We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Amsterdam
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,128)
Filter reviews
4,129 results
Traveler rating
1,667
1,607
536
195
124
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,667
1,607
536
195
124
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the club lounge central station great location guest services concierge desk within walking distance dam square minute walk river cruise red light district anne frank house early check mini bar quiet street rooms are small van gogh museum navigator
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 4,129 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good location - close to everything , nice reception, however Old and small rooms that needs Update , especially the bathroom. Good but expensive breakfast buffet . We had a good offer for the weekend , but we World never pay full Price

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 208steenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOSupervisorRen, FO Supervisor at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 208steenn,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

My name is Sophia and I am the Front Office Supervisor at the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel. It has come to our attention that the service you received during your recent stay did not meet your expectations. For this, we sincerely apologize.

The experience you described is not characteristic of the level of service our hotel strive to provide. Therefore, thank you very much for sharing this with us so we can take this into account and communicated with the involved departments.

We are happy to read also the positive comments. We will definitely share everything with the team.

We hope to welcome you in the future again in order to restore your confidence in the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Sophia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There is a lot of dirt and dust in the whole room: on the bedside table and lamps, the mini bar is empty and very dirty and with lots of other drinks.

The windows are old and let in a lot of cold.

The bed is so soft and pillows so slim

Finally, the shower has a curtain, something not appropriate for a hotel with 5 stars.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Felipe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOSupervisorRen, Supervisor at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mr. Felipe,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel and providing your honest feedback on the Guest Satisfaction Survey.

Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we sincerely apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations. As a teachable moment, we have shared your feedback with the housekeeping team in order to make sure that this was an isolated incident and prevent this from happening again in the future.

Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and we hope to serve you again whenever your travels bring you back to Amsterdam.


Sincerely,

ANDRAS PAVLEKOVICS
Supervisor
andras.pavlekovics@renhotels.com
+31 20 621 2223

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a long overdue review. We stayed at the Renaissance Amsterdam 11-13 Oct 2019. This hotel is supposed to be a premium Marriott property but was nowhere close to that level. The checkin experience was nice and the lobby is quite modern. Apart from that, the whole hotel looks very dated. The rooms were in a bad state and clearly needed renovation. There is a lack of lighting and the walls were dirty. While booking, we made sure we had amenities like a coffee machine but there was none in the room. Even worse, there was no water bottles provided. Basic amenities like slippers, bathrobe must all be asked. On complaining, their excuse was that this is a sustainability measure. Well, they still made their guests buy water bottle. Keep in mind that there is a difference between cost cutting and being sustainable. (Glass water bottles can be provided if you want to cut on plastic) There were two water jars in the lobby that were empty most of the time.
An order of a glass of wine and cheese platter took over 30 mins to be delivered. Night in room dining in a premium hotel had only 3 options with 1 unavailable.
Only advantage of this hotel is the nice location, everything else was a massive let down. These issues were addressed with Marriott and the hotel manager was supposed to set a call that I am yet to receive. Shows the level of concern.
This was definitely a very overpriced stay for us. (We had 3 rooms over 500 per night during that weekend) We had a much better stay at a Premier Inn, just imagine! Avoid at all cost. Nice AirBnBs nearby or try Hyatt for a much better stay in Amsterdam in the same price range.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Jhashveer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Explore31640220976, Assistant Front Office Manager at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mr. Jhashveer S,

Thank you for your feedback on this platform. I wish to assure you that we take all our guest comments very seriously and use them to identify areas where we can improve. We are pleased to read that your check in experience was nice and you believe our lobby is quite modern. However, it is unfortunate to read that you did not have a coffee machine in the room and no amenities, you did not favor the night in room dining and you never received a follow up call from a manager.
I can assure you that this is not our typical level of service offered to our guests, on behalf of the Renaissance Amsterdam, please accept my sincerest apologies. Please rest assured that your comments, have our fullest attention and as a teachable moment we have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotels teams to ensure the necessary guidelines are in place to prevent this from occurring in the future.

We hope we may welcome you at the Renaissance Amsterdam when your travels brings you to Amsterdam.

Have a wonderful day.

Kind regards,

Marielle Tiesselinck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After investigating options at nearly every central Amsterdam hotel, this was the best choice for my teenage son and me.

We wanted two seperate beds in the same room and most older stay, more charming hotels mostly offered twin beds placed very close together.

At the Renaissance hotel, we booked a room with a large double and sofa bed, that was reasonably spacious and economical.

It was an easy walk from the train station to the hotel. The coffee shop offered a diverse menu and was quite convenient after a long day's sightseeing. Rooms were modern.

It is in the Centraal District, so even though it is a very quite side street, it's only a quick walk to the "freedoms" Amsterdam offers, which might be a good thing or bad thing.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LibbyE8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020 via mobile

The staff is so helpful and always providing for your needs. They offered luggage assistance the second we walked in the door and made us dinner reservations every night. The location is 5 min from the train, although we ubered with luggage. Great location for the fun parts of Amsterdam. The daily breakfast for club level guests and the wine and snacks made this trip so easy.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Kannan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews