We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite spot on...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Ranked #152 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Salford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not quite spot on...”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

I really wanted to love De Roode Leeuw having read earlier reviews, but we didn’t get off to a good start. I had booked the hotel through Otel.com for a cheap 3 night break and requested a smoking room. I arrived at around half 12pm with my husband and we were able to check straight in, which was nice. Not so nice, was the fact that it would cost 45 euros extra for a smoking room which had not been mentioned at the time of booking! Fair enough I thought, Otel should make this clear, they probably charge extra for cleaning the rooms. When we got into the room though, the smell of stale smoke was overwhelming, topped off by sickly mint air freshener. There were scuff marks to the walls, the kettle didn’t work and the bottom of the mini bar was dirty. All in all, it felt a bit neglected.

We left our bags and went out for some lunch, but on returning a couple of hours later the smell was just unbearable. I went to reception to ask if we could switch to a non-smoking room, but very conveniently there were no double rooms available. In the end I chose to upgrade to a superior room for an extra 75 euros, as we would have had to pay the 45 anyway! All of the reception staff were friendly and helpful, speaking excellent English, and I was able to view the superior room before committing.

I must say the superior room was lovely, having recently been refurbished. It was twice the size of the standard room, with a great view and a bath – which really swung it for me. On a couple of minor points, the TV was rather too far away from the very comfortable bed (good selection of channels though) and there was no decently lit mirror for applying make-up. A definite plus was the hair dryer – so hard to get right in a hotel! It was definitely worth the extra, but was an additional expense we had not accounted for, and don’t forget the city tax either!

We didn’t eat at the hotel, finding 15 euros a bit steep for a buffet breakfast, but the restaurant did look busy at all times of the day.

Overall although the stay was pleasant enough, I found the hotel to be lacking atmosphere – with a very small ‘motel-ish’ reception and no bar area, and I would probably choose somewhere a bit more homely if I was to visit Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_new_Mrs_Hey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Your review came just at the moment where we have an internal discussion about the smoking rooms. In fact. previous to the ban on smoking, guests were allowed to smoke in all rooms. Now it is only allowed in designated "smoking"rooms, according to Dutch law. This means that these rooms are only occupied buy guests who are smoking on a daily basis, which makes it impossible to eliminate the smell despite of the use of exprensive sprays and additional cleaning.
As you mentioned it, we are actually refurbishing all floors and we now hesitate to refurbish the floor with rooms for smokers. It is more than probable that we shall stop selling smoking rooms as from January 1st, 2013. We sincerely regret the inconvenience you suffered and apologize for it. We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed our renovated superior rooms and think that a supplement of € 25,-- is justified for that kind of room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    379
    164
    62
    47
See reviews for
92
466
73
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Brilliant hotel, rooms pokey but ok. Had uk tv channels like bbc1! Very refreshing shower, good selection of mini bar lol
Now for the location.... It's as central as you can get! Restaurant downstairs has good food too

Stop here for a treat, you won't regret it

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dean00_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
It was a pleasure to learn that you noth enjoyed the hotel and the restaurant. And yes, our location can not be beaten.
We hope to welcome you again
Yours sincerely
Rene Wildeman, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I travelled with my wife late in November of 2011 to this hotel. We initailly had an issue with the room we were supposed to get as there were no double beds for couples and the lady at the check in desk was quite arkward with us and didnt want to give us a better room even though she showed us that room first.
The location of this hotel is great and if it wasnt for the location and the shower then we would have left here and found somewhere else.
The last night was horrid as we had a couple of decent size mice running around the room non stop all night and my wife didnt get a minutes sleep as she was too terrified. We called through to the desk and the gentlemen we spoke to didnt seem remotely concerned and actually told us that its not so suprising and is expected in the city and refused to switch our room.
Im sorry but i have never stayed at a 4star establishment that thinks having mice in the rooms is acceptable and is no big deal.
The only positive about this hotel is the location and most of the staff are quite polite and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abdul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Acceptable to have mice in the rooms.....NO WAY. We were shocked to learn that one of our employees refused to take appropriate action when you discovered mice in your room. Although we have a subscription for pest control measures, it happens sometimes that we find mice in our building when works are undertaken in buildings in the vicinity. The fact that several guests take food from outside into their rooms make hotelrooms attractive for these animals. For this reason, following your complaint, we now shall summon guests to refrain from having food in their rooms.
We sincerely regret that your stay was spoiled and apologize for the inconvenience caused and the inappropriate manner this was handled by a member of our staff.
Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed here for a 2 night break in Jan 2012. The main selling point is the location - right in the middle of everything and around 5-10 mins from the centraal station. We were upgraded to a recently renovated junior suite which was lovely and had a large balcony looking over the damtrak (but not too noisy as double glazing etc).

The front desk service was very helpful and flexible, especially the blonde girl (I cant remember her name unfortunately). Only downside was breakfast which was average at best (€15).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
We were pleased to learn that you had a pleasant stay during the 2 nights you spent at our property. We have noticed your remarks about breakfast and are actually reviewing our offerings.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future
With best regards
Rene Wildeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seinajoki, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

De Roode Leeuw hotel in Amsterdam was an really nice hotel at perfect location within walking distance from many imprtant places like Madame Tussaud´s, Anne Frank Museum and also the Red Light District. Staff were really friendly and room totally adequate, a bit drafty but ok.
Breakfast was good but a bit inadequate for 15 euros.
I still would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyberlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
It was a plesure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We noted your comment on the breakfast and we decided today to look into our breakfast to make it somewhat more attractive
Looking forward to your next visit
With best regards
René R.F. Wildeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Hi!
we just got back from a splendid 7 days stay at this place and have nothing but most positive impressions from it! we were kindly upgraded to a Superior room,which wasn't spacious but still functional, well organized, with enough cabinet space - which is always important to me, and at the same time very cosy and comfortable. speaking of comfort - that bed !!! no exaggeration, the softest, most wonderful bed and beddings, for which i'm still longing...
great location,indeed, in the heart of all the action, and close to all popular sight seeings.
the staff is attentive and friendly, and the house-keeping - immaculate.
thanks for everything and we will be back!

p.s. you may consider putting a shower curtain or glass in the bathroom to prevent the water from splashing all over the floor :)

Room Tip: go for Superior room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria_Cappilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
We were happy to learn that you liked our beds. A good sleep is very important when visiting the many things our city has to offer. We know that some bathrooms are getting something like a waterwonderland when taking a shower but it is difficult to solve that problem in some bathrooms.
We look forward to welcoming you and ope that we can make your stay a pleasant one again
Yours sincerely
Rene Wildeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

we stayed here for 4 nights in the begining of December , staff were friendly and welcoming on arrival , room was adequate as we knew thew were refurbishing the rooms , but it is only for sleeping in . Close to the Dam Square and all ameneties

Room Tip: front as u can see the Dam Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
We thank you for your review and were happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that the refurbishing of the first floor did not cause any nuissance.
Looking forward to welcoming you again

With best regards
René Wildeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#64 of 368 in Amsterdam
608 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#97 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,868 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Property: Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Address: Damrak 93 /94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great central location, affordable rates, clean & comfortable rooms and friendly & attentive hospitality. In an amazing location, just off Dam Square and right in the middle of Amsterdam's city center, you'll find Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. This is where you want to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam. We offer authentic friendliness and true hospitality with rooms that are comfortable, well maintained, and always spotlessly clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing