We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”
Review of Oresti's Taverna

Oresti's Taverna
Ranked #276 of 3,955 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Description: Oresti's Taverna is a Mediterranean café and restaurant. We serve suprising dishes and tastefull wines from various countries around the Mediterranean Sea. Upon entry you will be accompanied by the smells, noise and you'll feel immediately at home due to the decor and the Mediterranean atmosphere. We hope to see you soon!
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

We ordered tapas style and the food was and prices were great (4euros/plate).

The Kokkonisto beef was excellent and the cheesecake was great as well.

We asked our server which tourist sights he recommended and he pulled up a chair and map and proceeded to tell us all the places we should see and which ones to avoid because they were overrated. He was refreshingly honest and now after a nice meal we have lots of plans for our week in Amsterdam

Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    118
    23
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Good quality of food (I recommend the beef stew), cozy atmosphere and Leonidas made us feel more than welcome! Thanks a lot, we'll surely be coming back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susyfiore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service - our long time favourite”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Just living nearby we discovered this place a few years ago by coincidence. From that moment we consider ourselves frequent visitors - any will remain to be! The food is excellent, service warm and honest, the terrace a pleasure during summer. Orestis Taverna is one of the few places in Amsterdam that we never any have doubt about recommending to friends, acquintances and colleagues. We even brought a group of 15 friends, and while we organise such a culinary get together ever year, this year everyone was thrilled about the place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Isaac H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

After visiting a more expensive restaurant the night before, we were looking for somewhere cheaper with just as good reviews. After searching trip adviser we came across this. Delicious food, friendly staff, cozy atmosphere and great value. Seemed to also be popular with locals as there was a family in there celebrating their sons graduation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoFleetham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A touch of Greek Cuisine”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

A touch of Greek Cuisine in the heart of Amsterdam. If you are Greek you definitely need to visit this restaurant. Delicious food, great ambiance. very friendly customer care from the owner who takes care of his customers himself. Interesting wine list

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sea_Shell_in_Ocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oresti's Taverna also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Oresti's Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing