We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous centrally located hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #85 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fabulous centrally located hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

What a find! This hotel is in an old 70's style building but don't be fooled by the facade! Inside is an elegant, modern hotel with great service. The rooms are recently refurbished and thoroughly comfortable. If you want a room with a view make sure you request one - many rooms face a rather grim internal courtyard. The hotel owns the ex-church opposite which is now a conference / meeting / wedding venue - it is an impressive circular building and I would highly recommend it for any event. The hotel is perfectly located a few hundred metres from the train station and in the middle of cafes, bars and shops. Planning to return for a leisure trip.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LKW9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,058
    1,150
    339
    110
    61
See reviews for
409
1,057
139
558
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

We were greeted by friendly and helpful staff who catered to our every whim! Breakfast was delicious and our room was clean, tidy and promptly cleaned :) Location was perfect, 5 min walk to station and shops, an an abundance of available taxis. We will definately be staying again :)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nahdiaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

Travelled here on business.

Hotel is a period building which has been refurbished. Rooms are small but well appointed ( I had a king size room) with all the standard modern hotel trimmings - white walls, dark hardwood head board, flat screen TV etc.

Common areas are very nice, bar was good, restaurant was above average for a chain hotel, all the staff were very nice and polite.

Check in and out was efficient.

The problem with the building being odler is the lack of sound proofing from the outside. My room (118) was just above street level and the traffic noise was quite intrusive late in to the night and from early morning. Also, when I got to my room at 7pm after checking in there was a lot of shouting from a bar next door to the Hotel and soon after one of the Patrons assualted a passer by (push, right cross to the chin followed up with a head butt for good measure). Once again I am saddened that the perpetrator was almost certainly English, drunk, and off his head on drugs.

Amsterdam could be beautiful but its seedy red light district and fame for tolerance of narcotics continues to attract the dregs from all over Europe who come here to be foul and obmoxious. I feel so sorry for the Dutch people who are saddled with this legacy in their very fine capital city.

So, having gone off topic this hotel is good and the Hotel has no control over the larger civic problems of Amsterdam. If you are coming to NL on business I would definitely recommend this hotel to you. If you feel you want to experience Amsterdam as a tourist then I would recommend it to you as well, however with so many other European cities to choose from I would never come to Amsterdam for leisure. When you consider that a city like Hamburg also is famous for its red light attractions but yet manages to contain these to a very specific area that general tourists would never knwo it was there if they wished to avoid it, it seems strange that the Dutch authorities don't take similar steps to contain the impacts of the darker attractions of their city.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishystevep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

LOVED this hotel. Love Renaissance in general, which is why I booked it. We drove up from Germany, silly Americans, so we alone are to blame for being lost for about 2 hours....charming hotel, set back on a side street, you need sharp eyes for the sign! The staff was just great, friendly and efficient. Great public areas as in all Renaissance properties. The room was of course on the small side, we are in Amsterdam, here. But the decor was fresh and modern and I felt the space was well used. You can walk to anywhere you want from here, what great sights we saw!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lolanola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

Beautiful room albeit on the smallish side (as many European hotel rooms are). Hotel staff easy to work with. Coffee/eat available 24x 7. Good location near the river. Bicycles available for use if you are so inclined.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dudee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

Me and my girlfriend have been to Amsterdam many times before for the obvious attractions and know the city well now. I would say that this hotel is in a good location and would recommend for people who want a safe good quality hotel or for business use like most Marriot Hotels.

The prices of food like breakfast and drinks is really expensive and I would recommend that you shop/eat/drink nearby. There are no tea/coffee facilities in the standard rooms but its all very modern since the recent refurbishment. We went over Valentines, Amsterdam treated us with a lovely snowy scene and some great memories and coming back to the smartly dressed concierge with the best moustache ever....

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LatPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

I would give this hotel 5 stars. Not the best service but great location. 5 min to the train station and walking distance from the city centre. Very convenient. But very noisy even with the shut windows. Don't know if i'll stay there again...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Galprin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#28 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,025 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#82 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,369 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
#125 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,940 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing