We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to Amsterdam!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Ranked #151 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Rignt in the heart of the bustling and lively Amsterdam, this accommodation is the perfect option for travellers who want to experience a city on foot.

Less than a kilometer walk from the Amsterdam Centraal Train Station (approximately 13 minutes by train from Airport to Amsterdam Centraal) and a short walk to Canal Cruise operators and tne great Hop On/Hop Off tours which is a cheap way to see the main attractions of a city and a good way to get around.

Rooms are modern and nicely appointed however if you are a larger person, you will have difficulties in the shower room as it is very small. Otherwise, staff are friendly and you can (dependant on availability) ipgrade to a superior room for 30€ extra per night or a junior suite for 100€ extra per night.

WiFi is free and fast.

Plenty of dining options, washed down with the local Heineken, with an entree, main meal, dessert and a couple of beers for two setting you back around 70€

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mez6281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Your description is so complete that I can not make any addditional comments. As far as the showers are concerned, the size differs per room and our superior rooms also have a bath tub.
We were happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope you come and visit us in the future again
With best regards

Rene R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (969)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 969 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

This hotel is located in the middle of the Dam, very convenient to de shopping, red light districts, centraal station, tams and great places to eat. Room was comfortable and has a balcony over looking Damdrak. The room is fairly well insulted but you still feel the trams going by, it is loud even with the double pane windows. No real extras like shampoo, some stock soap in a squeeze bottle on the walls, and the toilet paper roll, made it seem like a Motel 6. Pretty tacky. No wash clothes provided, which is odd. Staff very nice, helpful, great pre purchase deals for canal tours and so forth. Breakfast buffet style is 15eu, and good. We stayed for a week but might cut that back to a few days and then stay off the main drag, too. Overall, enjoy your stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

We were pleased that you enjoyed your stay. As to the ammenities in the bathroom, or better said, the lack of it; we have a GreenKey Gold Label which dictates us to be very environmental friendly. That means no small bottles or other small items but squeeze bottlems and environmental friendly products. These products are still of a very high quality from a reputed company.
With best regards
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel over the weekend and thought it was good.

The room was decently sized, basic, modern and well equipped with a TV (english channels too), kettle and tea/coffee facilities. The only draw back was most rooms face a narrow alleyway which amplified the noise of people stumbling about late at night.

The Hotel is excellently located on Damrak Straat, a short walk (6 minutes) from the Amsterdam Centraal Railway station and right next Dam Square, with many restaurants, take-aways and a small supermarket (similar to a Tesco Metro) next door.

It is very central to all the tourist locations such as the Red Light District, the famous "Coffee" shops and a few minutes walk to Anne Frank House and the Canal Tour Boats. It is actually in such a great location, it was quicker and easier to walk to most of the tourist things.

The staff were very friendly, helpful and polite, the room can be cleaned daily and towels changed every day by pushing a button by the door that says "make up room", I thought that was quite clever.

This hotel is a great base point to explore Amsterdam from. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Try ask for a room near the top floor as they are quieter than the rooms nearer street level.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickd-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

It is always a pleasure for us to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us. Yes, it is true that nearly all tourist attractions can easily be reached by foot. Amsterdam is not such a big city and we are in the middel of it.
We hope to see you again in the future
Yours sincerely
Rene R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have recently returned from a three night stay at this Hotel. The room though compact was very well presented and fitted out to a very high standard in a modern fresh style. The room was clean and well equipped . The only draw back was a lack of natural day light ,but the positives far out weigh the draw backs. The Hotel is in a great location, a short walk from the Railway station . Central to all tourist locations . The staff were pleasant and polite without exception. Room cleaned daily and towels changed every day. The hotel stored our bags until time for us to depart to the airport. Overall the room and service is great value. If you are a little clausterphobic then you may need to consider upgrading to a bigger room. we have been to Amsterdam a few times in our opinion this is the best in terms of value, presentation and location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maldean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

We are happy that you like the style of our rooms as the design and refurbished were done by ourseleves. Unfortunately not all rooms have a view but with the double glassed windows they have the privilige to be very quiet although situated in the heart of the city.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future.

Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Hotel is within easy walking distance of the central station. The receptionists were helpful and friendly. Our room was on the third floor at the front and there was no noise from the street. The free Wi-Fi was a booking point but the reception was poor. The walls are paper thin between rooms, so beware. Finally the bathroom was so! SMALL possibly the smallest I've ever been in. Generally good value (didn't pay advertised price) and for a short stay fine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rich224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

We thank you for your review. Yes, our free WiFi is not the quickets in the world so we are working on other solutions in order to offer a very quick free internet connection for our guests as from the middel of next year. We are aware that some of our bathrooms are small but that is impossible to avoid in a building of over 100 years old and we are sorry for that. If we could make them bigger we would do so.
We were happy that still you intend to use our accommodation again.
Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Great location right in the centre of Amsterdam, the hotel was very clean and the rooms were modern and well lit. Good value for money considering you are on the doorstep of Dam Square and the hotel staff were very helpful with guiding you to all the tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OssieOsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

We were pleased to learn that your birthday trip was an enjoyable one. Amsterdam has a lot to offer and we do our best to make the stay of our guests as pleasant as possible.
We look forward to seeing you again in a not too distant future
Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed here in late August for a weekend.
In my humble view, one key aspect of any experience is having realistic expectations.
So, when one books a 4 star hotel on Expedia, one expects a 4 star hotel, particularly when paying upwards of $300 a night for a room. Expedia themselves say that 4 star hotels include Hyatts, Intercontinentals, Omni etc.
There is no possible way that anyone could call De Roode Leeuw a 4 star hotel.
The hotel is well located near Dam Square, a short walk from the Central Station.
Staff are friendly enough at check in.
However, the lobby is smaller than the average sized living room so is very congested when more than 2 people are simultaneously checking in and out.
Rooms are average and of no better than 2.5-3 star standard.
Which would all have been fine if one had booked and paid for an at best 2.5-3 star hotel.
This place is perfectly average but no better than that on its best day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SquawkerMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

I fully agree with you that our property cannot be compared to a Hyatt or an Intercontinental. Unfortunately the stars-system varies from country to country and that's why it's great to have sites like Tripadvisor where you can make your choice based on comments and experiences of other guests. And as far as our rates are concerend we also have lower rates than the quoted hotel chains. You are mentioning a rather high rate for our property which make me conclude that you have visited our property during a period that the whole city was full. We hope that nevertheless you had a pleasant stay with us and thank you for your comments

Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#68 of 371 in Amsterdam
650 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#94 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,889 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#113 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Address: Damrak 93 /94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $175 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great central location, affordable rates, clean & comfortable rooms and friendly & attentive hospitality. In an amazing location, just off Dam Square and right in the middle of Amsterdam's city center, you'll find Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. This is where you want to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam. We offer authentic friendliness and true hospitality with rooms that are comfortable, well maintained, and always spotlessly clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing