We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,041)
Filter reviews
1,041 results
Traveler rating
329
405
180
70
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
329
405
180
70
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdam squaregreat locationsuperior roomcentral locationred light districtfirst floortrain stationrooms are smalldamrakeuropedutchtwinminibarwardrobe
Filter
Updating list...
353 - 358 of 1,041 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My partner and I spent two nights at this hotel (March 2014) and were very pleasantly surprised. Due to arriving after dark and having no map or internet access on our phones, we had a struggle to find the hotel but found ourselves feeling foolish - we walked a long way around the city only to discover that the place is quite literally a straight line walk from the train station and right in the middle of all the action! The room we had was small but big enough for what we needed - a place to sleep and shower. The shower was strange.. only a small lip up into the bathroom itself which meant that the floor got wet easily but, meh, it's only water! The bed was wonderfully comfortable and despite the place being right in the city centre, our sleep was not disturbed at all. The safe came in handy and it was nice to have a mini bar there just in case one of us desperately required a bottle of water/can of red bull. Neither of us used it but, like I say, it was nice to have the option. The room was clean though shortly after arrival, I did find a sock under the desk that didn't belong to either of us... some people would probably freak out about this but, really, it was a sock. It took two seconds to pop into the bin and a further ten seconds to forget about.

Basically, great hotel for those looking for somewhere central! Friendly and helpful staff! We're already planning a return visit and Hotel Amsterdam is top of our list for accommodation!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geekfaceuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

It was with pleasure that I learend that you enjoyed your stay but apologize that there was a sock in your room that was not supposed to be there. Someone did not check to room as it has to be apparently. I will check thim matter with our Housekeeping department. And for the rest you said it all, our location is prime and our rooms are not the largest ones in town. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future
With best regards
Rene Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We upgraded our room from a standard to a suite in the hope of more space and a bit more comfort. Unfortunately there wast much room even in the suite, the wardrobe was literally non existent with spade for no more than 3 hangers we hung up our jacket/coats and had to leave the rest if our clothes in our suitcase. There was one chair and table and a side table so it was a good thing we weren't planning on staying in the room for a very long time. Location is ideal for eating and cocktails, 10mins from the train station and pleasant walking to the florist markets. I would probably stay in another hotel if we were to go again as the comfort factor was non existent and the rooms were small. Staff seemed nice at reception and the general hotel was clean and pleasant

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

We appreciate that you gave your opinion. Our rooms are designed for guests staying a short time as the average time of stay of our guests is less than 3 nights. We are sorry that the space of our closests was too small for your clothes. We hope that in spite of the discomfort you enjoyed your visit to our city.
With kind regards
René Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

On our arrival, we were greeted by Jerome very helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable,loved the decor. A ten minute walk from the station,this excellent hotel and restaurant is in the heart of the city. Plenty of shops bars and places to eat. If you don't fancy walking the tram service is frequent.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The hotel takes a wonderfull place and view. Their rooms are great and has all luxury. All of the employee try to make your day great. Especially if you go from Turkey the reception lady Özlem helps you very much. Thanks to Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw

Room Tip: Suites are wonderful
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Savaş Ö
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.Our rooms are not the largest but we made an effort to make them as pleasant as possible. We hope to see you back soon

With best regards

Rene Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel for 4 days. The room isn't one of the biggest I've seen, but it's lovely renovated. The breakfast is also good and the staff is very friendly. They have also a room with computers with free internet. The hotel is in the center of Amsterdam, just one minute to walk from the Dam Square. The position of the hotel is great, there are several restaurants and tousand of shops around.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nevermind89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

It was with pleasure that we learned that you enjoyed your stay with us.Our central location and our friendly staff make up for the smaller size of some of the rooms

We hope to see you soon again
Yours sincerely

René Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews