We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel - could be better for this price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
Ranked #251 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I've stayed for a weekend in the Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside Hotel. The hotel is located in a pretty quiet and green setting in Amsterdam-Zuidoost. The room I had was average. It was clean but could be more comfortable. One of the windows - which were locked - was leaky that means a bit cold and wind from the outside was coming into the room.
The breakfast buffet was okay but I wouldn't pay for this 15,00 EUR which is charged to hotel guests they don't have breakfast included in their rate. Parking is free of charge what is good because parking fees in Amsterdam area - also at most hotels - are very high.

Amsterdam city centre is pretty quick reachable via autobahn (ca. 10-15 min. depending on the traffic). A metro station with direct service to the city centre is within walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveller V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (757)
There are newer reviews for Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 757 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

We knew this hotel was out of the city centre but we didn't expect it to be so far a walk from the last station (Gaasplerplas) Unfortunately for us it was raining the whole day in Amsterdam so we had to walk for ages along the soggy highway and when we reached the hotel they didn't even have hairdryers (hairdryers are essential for me) and all the ones they had were all borrowed by other people. So that was a minus. The rooms also don't have a minibar or fridge so don't bring anything needing refridgeration lol.

The room itself was really nice though, and the bed was comfortable. Wifi is also available and the reception was decent enough. This is a nice place if you're prepared to walk and want to stay away from the city but it wasn't suitable for us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nessarafaelalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a really nice hotel having been recently refurbished. The rooms are nicely appointed with all the usual facilities and the interior is now looking very smart. Didn't use the bar but dined one night and my wife said the mixed grill was the best she'd ever had. Staff very pleasant and always willing to assist.

This hotel was ideal for our needs as it has a large free car park and so is useful if you are seeing the Netherlands by car. If you are planning to use this hotel as a cheap base to see Amsterdam then you should be aware that it is located far outside the city. However with a bit of effort (10 minutes walk to the station) you can use Amsterdam's excellent metro system and then be in the city in about 25 minutes.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl_Wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed with a corporate group during the ESC congress in Amsterdam. Hotel was almost finished with renovating - only a small part of entrance was under reconstruction, but all the work was done during daytime, while most of the guests were out in town.

Rooms are just as they should be -refurbished, modern, comfortable. Not too big, but not small at all. Bathroom was very nicely done, with a bathtub and new fixtures. No minibar in the rooms, but the hotel bar has very OK prices.

Since we came as a group, check-in was done very fast. Staff was more than helpful - I would hereby like to thank all the girls at the reception for their patience and kindness.

Breakfast was a standard buffet, with an reasonable choice of meat, cheese, dairies, cereals, pastries etc.

We also had a dinner at a hotel restaurant - a very nice choice of dishes. Waiters were quick, discreet, nicely done, boys!

If I should search any flaws, then the only flaw would be location: quite far from the city, but there is an OK metro connection relatively near the hotel. Connection with RAI Congress Center is excellent - a direct metro line 50 leads you to the Congress Center (cca. 15 minutes).

Besides the location, my best recommendations to Tulip Inn Riverside.

Room Tip: Try having a room on upper level, with a view on a lake and a park behind the hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yogilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you are a moslem then better you never choose this hotel. The staffs were not friendly and so arrogant. After taking long road to reach this hotel which is placed in far away from the center city, you will face unhelpful and unfriendly staffs in this hotel. We had cancellation from booking.com just two days before when we were in Milan, so we arrived at this hotel and could not have any room even we offered cash payment, and when we asked help to find another hotel near by, the staffs just said "don't know!". I will never recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank era m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Recently refitted, the hotel seems nicely done out. With a very good price including breakfast, the hotel was good value for one night, as I had a car. The room however, although recently refitted, could do with more attention to detail to guests' needs. For instance, in the bathroom, there was nowhere to hang towels, so they were hung over the grab rail by the toilet (I was in a disabled room). Also, for ladies, there was nowhere to make up sitting down with a mirror. Whilst the desk had a nice table and chair, with a desk lamp, there was no mirror. It might be because it was a disabled room, but don't disabled females want to make up?

As I said however, good value and nicely fitted out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We booked this hotel for 3 nights. We knew it is outskirts of Amsterdam, but price and free parking attracted us.
Checking in was a bit slow as only one receptionist. But she was nice and polite and explained to us how to get to Amsterdam.
Room is big and clean and modern, so is bathroom. Hotel is next to a canal and quiet.
We drove to the metro station everyday, only couple of minutes away, and parked in the small free car park. Took the metro then tram into the city. No problem at all.
Only grip is there is no kettle in the room (pretty normal in Europe?), though you can borrow one from the reception with a bit of deposit. The inside of the kettle isn't as clean as should be though.
We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank CK242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Campanile Amsterdam
#210 of 371 in Amsterdam
351 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#163 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,078 reviews
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
#240 of 371 in Amsterdam
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#79 of 371 in Amsterdam
856 reviews
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#155 of 371 in Amsterdam
201 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#264 of 371 in Amsterdam
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside

Address: Provincialeweg 38, 1108 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #251 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $66 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a weekend break in Amsterdam? Or do you have a business meeting in the area? The 4-star Golden Tulip Amsterdam Riverside offers a relaxing stay whether you are visiting for pleasure or on business! The hotel is in the south of the city, set in peaceful surroundings on the banks of the Gaasp river, near the Zuidoost Business Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing