We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top hotel in a top location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Ranked #143 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Valley of the Crow, Wales.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Top hotel in a top location!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were in the front of the hotel around 5 floors, brilliant view up one of the main high streets and down toward Dam Square, which was about 30yds from the hotel. Brilliant location, Red light district and McDonalds within a stones throw away! Room was great, plenty storage, power points and probably enough to swing a cat in! Tidy free TV. Safe was large enough for laptop and dslr. Lift was always quiet too!

Room Tip: Go higher to avoid noise from trams, people etc..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrAshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Our rooms come in different sizes and I understood that you had one of the larger ones. It was a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay. TV sets will be changed next year to larger ones.
We like that you mentioned the power points in the room. In fact, during our recent renovation of all rooms we installed as many accessible points as possible whereuner USA 130V plugs, United Kingdom type plugs and of course "local" ones.
We look forward to welcoming you again
Yours isncerely
René Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    372
    158
    58
    44
See reviews for
88
451
72
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Wajih Abdallat:
I stayed in this hotel with my wife for six nights from Oct 4- Oct 10 /2013 . I must say that everything was just perfect . Location was the best . Room was spotless and large . Manager and staff were really great (thank you for being helpful).

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wabdallat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay in the heart of Amsterdam and that our staff was meeting your expectations. Our climate is not as good as in your country but Amsterdam has a lot to offer and we are happy to be in the middle of it. Hopefully you will come and visit us again in the future

Rene Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at Hotel Amsterdam. We had read the negative feedback about this hotel and can genuinely say these comments are completely unfounded. Our room was located on the 3rd floor and was lovely and very clean. The room was of a comparable size to hotel rooms in the UK. Hotel staff where very polite, friendly and helpful.
The hotel's location is excellent (about 10 mins walk from Centraal Station) and also very close to Dam Square.
A canal trip is a must whilst in Amsterdam and costs roughly about €10 - €15, a good small pub called Louie's bar is also a great place to relax and people watch.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmjanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We appreciate your positive comments and are happy that we met your expectations. We would not go so far to say that other negative comments are unfounded. The perception of a product and services vary from each individual to another and we take all comments serious.
We hope to see you again in the future
Rene Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Nice, renovated hotel in the middle of Amsterdam. We had a room on the roof and it was nice to listen the church bells from our window. Staff is friendly and made the stay enjoyable.
In the bathroom was nice, big bath tub and also separate shower. This is a nice hotel to stay in Amsterdam.
Extra plus for eco friendly cosmetics in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StinaMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in a room under the roof. You have indeed a nice view over the roofs towards the New Church (which is centuries old). And of course, as a hotel with a Green Key Gold certicate we are committed to environmental friendly products and equipment. As an example; the whole hotel is equipped with energy saving lights and LED lights.
We hope to welcome you again in the future
Yours sincerely
Rene R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed in the hotel during the conference for four days. The location was good in the center of the city, and also the tram heading to the RAI conference center went just beside the hotel. The rooms were tiny but clean. My room in the 4th floor had a view to the back of the house but was very quiet to sleep. The breakfast was fine with fresh croissants, toast, some fruits, yoghourt, eggs and beacon. The staff was friendly. I think this hotel is OK if you are not looking anything fancy, and want a clean hotel in the center of the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Outi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
You gave a good description of our rooms for which we thank you. We do not offer fancy rooms but simple rooms with all equipment needed such as 130V USA sockets, 220V UK sockets and many European sockets as well as free Wifi and coffee- and tea making facilities. And of course the tramway to the RAI convention centre stops at some steps of our main entrance which makes it very convenient..
We look forward to welcoming you again
Yours sincerely
Rene R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here with some friends and occupied the whole of the 5th floor ! Here there are two very comfortable and well equipped rooms although beyond the reach of the elevator which stops at floor 4. But the rooms are exceptionally quiet, which is an advantage as this hotel is right on a busy street. The location is wonderful for access to everything, including the main rail station which is in walking distance, and the tram system with stops outside the door for very easy access to all parts of the city (you can buy a well worth it 24 hour pass on the tram). There is an excellent restaurant at the hotel serving Dutch food, and a decent buffet breakfast. All the staff whom we came across were exceedingly helpful and cheerful, a great asset to the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the front are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dart-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
We are happy to learn that you had a pleasant stay. Yes, the only 2 rooms on the 5th floor cannot be reached by elevator but thave nice bathrooms and a view over the roofs of the city. It's quiet over there like in the country side. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again
Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#51 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#103 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#115 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Property: Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Address: Damrak 93 - 94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great central location, affordable rates, clean & comfortable rooms and friendly & attentive hospitality. In an amazing location, just off Dam Square and right in the middle of Amsterdam's city center, you'll find Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. This is where you want to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam. We offer authentic friendliness and true hospitality with rooms that are comfortable, well maintained, and always spotlessly clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing