We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Welcoming restaurant with a large range of eating options” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oresti's Taverna

Oresti's Taverna
Ranked #223 of 3,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Description: Oresti's Taverna is a Mediterranean café and restaurant. We serve suprising dishes and tastefull wines from various countries around the Mediterranean Sea. Upon entry you will be accompanied by the smells, noise and you'll feel immediately at home due to the decor and the Mediterranean atmosphere. We hope to see you soon!
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Welcoming restaurant with a large range of eating options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

This is a popular and atmospheric restaurant with a larger than life patron who makes you feel welcome and puts a smile on your face from the outset. The menu is wide ranging and easily catered for a range of vegetarian, fish and meat options. The waiting staff have to cover a lot of ground and service slowed towards the end of the meal - you did get the impression that you were dropping into a holding pattern (like flights around Heathrow on a Friday) as the kitchen coped with the demands placed on it by the busy restaurant. That was ok with us but it may be slightly irritating with younger children.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    94
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money! Great service too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

5 adults, ordered 10 tapas + 2 wine + 2 desserts + bread basket + big bottled water. Everything comes up to about EUR 90.

Not sure about the pricing of tapas in Amsterdam, but this is superb value compared to where I came from (Hong Kong & Singaporean)!

On top of that, food was awesome! Taste was good, ingredients were fresh! We love every single tapas we ordered. Although the desserts were mediocre.

There were only three servers, running around the fully packed restaurant. We were impressed by their attentiveness and the smile they carry throughout! Definitely a job well done!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank andrea_ng_peirong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

We ordered tapas style and the food was and prices were great (4euros/plate).

The Kokkonisto beef was excellent and the cheesecake was great as well.

We asked our server which tourist sights he recommended and he pulled up a chair and map and proceeded to tell us all the places we should see and which ones to avoid because they were overrated. He was refreshingly honest and now after a nice meal we have lots of plans for our week in Amsterdam

Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Good quality of food (I recommend the beef stew), cozy atmosphere and Leonidas made us feel more than welcome! Thanks a lot, we'll surely be coming back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susyfiore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service - our long time favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Just living nearby we discovered this place a few years ago by coincidence. From that moment we consider ourselves frequent visitors - any will remain to be! The food is excellent, service warm and honest, the terrace a pleasure during summer. Orestis Taverna is one of the few places in Amsterdam that we never any have doubt about recommending to friends, acquintances and colleagues. We even brought a group of 15 friends, and while we organise such a culinary get together ever year, this year everyone was thrilled about the place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Isaac H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oresti's Taverna also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Oresti's Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing