We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,040)
Filter reviews
1,040 results
Traveler rating
329
405
180
69
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
329
405
180
69
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdam squaregreat locationsuperior roomcentral locationred light districtfirst floortrain stationrooms are smalldamrakeuropedutchtwinminibarwardrobe
Filter
Updating list...
361 - 366 of 1,040 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Just back from spending two nights here and was very impressed. The staff were friendly and accommodating allowing us to book in four hours early and looking after our bags after we'd checked out so we could see some final sites. Location is fantastic, literally a five minute walk from the Royal Palace and within easy walking range of other sites. The restaurant was pricey but worth it as the food was excellent and the service friendly and quick. The room was comfortable and clean and we could barely hear the trams outside.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruairi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

We thank you for your review and were happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you again in a not too distant future

Yours sincerely
Rene Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Great location for all things Amsterdam. Just a few blocks from the train station, plenty of metro stops, just a great place for getting around. And everything Amsterdam is known for is easily within walking distance. Area around hotel is safe for families. I would definitely stay here again or recommend to family or friends. Just don't bring any open food into the hotel. We came in eating a sandwich and standing next to the desk clerk was the manager on duty and he came unglued. Blocked our way before we could get through the door and just about threw us out of the place. We went outside and finished. We came back in and asked the girl at the desk what the deal was and she said that we can bring food to our rooms, we just can't be eating it on our way there! Other than that, great location, good place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unlimitedworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

We were pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam. As to the matter of bringing open food to the hotel, we had to take measures and ask our guests to consume open food outside the hotel. This was certainly not the case with you but some guests in the past came in with strong smelling food and others spoiled it in the hotel so that was incommodating other guests. We count on your understanding.
We hope to see you again in the future
Yours sincerely
René Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. The rooms were extremely small with very little space to move around. Thank goodness we aren't big people. The bathrooms are definitely for 1 small person and the shower arrangement was not very efficient as there ended up being water everywhere. Our room was an inside room so no view to speak of but we were on the quiet side of the building. Decor was modern and clean. Loved the artwork throughout the hotel. Staff was excellent, very helpful. I would say it was pricey for the size of the room. Our family booked 3 rooms. Best thing about the hotel was its location right in the middle of Old town and walking distance to everything. Very convenient to shopping, groceries, restaurants and main attractions.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irene w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

We appreciate your comments and were happy to learn that overall you enjoyed the experience and that our staff lived up to your expectations.
Indeed some of our rooms are small but for those who require more space we suggest to book a superior room against a small surcharge.
We hope to welcome you again in the future
With best regards
Rene Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights in a huge room overlooking Dam Square - but the size and view were the best bits.

The room we stayed in wasn't fully double glazed so the noise from the street below woke me every night, particularly the last night when lorries and cranes were dismantling the Winter Market at 4am!

Amenities are average, would have preferred milk sachets to the powdered creamer for tea and coffee, also the duvet was very thin and clumpy so we were both cold (couldn't find a blanket). Bathroom was good with a huge bath and non-steam mirror. The TV also seemed to have a good selection of channels with some fairly recent films.

Staff seemed friendly and let us borrow an umbrella when it was raining.

Overall an average hotel but the location is so good! Just would have liked a little more sleep...

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank LondonLovelyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

I regret to hear that you were disturbed in your sleep by the noise caused by the dismantling of the
Wintermarket during the night. All our rooms are 100% sound-proff but unfortunately the exceptional noise of cranes and trucks in front of your room cannot be filtered competely out.
Usually the climae control can heat the room up to a comfortable level but if you would have ringed the Front-Office desk they would have brought additional blankets to your room.
I hope to see you back on another occasion and hope that that occasion will not coincide with the dismantling of the Wintermarket again.
With best regards

Rene Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Being a 4 star hotel, we expected alot more. On arrival they demanded a 100 euro deposit, as we had scrimped and saved every penny for our holiday we didn't have a spare 100 euros and my partner did not have money on his debit card, they then blocked 50 euros on my debit card which I'm still unable to withdraw. The room on first glance looked great, but without looking too hard we noticed the walls in the bathroom were completely filthy next to the toilet, the wall next to the tv was very dirty also. Whilst having a nap in the room (with the do not disturb sign on) we were rudley awoken by a loud knocking at the door with the man demanding we answered as we had been smoking in the room. We had not smoked in the room at all and they didn't seem too apologetic when they had realised their mistake. Amsterdam is a wonderful place and we hope to return soon but we will certainly not be booking with this hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank emmafxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

First of all I apologize that you were disturbed while having a Do Not Disturb sign and no apologies were made. As some guests seem to believe that they can smoke cigarettes or worse soft-drugs when they turn that sign on, we sometimes interupt if the smell of smoke is in that area.
As I do not know which room number you had I annot investigate what happened so that the bathroom was not spotless. We are very keen on cleanliness so this should not have happened and I regret the inconvenience caused by this.
I regret that we shall not have the pleasure of welcoming you again

Yours sincerely
René Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews