We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - same as I stayed at in 1962!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Ranked #153 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Rooms great, not luxurious but NICE, staff outstanding. Loved my front room w/tiny balcony over busy street. Surprisingly, noise no problem at night but major dept store across way is brilliantly lit so drapes must be tightly closed. Only a few rooms have that front exposure, however. Bath very modern but shower design - no door or curtain was a challenge not to get water everywhere. TV system many options, complicated. Hotel's Red Lion restaurant is very popular and extends into street, but glassed in. Trams at door or on paralllel pedestrian street behind hotel will take you anywhere. Central RR station almost walking distance. Royal Palace close by. Deli nearby, also mini supermarket, all on same street.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baystater70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2011

It is always nice to learn that guests are returning to us after som many years. As you mentioned it, not all rooms have a view overlooking Damrak but our inside rooms have the advantage that they are even more quiet. Our TV system has many options and we regret that you found it complicated. It is more a kind of multimedia center as you also can access the internet using the keyboard in your room. We hope it will not take another 49 years before you are returning to visit us, which would probably make you the oldest guest ever visiting a hotel.
With best regards
Rene Wildeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (969)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 969 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights recently on a long weekend break to Amsterdam. The hotel is conveniently located for the train station (10 minute walk) tram stops and many of the main sites.
Rooms are on the small side, but you don't go to Amsterdam to stay in your room. The bathroom was modern with a good walk in shower. Rooms are probably best suited to close couples - with a frosted glass door between the toilet and bedroom - which does not hide much.
We didn't eat at the hotel - lots of restaurants and bars around Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suitcase_Packer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Ten years ago I had the excellent idea to have frosted doors installed at the bathrooms. However, the idea was less excellent than I thought as most guests dislike these doors. So upon our coming refurbishment these doors will be phased out. We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and at our property and hope to see you back in the future
With best regards
Rene Wildeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We Really enjoyed it, an exceptional experience in the heart of dam square ... I'm sure we'll be back ....

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yveschayeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

What did we do to make your stay so exceptional? We do our best to make the stay of our guests a most pleasant one but find that we have still our shortcomings. But, of course, no hotel is always 100% perfect.
We hope that we can give you the same experience on a eventual next stay
Yours sincerely
Rene Wildeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

we stayed at de roode leeuw hotel for 5 nights beginning of August 11.
The hotel has an excellent location just in Dam Sq, with all the caffes and restaurants just a few minutes away.
We bokked the smoking room on the 4th floor and it was really great.
It was big enough for both of us,the mattress was comfortable and we had 24 hours hot water.
The hotel staff is really helpful and willing to assist you to many questions.
Amsterdam is really a very nice city worth viisiting!!!!


We definitely go back and of course stay in the same room!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Thank you for posting your review. You enjoyed your stay and mentioned that you had 24 hours per day hot water. Al;though that is maybe not the cse all over the world, I think our guests would give us a hard time if we had not warm water throughout the day. And yes, our location is unique.
We hope to see you back in the future
With best regards
Rene Wildeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

If you enjoy being in the centre of everything you will find that this hotel is only a few short steps away from Dam Square. Although the rooms are tiny and airless without the window being open they are quiet and peaceful if you get a room to the rear. Check-in was fast.

The bed is a reasonable size and is comfortable but the bathroom has an almost transparent glass door. The television is situated awkwardly and cannot really be viewed from the bed. There is a room safe. There is a fire esacpe located directly outside the window which is reassuring.

There is a room tax that they will hit you with at the end of your stay which is in addition to the cost of the room. I thought this was a bit much as I had paid in advance and no one had mentioned this extra fee. They said it wasn't for them, but something imposed by the municipal authorities. Nevertheless I felt I should have been informed about this when I was booking.

Security is good as the hotel opens right onto the main street. Access to the lift is via a key card. The reception area is immediately in front of the lift. There is a seating area in the lobby which itself is small. But small can be beautiful too.

The staff were knowledgable and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back for a quiet night
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inscribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

We were pleased to learn that in general you enjoyed your stay. When you keep your windows closed there can be a feeling of not too much air but next to the climate control, all our rooms have double-glassed windows nthat can be opened in 2 ways.
You were surprised that we charged 5 % tax upon departure. I do not know how you booked your accommodation but as far as I know all our booking channels mention this 5% tourist tax which is imposed by the local authorities. We regret that this escaped your attention and hope that this did not spoil your impresson of our property. It is an official tax and not something we impose to our guests to improve our bottom line.
Yours sincerely
Rene Wildeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Since I Belong to the 21st century, i didn't believe the reviews of the ghost in this hotel and went ahead and booked this19Th. century hotel.....

BIG MISTAKE!!

We woke up the first morning ar 7am, with some strange sound outside our room. it sounded like
1. either someone was scrubbing the carpet in one single motion
2. or someone was rubbing his/her foot/shoe to the carpet in one single motion.

this sound would stop every time either me or my partner spoke. it was v loud. couple of times we heard some other room doors open and footsteps walking towards the elevator. this sound would promptly stop when a door would open and restart the moment the elevator closed. it would just wait for silence to start off again.

this went on for an hour until my partner decided to open the door. we knew what we would find. NOTHING. yet the sound began as soon as we closed the door.

We went to reception and ordered our room to be changed. we were surprised that the receptionist registered no shock to our experience and happily agreed to change our room.

from one pigeon(107) hole to another(302)

I would recommend this hotel to only people who have hearts and balls of STEEL.

Room Tip: find another hotel
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank arvafk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

Despite the fact that we are only some days from our 100th birthday on October 16th, I never heard that our building is haunted before. Although that could be a reason for some guests to book us, like they book some haunted Scottish castles, we take your complaint serious and we shall investigate where the sopurce of the noise could come from. We sincerely regret that this spoiled your stay, the more as you do not seem to be very lucky with your stays in hotels in general , based on your other reviews on Tripadvisor which all state "poor". We always do our utmost to make the stay of our guests a pleasant one and apologize that we did not succeed in your case
Yours sincerely
Rene R.F. Wildeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Checked in from Saturday, Aug. 13 checked out Tuesday, Aug. 16. The hotel is a short 10 min walk from the Centraal station. We arrived in pouring rain and still made the walk with all our luggage with no problem. The staff is super friendly and helpful and it was well worth the $190 a night. The hotel in a few feet from Dam Square and walking distance to everything in Amsterdam. The room itself was tiny (comparable to a small NYC hotel room) but that was expected...give up size for location. The bathroom was clean, newly renovated and super modern and the beds were comfy and clean. If this hotel is in your budget I recommend booking it. We came accross a problem with our american outlet converters/adapters. Make sure to buy the round ones or else the body of the adapter wont fit into the wall, im not talking about the prongs but the entire body of the converter needs to be a certain size and shape.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evy44044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2011

The wonderful thing about reviews is that you can learn from the experience of your guests. Although you seemed very happy with your stay, you noted a problem with the plugs which are different in the U.S.A., U.K. and the rest of Europe lathough within Europe there sre also different standards still. We noted the problems with the converters and did not find the big shoebox with all different plugs and adaptors at the Front-Office desk very professional.
So starting with our mock-up room, which was finalised some weeks ago, all our rooms will have a U.S.A. plug, a U.K. plug and a European type plug at the desk. This will avoid a lot of nuissance.
Our renovation will start at the end of the year, starting with the first floor.
We thank you for having taken the time to write a review and hope to see you again.
With best regards
René R.F. Wildeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#69 of 371 in Amsterdam
650 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#93 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,890 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#114 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Address: Damrak 93 /94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#86 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $171 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great central location, affordable rates, clean & comfortable rooms and friendly & attentive hospitality. In an amazing location, just off Dam Square and right in the middle of Amsterdam's city center, you'll find Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. This is where you want to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam. We offer authentic friendliness and true hospitality with rooms that are comfortable, well maintained, and always spotlessly clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing