincerely
René Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#88 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,929 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#62 of 374 in Amsterdam
712 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,244 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#93 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Address: Damrak 93 /94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#86 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $157 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great central location, affordable rates, clean & comfortable rooms and friendly & attentive hospitality. In an amazing location, just off Dam Square and right in the middle of Amsterdam's city center, you'll find Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. This is where you want to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam. We offer authentic friendliness and true hospitality with rooms that are comfortable, well maintained, and always spotlessly clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing