We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,040)
Filter reviews
1,040 results
Traveler rating
329
405
180
69
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
329
405
180
69
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdam squaregreat locationsuperior roomcentral locationred light districtfirst floortrain stationrooms are smalldamrakeuropedutchtwinminibarwardrobe
Filter
Updating list...
589 - 594 of 1,040 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Room was OK, though there were problems with the bathroom design in that water ran out of the shower area into the rest of the bathroom. Chair was very wobbly with loose armrest. Staff was friendly and breakfast was good with selection of breads etc. The location is very central as it is near the Dam square. Good location for shopping in the Bijenkorf Department store (which is across the street). The street is a bit seedy but very busy.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferry41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2011

Our aim is to deliver an experience to our customers. Although you seemed happy about your stay I feel that saying it is an "O.K. " hotel means that we have not done enough in your case.
I sincerely apologize about the inconvenience of the bathroom and the chair. We know that we have a problem with our deskchairs as they were not delivered in the quality we had ordered those some 9 years ago. Nevertheless, time has come to refurbish all rooms and by the end of the year we shall start to give the rooms another look with new furniture and colour schemes. We hope to see you back by then so that you can experience it
Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

My partner & i found this hotel to be very nice. It's in a good central location within easy walking distance of Central Station. The staff were very welcoming & friendly. We had a smoking room which did smell but i guess this is to be expected - just wish housekeeping would keep the windows open between guests so allow some of the smell to go away....but then they'd prob have ppl complaining about that.

We paid approx £110 per night over a weekend, which is a bit steep compared to the quality we'd get at home but i think average for Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2011

We appreciated that you took the time to post a review about our property and we pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay. When smoking was still allowed in all rooms, the rooms were not always used by smokers so the smell disappeared. Now that the few rooms we have for smokers are occupied, it is always with smokers so the smell is remaining longer. I regret that you did not report this problem for we have a special spray to eliminate the smell of smoke which works quite effectively.
Looking forward to welcoming you again
Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 days recently to celebrate my 40th birthday. Upon arrival, we found the reception staff most friendly; even wishing me a Happy Birthday!! The room was clean and the bathroom extremely luxurious. Reception staff were very helpful and even gave us directions to places of interest. We did encounter a problem with hot water one day and a broken keyboard for internet use, but within 5 minutes of us alerting reception, the Bell Boy and Manager were on hand to help solve the problem. An early alarm call and even booking our taxi to the airport made our return home stress-free. Thank you to everyone who made our stay one we will remember for ever!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babyroo1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2011

We were pleased to learn that we succeeded to make your birthday a memorable one. We apologize for the inconvenience with the hot water and a broken keyboard. Fortunately both problems were quickly fit.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.
Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We stopped for 3 nights and would certainly return.

The positives -
Location - being situated only 400 yards from Central Station and 50 yards from Dam Square makes a perfect base to explore.
Staff - really friendly staff, helped with any queries.
Rooms - Clean, free WIFI in room

The negatives -
Location - I would ensure you are not facing the Damrak it is a busy street.
Rooms - unsure why there is a glass door on bathroom. Room 216 was relatively small, which I think you can expect in Amsterdam but you could not open bathroom door fully as the bed was located in the way. The shower pressure was not great. No milk was available for the tea / coffee. All of these were small issues and we did not raise them with staff as we used room as a base but I'm sure they would have dealt with them if required.

Overall I would definately stop here again and would recommend the hotel to others. Location / Staff / Cleanliness were great. I shall look to stop here again on the next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhooseboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2011

We appreciate that you took the time to write a review and were happy that our staff did meet your expectations. And yes, since some moths we offer FREE Wifi which seems to be appreciated by both our hotel as restaurant guests.
As to the negative aspects, Damrak is a busy street but our front rooms are so well sound-proofed that we never get any complaints. It must be said that during night times the street does not look the main street of a capital but looks more as main street of a village.
The glass rooms of the bathromms will be phased out on the next renovation as more guests told us that they do not like them. Milk should have been on your coffee/tea tray in the room and we apologise that someone has forgotten to check it.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future
Yours isncerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

I was very happy with this hotel, it is well located and the beds were very comfortable. Rooms are a little small, but for a short trip it was fine.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JIB83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2011

We were happy to learn that you appreciated your stay and like our beds. Yes, the rooms are not the biggest ones but we can not change that bearing in mind that our building is 100 years of age this year. And during these 100 years we never changed of ownership. You can imagine that we are proud of this.
We hope to welcome you again in the future
With best regards
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews