We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely worth it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oresti's Taverna

Oresti's Taverna
Reserve with
Oresti's Taverna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #283 of 3,729 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Description: Oresti's Taverna is a Mediterranean café and restaurant. We serve suprising dishes and tastefull wines from various countries around the Mediterranean Sea. Upon entry you will be accompanied by the smells, noise and you'll feel immediately at home due to the decor and the Mediterranean atmosphere. We hope to see you soon!
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Definitely worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

We just spent a vacation in Greece and had a layover in Amsterdam. Being a Greek American, I was still craving more Greek food! Oresti's was PERFECT! Nice atmosphere, very friendly, and excellent food (they have a variety of Greek, Spanish, and I believe some Italian). The owner saw to it that everything was to our satisfaction. The nice surprise was the inexpensive bill...great value. I would definitely go back, highly recommend it, and say that you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Veyspowersports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    106
    21
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

I recently visited this restaurant and it was absolutely wonderful. The food was so delicious and plenty to chose from being a vegetarian. The staff were very friendly and were happy to educate us about the menu and advise recommendations. The meal was also very reasonable and cost less than 50 Euro even with wine.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice Greek tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Perfectly nice food and great service. Wouldn't say this place was anything special but if you want a quick simple Greek tapas style meal at a reasonable price with good service, you can't go wrong in here. Very friendly waiter and only 45 euros for two courses and drinks. Good value.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fubarski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We had dinner here last weekend. Both of us had never had Greek before and didn't know what to expect, so we let the owner recommend us a few tapas dishes to try. He was very friendly and made several great suggestions. All the tapas was good, the only negative thing was that we didn't get all the things we ordered the first time (we had to ask again and apparently there had been some miscommunication in the kitchen). Overall it's a very nice restaurant and definitely worth visiting :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank daphnewassenaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food. Great service. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We found this place by chance and are so glad we stopped. The staff were all very friendly and attentive without hovering. The food was delicious. We had a variety of tapas, such as octopus, fondue, lamb cutlets, and lamb patties. The mix of choices was great, but as mentioned the tapas are from the Mediterranean rather than just one country. The grilled octopus was our first octopus and ordered on the waiters recommendation. It was amazing and obviously very fresh.

Helpful?
Thank kgarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oresti's Taverna also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Oresti's Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing