We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favourite hotel in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Ranked #138 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Wokingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favourite hotel in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have stayed here many times over the last decade and keep returning. This visit was for business and so I was with colleagues, more often my wife and I have visited for mini-breaks. We keep going back because it is so good! The atmosphere is always both friendly and professional. The rooms are very comfortable (especially the newly refurbished rooms we stayed in this visit). It is also very nice to see the same staff members year after year. This is sadly rare and I hope is a sign that the Amsterdam is a good place to work - it's certainly a good place to stay. The restaurant also has a lovely and unique decor, and we've always found both the food and service to be superb. Finally, there's the location - it's convenient for just about anywhere, with a tram stop literally right in front.

Room Tip: IMO the superior rooms are worth the extra for the space they give.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Our aim is to give our guests a pleasant stay and I am happy that we succeeded in your case. We are not the best hotel in town and not the most beautiful but I believe my staff makes the difference. As you have noticed our staff turn-over is extremely low and often people who have worked for us once, are returning. That is not because we overpay them but because of the atmosphere of mutual respect and trust which makes this property a nice place to work.
I was happy to learn that you like our newly refurbished rooms. We are refurbishing another floor which has to be ready before Christmas and half February 2013 the whoe hotel will be refurbished. We look forward to welcoming you again
With best regards
Rene Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    368
    158
    55
    43
See reviews for
85
448
72
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were there on sept. 25 , 2012 as I wrote before we had our best trip . I needed to add that after we left the hotel and Amsterdam we headed to Paris for 5 days then back to Cairo. After almost 10 days from that my daughter 22 years found out that she forgot her wallet with all her I.D and very important papers and some money inside the safe in her room . When I sent to ask if they found the wallet I was so astonished they found it and they sent it to us . I really can't imagine this could have happened else where thanks again it was really a pleasure staying in this hotel.
Atef Guirguis and Family

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ATEF G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
A safe in a hotelroom is a place to have your belongings safe, as the name suggests. I cannot imagine that staff in any hotel would keep the belongings of guests that are forgotten after their departure. I appreciate your compliments but think that we did not more than you can expect of us. I am proud that during the 13 years I am General Manager of this property we never experienced any theft out of the rooms, neither by staff nor by people from outside the hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you back in the future
Yours sincerely
Rene Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

lovely hotel right in the centre of dam couldnt get a better location. superior room was really nicely decorated and bathroom was modern. breakfast is slightly over priced in my opinion but you dont need to have that anyway and you can hear people walking around upstairs but that was bearable. staff were friendly and helpful. i would definately stay here again when i come back to.amsterdam.thank you

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
We thank you for your nice review. Breakfast maybe looks overpriced but not many hotels in Amsterdam offer breakfast at € 15.-- with the same items we offer. And if you don't want to spend it and just want a roll and a cup of coffee, there are many good alternatives only steps away.
We were pleased to learn that you will stay with us again in the future.
Looking forward to your next visit

With best regards
Rene Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

First, you cannot beat the location! Close to alot of the attractions in Amsterdam. The train station is about a fifteen minute walk. Lots of shopping in the area. I was blown away by all of the small shops in the surrounding area. One of the other great things close to the hotel was the "Hop on - Hop" off tours. Take a canal cruise, more than well worth it.
The rooms are small compared to North American standards, however it was well appointed.
Staff was fantastic, very friendly and helpfull.
Don't forget the restaurant attached to the hotel. Food is excellant and the service is very good. My first morning there, the waitress asked if I had ever tried Dutch hot chocolate? She gave me a cup, it was to die for! It was my first time in Amsterdam and i would love to come back and spend more time as I only had one day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prairiephyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
We were pleased to learn that we have met your expectations. Yes, first of all our location is unbeatable but we also try to give our guests more than that. And the Dutch chocolate at breakfast is something real Dutch although most people drink it with a lot of whipped cream on top of it which is as fantastic as unhealthy it could be. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again
With best regards
Rene Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is such a well located hotel and really easy to get to from Amsterdam central. The rooms are really really small. I was traveling alone but it would have been uncomfortable for 2 people... This was definitely not a luxury hotel but good for the class that it is in.

The staff were so friendly and always willing to help. The on site restaurant is truly fantastic and serves traditional meals, as well as an extensive room service menu.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We were pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, some standard rooms are small but within 4 months all rooms and corridors will be extensively refurbished in order to give them a contemporary atmosphere. The rate we ask for an upgrade is limited so for those who would like more space there is an alternative. We have not the pretention to be a deluxe hotel and try to be good in the class we are in, as you state it. m We hope to see you back in the future

With best regards
Rene Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here - location was fantastic, right in the main tourist area with heaps of restaurants all around.

The lovely woman at the front reception was brilliant - always bubbly and cheerful, and super helpful.

Our room was decent and comfortable - especially since we had just come off a 13 hour flight. I liked the nod to the nearby red light district with the bathroom lighting - nice touch!

Breakfast was good too - I measure all breakfast buffets by the quality if the eggs and toast, and I enjoyed both here. Coffee was excellet too provided through an espresso machine rather than the usual jug of too-weak stuff. If you are from Australia like me and want a flat white, the "cafe latte" setting is your best bet.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Very nice hotel in the centre of Amsterdam. We enjoyed a 3 night stay in a beautiful newly renovated superior room overlooking Damrak and Dam Square.Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, but would be improved if freshly cut up fruit was made available. The beautiful dining room served good food and tables near the window facing Damrak were excellent for people watching. We were remembered by the Portuguese waiter from several visits and conversations from from our last visit,5 years ago. Highly recommended.
Marjorie and John McIlroy Victoria BC Canada.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room overlooking Damrak. There is very little noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WandMMcIlroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We were happy that you enjoyed your stay again. And yes, Jose, our Portugese waiter is much better than Manuel from Fawlty Towers. We were pleased to hire him again after he left for his native country some years ago. We have noted your remark about the fresh fruit and will see if we can incorporate this in our breakfast offering.
We look forward to seeing you again
With best regards
Rene Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#49 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#100 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#114 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Property: Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Address: Damrak 93 - 94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great central location, affordable rates, clean & comfortable rooms and friendly & attentive hospitality. In an amazing location, just off Dam Square and right in the middle of Amsterdam's city center, you'll find Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. This is where you want to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam. We offer authentic friendliness and true hospitality with rooms that are comfortable, well maintained, and always spotlessly clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing