We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice but be prepared to travel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
Ranked #205 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Merseyside, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good choice but be prepared to travel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a really nice hotel having been recently refurbished. The rooms are nicely appointed with all the usual facilities and the interior is now looking very smart. Didn't use the bar but dined one night and my wife said the mixed grill was the best she'd ever had. Staff very pleasant and always willing to assist.

This hotel was ideal for our needs as it has a large free car park and so is useful if you are seeing the Netherlands by car. If you are planning to use this hotel as a cheap base to see Amsterdam then you should be aware that it is located far outside the city. However with a bit of effort (10 minutes walk to the station) you can use Amsterdam's excellent metro system and then be in the city in about 25 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl_Wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    256
    181
    86
    50
See reviews for
66
280
33
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed with a corporate group during the ESC congress in Amsterdam. Hotel was almost finished with renovating - only a small part of entrance was under reconstruction, but all the work was done during daytime, while most of the guests were out in town.

Rooms are just as they should be -refurbished, modern, comfortable. Not too big, but not small at all. Bathroom was very nicely done, with a bathtub and new fixtures. No minibar in the rooms, but the hotel bar has very OK prices.

Since we came as a group, check-in was done very fast. Staff was more than helpful - I would hereby like to thank all the girls at the reception for their patience and kindness.

Breakfast was a standard buffet, with an reasonable choice of meat, cheese, dairies, cereals, pastries etc.

We also had a dinner at a hotel restaurant - a very nice choice of dishes. Waiters were quick, discreet, nicely done, boys!

If I should search any flaws, then the only flaw would be location: quite far from the city, but there is an OK metro connection relatively near the hotel. Connection with RAI Congress Center is excellent - a direct metro line 50 leads you to the Congress Center (cca. 15 minutes).

Besides the location, my best recommendations to Tulip Inn Riverside.

Room Tip: Try having a room on upper level, with a view on a lake and a park behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogor, Indonesia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you are a moslem then better you never choose this hotel. The staffs were not friendly and so arrogant. After taking long road to reach this hotel which is placed in far away from the center city, you will face unhelpful and unfriendly staffs in this hotel. We had cancellation from booking.com just two days before when we were in Milan, so we arrived at this hotel and could not have any room even we offered cash payment, and when we asked help to find another hotel near by, the staffs just said "don't know!". I will never recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank era m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Recently refitted, the hotel seems nicely done out. With a very good price including breakfast, the hotel was good value for one night, as I had a car. The room however, although recently refitted, could do with more attention to detail to guests' needs. For instance, in the bathroom, there was nowhere to hang towels, so they were hung over the grab rail by the toilet (I was in a disabled room). Also, for ladies, there was nowhere to make up sitting down with a mirror. Whilst the desk had a nice table and chair, with a desk lamp, there was no mirror. It might be because it was a disabled room, but don't disabled females want to make up?

As I said however, good value and nicely fitted out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We booked this hotel for 3 nights. We knew it is outskirts of Amsterdam, but price and free parking attracted us.
Checking in was a bit slow as only one receptionist. But she was nice and polite and explained to us how to get to Amsterdam.
Room is big and clean and modern, so is bathroom. Hotel is next to a canal and quiet.
We drove to the metro station everyday, only couple of minutes away, and parked in the small free car park. Took the metro then tram into the city. No problem at all.
Only grip is there is no kettle in the room (pretty normal in Europe?), though you can borrow one from the reception with a bit of deposit. The inside of the kettle isn't as clean as should be though.
We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CK242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Very nice hotel in terms of location, service, and rooms comfort. The hotel is located outside of the city by the river and there is a big park just across the road. Metro station is 7-8 minutes away (walking distance). It's got to be your choice if you want to see Amsterdam and to relax in a pleasant countryside-like atmoshere simultaneously.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Utmelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
302 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

The location of the hotel is not strategic as it is very far from the city center. It would be no problem if you come here with the group bus like us. The view is lovely, while the hotel personnel are very friendly. The breakfast is also excellent with a lot of choices. The rooms are reasonable. We stayed here 2 nights.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel if you don't have your own transportation :-(
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Octovianus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.3 mi away
Campanile Amsterdam
Campanile Amsterdam
#208 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
9.1 mi away
New West Inn Amsterdam
New West Inn Amsterdam
#157 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
7.4 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#118 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
8.7 mi away
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#177 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
6.9 mi away
West Side Inn Hotel
West Side Inn Hotel
#284 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside

Property: Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
Address: Provincialeweg 38, 1108 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a weekend break in Amsterdam? Or do you have a business meeting in the area? The 4-star Golden Tulip Amsterdam Riverside offers a relaxing stay whether you are visiting for pleasure or on business! The hotel is in the south of the city, set in peaceful surroundings on the banks of the Gaasp river, near the Zuidoost Business Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing